We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in the Rio Grande Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place in the Rio Grande Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited family for the Labor Day weekend in one of our favorite places to travel - the Rio Grande Valley. Typically, we've stayed down the road a bit in Weslaco, but this time stayed in McAllen since we were flying in rather than driving.

I booked the Hilton Garden initially for two reasons... the points and the rate... both were great, but I didn't know what to expect until I got there. The place was spotless, well run and the employees all seemed to enjoy working there... they were very outgoing and friendly and we were impressed with how well the property seemed to be run.

The chain has evidnetly changed their policy on breakfast and we enjoyed a fully cooked to order breakfast there complementary... the cook who did the omlets was a highlight... very up, very happy to be there and an excellent cook to boot...

We'll be going back there... it was a great value, a good experience and a great time in the RGV.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriors5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are very happy your experience was good and that we will be seeing you again. I will share this comment with my staff as it will make them feel good that we are making guest happy.

Thanks,
Jaime
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    97
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
27
23
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Usually, Hilton Garden Inns are a safe bet when traveling and this hotel reinforces that opinion. , The hotel lobby's design and the front desk-staff really do create a welcoming environment at check-in. The location is very convenient...the airport is near and there are a couple of chain restaurants (Pancho's Mexican Cafeteria and Red Lobster) within a short walking distance, One of the few remaining KMARTs in Texas is just a block down the road. Never fear, however, because the Wal-Mart is just down the road in the other direction--you got your basic big-box shopping experience more than covered. I have only traveled to McAllen on business so can't really comment on the location as it relates to any tourist destinations. There are some interesting restaurants that I have tried, and there are a lot of Palm Trees to look at, but that is about it for me. My room was clean, the beds were comfortable, all appliances, a/c, iron/ironing board were functioning appropriately. Television had lots of channels. I had a very pleasant stay and that is what I hope for on a work-related road-trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enoyed your stay with us and that everything in the room was in order and that your stay was comfortable. We are close to lots of restaurants and shopping stores that are walking distance that our guest like and also provide shuttle service if needed. We thank you for staying us and look forward to seeing you again.

Tahnsk,
Jaime
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotia, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Close (walking distance) to the most visited Mall in Americas, near good shops and restaurants, and yet, quiet away enogh from busy roads/avenues, Hilton Garden Inn McAllen is a very nice place to stay. With a good and modern environment and services, the hotel provides you good food, room and ammenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy you stayed with and gave us the opportunity to serve you and that you found evrything you needed as we are located close to all the shopping malls and lots of restaurants that are easy access to and from the hotel.

Thanks,
Jaime
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corpus christi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

great and amazing staff this hotel has a great leader in place and it shows by how well the staff does their job. The breakfast buffet was one of the nicest i seen in a while and i do travel a lot. The inside of the rooms were well maintained and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and that the satff was very helpful and friendly. Comments like this let us know we are doing something right and excite us to improve more and more each day by providing the best service we can to every guest that stays with us..

Thanks,
Jaime
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combined Locks, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel has an excellent staff and is a very god value for the money. The staff is very helpful and can make good recommendations for restaurants and places of interest. Also, an excellent location. Close to a great shopping mall and good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comment as it make us feel good that we are taking care of our guest and providing the best service we can by being helpful and friendly. Take care and if in the area again, we hope you stay with us again!

Jaime
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Best choice of Hotel for comfort, safety and value. I look for this brand first when traveling for business or family. You can expect the consistent level of service from a Hilton-trained staff and amenities. They are readily responsive to your needs, courteous and friendly faces make you feel welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Noemi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Our goal is to always make every guest feel welcome and to prvide great customer service to all our guest that stay with us. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Jaime
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownsville, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

wet towels in hot tub, red marking on the tub floor bugs in the tub. when i called the front desk to clean the room they sent a maintenance man out. he took the bugs out and left the wet towels and red marking on the tub. just horrible

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of my staff and I we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your recent stay. This is not the level service we strive for and truly pain us that we have failed you. We hope that if in the area again you give us another opportunity to redeem ourself and show you the true Hilton experience.

Sincerely,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.2 mi away
Drury Suites McAllen
Drury Suites McAllen
#15 of 42 in McAllen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
0.2 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Address: 617 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78503-2931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in McAllen
#6 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rio Grande Valley, the Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport hotel is just one mile from McAllen Airport (MFE) and minutes from the Foreign Trade Zone. Take advantage of our thoughtful range of amenities. Plunge into the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the whirlpool. Work out in the fitness center, or borrow a Stay Fit Kit(R) to keep fit in the privacy of your own room. Enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, the Great American Grill(R), or keep up with work in the 24-hour Business Center. Plus, use the complimentary WiFi that is available in each room. The hotel's two meeting rooms provide ample space for up to 100 guests and can be adapted to suit a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mcallen Hotel Mcallen
Hilton Mcallen
Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing