We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites McAllen
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

When I travel to McAllen, Texas which is by-weekly I always stay at the Springhill Suites. One employee Antonio Rodriquez who works at the front desk always makes me fell welcome, he is a asset to Marriott. The rooms are always clean and the grounds are well kept. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and quiet no matter what floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites McAllen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great Hotel by Marriott. Great Service and happy hour!! Staff is always friendly and actually know what goes on in this place. Antonio at front desk has all the info you will need. Great Service.

Room Tip: I like to stay in the 4th floor, it's a little more quite.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I come to McAllen a couple of times each year and in the past have stayed at Embassy Suites. This time I checked rates and found Springhill to be about $75 cheaper so I booked it! Glad I did.
Rooms are great. Comfortable living area, lots of space, awesome beds, very clean, and the decor is cool. There is a toilet room separate from the shower, which was so nice since two of us were traveling together.
The work out facility is great. Light and airy with good equipment.
Now, the Happy Hour and breakfast aren't as good as Embassy Suites, but with what I saved I can go buy that for much less (which I didn't, cause the difference isn't all that great).
I will choose this place from now on when in McAllen!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingIntoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I frequent McAllen for business and definitely enjoy staying at the Springhill Suites Marriott. This hotel is almost new, very clean, spacious, not to mention a trendy decor. The rooms have a spacious sitting area with desk and large plasma TV.

The front guest service staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Great location right off of Hwy 83 about 5 min drive from McAlllen airport. Close to the shopping center and great restuarants.

Room rates are a great value for the type of room and it being a Marriott.

Room Tip: Recommend getting the double bed suite as this one is slightly larger than the single bed suite. Eve...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harmish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Had a nice stay there last week while in town on business. Frankly, when I booked McAllen TX, I was expecting very little and was pleasantly surprised by the city, but moreso this hotel - it was great with a nice staff. The rooms and lobby area all had a really nice vibe to them. Breakfast was barely edible, but other than that, the experience was great and I will be booking there again for my return visit...

Room Tip: Just book it!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecseps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Recently attended a conference where we stayed at this hotel. The staff was very polite and accomodating. (We had the entire hotel booked.) The room were one of the most interesting layouts I've ever seen. The toilet and small sink in a half bath while a larger sink and tub/shower in another room completely separate. The desk area was nice and well lit, a wet bar in the corner. I thought the mattress was a little too firm but otherwise no major complaints.

The breakfast each morning was unremarkable, but the workout room was above average. The indoor pool was very, very small.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I am a devoted Marriott customer and have been for several years. I recently had to stay at this hotel for work and I have no idea how Marriott signs off on this kind of quality. It just doesn't work. To be transparent, I have fairly high expectations. This hotel is perfectly fine for a team going to a soccer tournament or visiting relatives nearby for a couple days. For a business traveler with higher expectations I was very disappointed. The remodel was a waste. The room has a weird layout with way too much clutter. It has a closed off, small feel, even though the room is in fact pretty well-sized. There is a divider that goes across the room right smack in the middle, so you can't see the couch from the bed. It's as if the designers got stuck between a room and a suite and couldn't decide so they went half way, to my discontent. There is a 'happy hour' every day where they put out free hot dogs, nachos and soda/beer. I'm sure a lot of people enjoy this, but I'm a health nut so it wasn't very redeeming. The entire hotel is decorated with very cheap looking corny trinkets. The 'gym' is a joke, it's a 5'x20' corridor with a few treadmills and enough weights to hardly keep the most frail soccer mom out of breath. The entire remodel seems like they went as cheap as possible. Everything is 'new' looking, but the quality is so low that it already seems worn and broken in. The sliding doors on the bathrooms save space but instead of being nicely built into the wall as a pocket door, cheap hinges were used and the door slides on the outside of the wall. It looks tacky and is heavy and doesn't slide well. The bed is the same. It's framed with cheap vineered wood and the mattress is very low quality. The decorative pillows are feaux suede and the couch in the room although pretty good size is also stiff and cheap. The entire room had an almost Ikea-esque look and feel. I say almost because although it is along the same line in terms of theme, the design and layout are not as smartly executed and the hardware, furniture, fabrics and materials are of much lower quality. It's really too bad that Marriott didn't look a little more long-term with the remodel. If they spent some more time with the layout and spent some more money on the quality of the remodel they could have had a nice little hotel here. The service is great, everyone is responsive and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.1 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites McAllen

Address: 1800 S Ware Rd, McAllen, TX 78503-8496
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, 100% non-smoking. Acrros the expressway from the new McAllen Convention Center. Conveniently located on the new urban West side of McAllen, with great restaurants featuring Romano's Macaroni Grill, PF Chang's, BJ's Brewhouse and Longhorn Steakhouse. Across the expressway from McAllen's newest shopping, Palms crossing, featuring Best Buy, Bath and Body, and Barnes and Noble, to name a few. Complimentary transportation to McAllen International Airport and local area shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mcallen Hotel Mcallen
Fairfield Inn Mcallen
Fairfield Mcallen
Mcallen Fairfield Inn
SpringHill Suites McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing