We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

McAllen Public Library
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
winnipeg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I joined the library in McAllen and was really amazed how big and beautiful the building is. The staff where very helpful and they had a whole big room dedicated to computers. The whole library was full of wonderful natural light because of all the big windows.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank k_kiziak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmm...”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Well...I love libraries...However, I don't like this library very much...You can find many books, yes...But, I don't like the decoration, the setting...It is not warm...The place is not cozy and does not invite you to sit for hours and read THERE.....You find the book and take it home..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a wonderful way to reuse a building”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was only here briefly to get internet access. This library is big and spacious. I wish Iived closer to use this library all the time. I wish more communities would reuse discarded Walmart buildings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilnKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Library”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great library with tons of activities. They have a nice theater for authors and other speakers. The coolest thing--it used to be a Walmart and it was turned into a huge library!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RangerHannieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“New library is a jewel”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The location and facilities are very good and first class. City did great job. Programs for all age groups, it's beautiful and oh yeah you can actually hold and read a book.(not to fear, there is wifi as we'll)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McAllen Public Library also viewed

 

Been to McAllen Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing