We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was Ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It Was Ok...”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

When you first see the hotel, it immediately has the appearance of a very charming / rustic facility. The accommodations - overall - for this business trip, were acceptable. Bed / bathroom / cleanliness / television all fine. Service and style at the restaurant were probably the highlight of this stay.

But I'm going to point out the parts I did not like. I did not like the fact that the air in my room felt damp... Nothing worse than waking up with a sore throat because of the air quality. Either the air system needs updating / or filters changed / something.

Additionally, I did NOT like the fact that my status as a Marriott member was neither noted in my reservation nor acknowledged during any portion of the stay. It's the little things... I'm on the road all the time... So to at least feel welcome means something... But I wasn't - no notice of my upper tier status - no offer of a free bottle of water - no breakfast coupon - no thank you for your continued participation - nothing. This dissatisfaction, I believe, can be attributed directly to the Front Desk who seemed bothered by both me checking in and then inquiring about why my status was not on the reservation.

On a more positive note, the hotel is very convenient. Easy to get pretty much anywhere from there... Best of all is the restaurant across the street - Salts... Unbelievably great... The draw of the restaurant would probably be enough to bring me back to the hotel... It was that good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VA2Fargo2VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo P, General Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear VaA2Fargo2VA,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor please accept my apologies for the shortcomings we provided during your most recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing our Marriott rewards members excellent service from the time they enter the building throughout their entire stay. I will work with the guest service representative that serviced you at check-in to ensure all of our guests are welcomed they way they deserve. Once again Thank you for your response and we look forward to servicing you again during your next visit to McAllen Texas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    77
    32
    19
    22
See reviews for
33
42
16
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two days for business and I couldn't be more pleased. This hotel if filled with charm and special touches. From the excellent breakfast to the pool to the amazing rooms, this is a gem of a hotel. The rooms are spacious enough, very clean and provide all the expected amenities. Great stay in McAllen.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Casa De Palmas,on a Saturday night, the hotel was everything I always imaged it would be like,(living in McAllen, all my life).
Its an older hotel transformed in a nice place to stay for 1-2 nights.
The parking garage is something to navigate, to the 3rd floor level. it is ok.

Room Tip: Labels in the hallways are hard to follow but are small signs to point the way to the rooms but=we m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our layover hotel for Mcallen Tx.....the rooms where redone and are very nice...Rooms are clean and quiet...

I was available to get some food that afternoon....was very good....On Sunday there have free breadfast....I didn't go to the breadfast...

The staff was friendly and very professional....and the van drivers were great....very helpful..

I enjoy my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms were OK but the noise and sewer smell was a distractor. The food was above average. The staff was courteous. Try staying on the first floor away from the garage. The location is fine but not near the airport. Rates are better at other places where you can eat breakfast for free.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I know this review is about two months late, but I wanted to warn people about this place.

Our family of four stayed at this hotel for one night in November. When I made my reservations online, I entered that there would be four people staying. I was given the option for a king size bed and presumed that there was a sofa bed, since I had put four people (common sense). Unfortunately, the hotel and I have a different opinion of what common sense is. After checking in, my family and I parked and went up to our room. In the room was one king bed. I figured there was some type of mistake and went downstairs to the lobby. The clerk explained that only their king suites have the sofa beds. I couldn't (and still can't) understand how a hotel website can ask you how many people will be staying and then give you a room for 2 or 3 when you put 4. Considering that we were tired from our road trip and it was late, I opted to pay more for a suite.
I wish I could say that our room was so spectacular and totally well worth the price, but I can't. To begin with, the hallways on the second floor leading to the room smelled like wet animals. The room itself was totally outdated and needed a new carpet. The bathroom was as outdated as the rest of the place and tiny. The sofa bed didn't even have sheets and so I called the front desk. After two phone calls and an hour waiting, I finally placed some extra blankets that we had brought over the bed and my kids used their own pillows. Throughout the night, it was impossible to sleep with all the noise from other guests upstairs and the noise from partygoers in the streets.
Needless to say, I will not be staying at this hotel again. It may be a good location for people looking to go bar hopping in McAllen, but it’s not a place for a family of four going to a cheerleading competition bright and early in the morning. I stayed here to add more hotel reward points to my account, but I can't even say it was worth it or pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiMercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

On 12/14/13 I booked 2 rooms on line. Two hours later I cancelled the reservation on line. I provided my email address but didn't receive a Room Reservation Confirmation or a Room Cancellation, therefore I assumed that the reservation didn't go trough. Today 01/03/14 after checking my Credit Card Statement I noticed that my credit card was charged for the two rooms ($250.70). I called the Hotel and spoke with Elsa Lira and she said that they charged the full amount for the two rooms because I didn't cancel the reservation. They are located in McAllen, TX and during this time of the year all the hotels in that area are sold out. No doubt in my mind that the two rooms were sold to other guests. For all the above I think this is a Rip-off and will dispute the charge with my credit card company and will complain to the Federal Trade Commission.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Juanita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
1.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Mcallen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel

Property: Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel
Address: 101 N Main St, McAllen, TX 78501-4628 (Formerly Renaissance Casa de Palmas)
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical, full-service luxury hotel originally built in 1918 is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of the entertainment & downtown shopping district. It is conveniently located 2 miles North of McAllen Miller International Airport and La Plaza Mall. The charming hotel combines the magic of yesterday with the conveniences of today offering a rich experience of hospitality, luxury, and comfort; a blend of the old-world and the contemporary unparalleled to any other hotel in the valley. Our full-service hotel features a total of 165 deluxe guestrooms, 24 hour business center, 24 hour state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site restaurant, bar, private club lounge, stunning courtyard pool and up to 6500 square feet of elegant event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Casa De Palmas Hotel Mcallen
Renaissance Mcallen
Mcallen Renaissance
Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing