We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Studio room at a great price”
Review of Studio 6 McAllen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Studio 6 McAllen
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent Studio room at a great price”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have stayed twice at this Studio Six for a week each time. The rooms are not too large, but there is a table to eat at and a well-supplied kitchen area. The pool is small and near the parking area , but clean.
This motel is used for long-term stays by winter Texans, and has great rates for longer stays. While I was there the motel threw a welcome back happy hour to great the returning winter Texans. Only two blocks from the highway, and about four minutes to the airport, the location is very convenient, and on a quiet side street.
My only complaint is the very spotty wi-fi reception.

Room Tip: Used on weekends by shoppers from Mexico - can get a bit noisy, best to pick a room away from the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
15
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, ND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have been wintering in McAllen, TX for the last 5 or 6 years. We have found our home away from home at the Studio 6. They have always taken care of the accommodations that we need. Their staff is very friendly and always ready to help you, the rooms are clean, rates are reasonable and they are pet friendly. The kitchen area has a full size fridge and the essentials for cooking are furnished. We always look forward to getting there in January. We have made a lot of special friends there. They are within walking distance to one of the malls and several eating places.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This facility is a favorite for "Winter Texans" (Retirees from northern states seeking warmer climes during the winter months). In 2009, we stayed there for 6 weeks and were very satisfied with the facility and services provided. This year, 2012, we stayed again for 6 weeks and are sorry to say that the facility has degenerated due to lack of regular maintenance, the services promised were only provided sporadically, and the front desk personnel were less than helpful, bordering on unfriendly. The wireless internet was available iess than 50% of the time and when it was available, it was so slow that it was a constant source of irritation. Complaints to the front desk personnel were answered by one excuse or promise after another - but no change in the entire 6 weeks. Room cleanings were not performed as promised and were for the most part superficial. Clean towels and washcloths were not provided as promised. We had to find a maid and request them or go to the front desk for them. Stove top burners were so slow and of low power that we purchased our own portable hotplate. The screens in the room had holes in them and were definitely in need of replacement. Overall, the place is showing its age and lack of routine maintenance. One bright spot for us was Jose, the young, hardworking, and friendly maintenance employee who seemed always to be overwhelmed and who was there day and evening. We were also impressed by the hardworking maids in the building who also were there long hours and who also seemed overwhelmed with work.

We liked the Studio 6 in 2009 but sorry to say, we will no longer be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabond025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avrille, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is an average motel with clean rooms that offers a kitchen and refrigerator. It's close to the Mall and you have a few restaurants near by. Good place to stay for one night. Close to the airport but not convenient to go walking if you have many luggage. Taxi would cost you $10 for a very small drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanmichelricher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The room and the bathroom are nice and clean and possess the facilities needed. It is a confortable place for extended stay. The kitchenette was fine, although the 2 heating surfaces were pretty slow. It's a very good place concidering the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
Level Contributor
604 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We spent three weeks here in Feb. 2011. It has a nice sized kitchenette with a full sized fridge, a decent sized table and comfortable beds. The two stove-top heating surfaces were tricky to use, but otherwise the facilities were excellent. It is also pet friendly - lots of dogs and a few cats as well. Maid service is provided twice a week. I found out that if you stay for a month or more you save an additional 10% or so, as no state hotel taxes charged for this long a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

here for a week on business...so we needed the kitchen features and on-site laundry. Hotel is in serious need of updating. You may as well forget the do-not-disturb signs, they ignore them. Expect to hear vacuum cleaners all day and into the late evening. Low water pressure was also a problem. SLOW elevator! Housekeeping does not speak English.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alabamabeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Mision Express McAllen
Mision Express McAllen
#28 of 42 in McAllen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 McAllen East
Motel 6 McAllen East
#29 of 42 in McAllen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham McAllen
0.2 mi away
Posada Ana Inn McAllen
Posada Ana Inn McAllen
#20 of 42 in McAllen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 McAllen

Property: Studio 6 McAllen
Address: 700 Savannah Ave, McAllen, TX 78503-3087
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 6 McAllen 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Studio 6 McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 6 McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing