We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite of all national Italian Chains with apologies to Olive Garden”

Carino's Italian-McAllen
Ranked #208 of 445 Restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Waitstaff
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite of all national Italian Chains with apologies to Olive Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I got hooked on Carino's when one opened on I 40 west in Amarillo. I am happy to report that the McAllen version is as good as my original. Even, consistent good food with great size helpings. I usually get 2 appetizers the "fire sticks" and the Italian nachos. Both are great, tasty and filling. Occasionally I get a full entree and have covered just about the whole menu. Meatballs with simple pasta is a favorite but I also love the Chicken Parm. The sauce is consistent, not too acrid, with a touch of sweetness that resembles the home made "gravy" by friends in south Philly. I also like the Alfredo sauce, but it is not my favorite. You want a filling, great priced lunch? Hit Carino's and get a couple of appetizers, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joezftworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Appetizer was very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very good food. Service was great. We really enjoyed the food at the Carino's especially the appetizer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasInnRGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartow, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Like to try different places, not bad, but there are others I like better. Husband didn't care for the flavor of the sauces. It was ok.
It's been awhile, might try again some day. maybe.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Late afternoon lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stopped in for a early dinner and when we placed our order the waitress informed us we could have the same thing off the lunch menu for a lesser price. We took her suggestion. Had a great lasagna, salad, marvelous bread and wine for a exceptionally good price. Good food, good price, good wine, what more could you want.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank glasslipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food and great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We arrived in time for happy hour and tried both the bellini and margarita. Both were excellent and a bargain. I ordered the spicy chicken romano and asked for extra spicy. It was perfect when I tasted it. My children ordered lasagna and spaghetti with meatballs. Both ate every bite, including two loaves of fresh bread with olive oil to dip it in. Over all a great night.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkziegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carino's Italian-McAllen also viewed

 

Been to Carino's Italian-McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing