We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was here every week for most of 6 months. The staff was always very courtious. the rooms are spacious and well kept. We where taken care of very well by the staff. It was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruttmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    143
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
246
50
10
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The group loved it. Outstanding staff that went above and beyond catering to our every needs. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and shopping centers. Excellent indoor and outdoor pools. The rooms were superb and very nicely kept. The hotel grounds just beautiful period. Ms. Mary Hernandez and are staff should be commended for a job very well done. Upper management should be very proud of them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Love the location of this hotel, lots of restaurants and shopping centers within walking distance and free shuttle service. Very nice indoor and outdoor pool. Breakfast was good! The only complaint we had was that the hot tub wasn't working the 2nd day that we were there and the rooms could be nicer!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panhandle, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here for three nights during a conference. The staff was tremendous. The hotel was completely booked every night I was there. The staff never missed a beat. Check-in was speedy. My room was spacious and clean. The amenities were what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express (except no refrigerator int he room). The grounds were beautiful and very clean. Each staff member I came across was bilingual and able to help the Spanish-speaking guests just as well as those of us English-speaking guests. The breakfast bar offered much more than the usual continental fare - scrambled eggs, fresh pancakes, tortillas, waffles, and the famous cinnamon rolls. They also offered a wonderful happy hour from 5-6 with hors douvres, draft beer and bottled wine. The staff catered several of our meals during the meeting time and the food was very good. I don't often review business hotels, but this was much more than I expected from a HI Express. Good job, McAllen HIE.

There's not a bar in the hotel but there's a sports bar that shares the parking lot.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the pool and my only complaint was that kids at the pool could be heard up until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmwife68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was a very pleasant stay from start to end. The airport pickup was quick and courteous, check in went as expected, and was greeted with happy hour. The complimentary happy hour was nice, but simple. A little finger food (mini-hamburgers, peanuts, chips) and some beverages. The room was nice, clean, and well kept. The complimentary breakfast was very satisfactory with many more choices than a standard continental breakfast. The shuttle van would take you to, and pick you up from, any location within 2 miles. There were many restaurants and tons of shopping in the immediate area. The fitness center and pool looked nice, but didn't use them. Bed was comfortable and 4 pillows (2 firm/2 soft) for each bed.

Only complaint was that my toilet was leaky and ran (re-filled) every couple minutes. I could hear that the room next to me must have had a worse problem, as their toilet would run every minute. A colleague who stayed in another room mentioned his sink leaked a steady stream of water, and another colleague had a runny toilet as well. Seems like a lot of wasted water, hotel-wide.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WE9V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very clean and with a great location if your plan is going shopping!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuadroarquitectos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fll
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great staff, excellent service, very friendly and helpful. Great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donetsk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Mcallen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen

Property: Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Address: 1921 S 10th St, McAllen, TX 78503-5403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAllen (Airport/La Plaza Mall))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart iStay Hotel M with 191 spacious and modern rooms has been perfectly designed as the best option when traveling for leisure but also with the best technology for the business traveler. Our rooms are designed to make your stay "A World of Sensations!" Located in the heart of McAllen, just in front of the hotel, on 10th Street Avenue is “La Plaza Mall”, one of the most successful and complete shopping centers throughout the state of Texas. We also provide complimentary hotel shuttle services to the airport; we are only 5 minutes away from McAllen’s International Airport (MFE) making us an ideal location for the business traveler. Value added include Breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, local calls, parking and self-service laundry. Among tourist attractions is Quinta Mazatlan, a true oasis in the middle of the city, just two blocks from the hotel, where you can appreciate the local flora and fauna in its beautiful facility. We are sure you will enjoy the warm welcome from our bilingual staff at Smart iStay Hotel M, as well as the local attractions that McAllen, Texas has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mcallen (Airport/La Plaza Mall)
Holiday Inn Mcallen
Mcallen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mcallen
Smart iStay Hotel In McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing