We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I reserved the room at the last minute. I was very happy when I arrived. The hotel lobby was very nice. The view of the pool from the lobby was beautiful and made me want to take a dip in the pool, even though I usually don't wim. We were upgraded to a suite since I was a priority member. I was very happy with the room. The suite was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoop4930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    135
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
228
47
10
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and staff was helpful. The rooms appear the be recently renovated. Bed and pillows were new and comfortable. Had a small issue while checking in, but it was resolved. For the trouble they upgraded my room. Great stay. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stay here on every business visit to McAllen. So I was a bit disheartened to see the service and cleanliness sliding on this visit. Sadly, if it keeps deteriorating, I'll have to find another option when I'm in the area.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My company had an event at the convention center, so I booked rooms for 35 people here. We all liked the hotel, especially those of us who got upgraded to the suites. The grounds were nice and well kept. The rooms were a bit dated, but overall they were fine.

Our group especially loved the free beer during happy hour... but who doesnt love free beer right?

The mattresses are VERY hard at this holiday inn, so bring your own pillow to help balance it out :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brando09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were in McAllen for a wedding, and the reception was at this hotel, so it made sense to simply stay here. The rooms were pretty clean, and well maintained. The pool was very nice. The free breakfast had plenty of options. There is a lot of traffic around the hotel, but that also means there is plenty of shopping and eating also nearby.

The bed was really hard, if we were staying longer than 2 nights it might have become an issue. The checkout process was not great, the gentleman at the front desk was on the phone and had me wait for about 5 minutes before telling his friend he had to go and check someone out. In addition, I booked 4 rooms for myself and other family, and for some reason no one could give me a total price. They kept saying I had to wait until checkout. I made it clear multiple times that I was covering the rooms, but they still sent the final receipt to the wrong room. This part of my experience was probably an isolated occurrence.

In general, not a bad place, especially if you don't know your way around and want to be in the middle of things. Much of the shopping and popular dining seems to be on 10th street, so it is easy to get around. OH, and if you happen to be here, stop by the HEB Plus in Pharr...the agua fresca bar is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosechase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear rosechase,

Thank you for leaving a review at our property. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests to stay. I am glad you liked the location, cleanliness of the rooms, pool amenity and choices for breakfast. I am disappointed to hear that the bed was not comfortable. Please accept our apologies due to the fact that our Front Office staff were not able provide the total cost of all rooms and check out process was lengthy.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Best Regards,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was here every week for most of 6 months. The staff was always very courtious. the rooms are spacious and well kept. We where taken care of very well by the staff. It was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruttmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The group loved it. Outstanding staff that went above and beyond catering to our every needs. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and shopping centers. Excellent indoor and outdoor pools. The rooms were superb and very nicely kept. The hotel grounds just beautiful period. Ms. Mary Hernandez and are staff should be commended for a job very well done. Upper management should be very proud of them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham McAllen
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen

Property: Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Address: 1921 S 10th St, McAllen, TX 78503-5403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAllen (Airport/La Plaza Mall))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart iStay Hotel M with 191 spacious and modern rooms has been perfectly designed as the best option when traveling for leisure but also with the best technology for the business traveler. Our rooms are designed to make your stay "A World of Sensations!" Located in the heart of McAllen, just in front of the hotel, on 10th Street Avenue is “La Plaza Mall”, one of the most successful and complete shopping centers throughout the state of Texas. We also provide complimentary hotel shuttle services to the airport; we are only 5 minutes away from McAllen’s International Airport (MFE) making us an ideal location for the business traveler. Value added include Breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, local calls, parking and self-service laundry. Among tourist attractions is Quinta Mazatlan, a true oasis in the middle of the city, just two blocks from the hotel, where you can appreciate the local flora and fauna in its beautiful facility. We are sure you will enjoy the warm welcome from our bilingual staff at Smart iStay Hotel M, as well as the local attractions that McAllen, Texas has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mcallen (Airport/La Plaza Mall)
Holiday Inn Mcallen
Mcallen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mcallen
Smart iStay Hotel In McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing