We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites McAllen
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
PLAQUEMINE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ONE OF THE BEST”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is the hotel to stay at if you want the best experience you have ever had at a hotel. The location is great, the room I was in was very clean and in great shape, and the staff went above and beyond on all of my needs. I was in town on a quick trip to look at some commercial property and Melissa the manager bent over backwards to help me locate a couple of properties in the area. The price of the room was also very reasonable. I am a Choice Elite member and am happy with the choices I usually have staying with them. Keep up the good work in McAllen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortmcallen, General Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
rdchristensen,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a positive review, We really appreciate it.

Visit us again soon Mr. Christensen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
7
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Due to the staff at this hotel, our experience here was fantastic. The front desk was incredibly hospitable and bent over backwards to make us comfortable. There was free cold beer and water kept in the lobby for us, along with fresh baked cookies, and some days even chicken and tacos. When we came in one night and the cookies were gone, Samantha at the front desk was quick to offer to bake up more. She even offered to ring us when they were done. We didn't take her up on the offer, but it was such a sweet gesture. She heard us talking about Whataburger, and offered us coupons; and the day staff was quick to offer a shuttle ride when we needed a lift to the local clinic. The rooms were clean, which was interesting because I have not had the best experience with Comfort Inn & Suites in the past. It was clear when we walked into the hotel that THIS particular Comfort Suites is NOT like the others we have stayed in. There were multiple WiFi options to keep the volume down and the internet fairly speedy, the TVs were large, the rooms were huge and had a full-size mini-fridge and microwave, there was free breakfast offered, and a beautiful pool outside. The only issues: the hot tub bubbles didn't work, the shower curtain needed to be longer because it didn't fit properly in the tub and our bathroom floor got soaked frequently, the water pressure in the shower was very low, the room was fairly dark, and there were few ice machines in the hotel. There was a laundry room offered. The comforter on the bed didn't feel "new," but it was still clean. Housekeeping did a great job. The hotel is in a great location for the area. Read tips for choosing rooms below.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the first floor. The ceiling is thin, and you can hear the thumps of footsteps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley H, General Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you "LynnJD' for the kind words and appreciate your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the service of our staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the various amenities here at Comfort Suites. We also take pride in our cleanliness and hospitality and it is guests like yourself that we enjoy having. We are sad to hear about some of the issues that you noted but will get taken care of as soon as possible. Our priority here at Comfort Suites are to accommodate our guests and with your feedback along with others help us in accommodating our guests even more in the future. We again, thank you for the kind words and hope to have you stay with us again here at Comfort Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Great service checking in. Free cold beer, water and fresh baked cookies. Clean rooms, large rooms, great large screen TVs. I stay in 3-4 hotels a week and this one is nice in my book. Trip advisor knows I don't hold back if its not up to standard but this one is nice. Thank god I found a choice hotel I like in the RGV and I like it a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texcop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley H, General Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you "Texcop1" for the kind words and enjoyed hearing your positive feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed many of the features we have to offer daily here at Comfort Suites. It is also very much appreciated that we are a Choice Hotel that you very much enjoyed here in the Rio Grande Valley. We hope you stay with us again to enjoy the many amenities that you enjoyed while staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed two nights. THe staff was friendly, location ok (it is a small town so this is not really very important), Free wireless wi-fi was reasonably speedy.

The room was clean and large, but the decoration was not "warm" . It was more like a dark office.
Also, as another reviewer said, breakfast is served in a tiny space, so it is really complicated and uncomfortable for people trying to self serve their food.

For the price, I expected something better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley H, General Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We have expanded are breakfast area.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Jorge Revilla
General Manager
Comfort Suites
McAllen, TX 78501
956-213-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for 5 days while we were in town visting family. My wife works at a comfort suites and got an employee rate for all but one night. Didn't like the fact that they wouldn't lower our rate since I couldn't book our stay cause the system was down so I had to pay the regular nightly rate, the room was nice, really enjoyed the bed but the pillows were flat, it was a good choice to bring our own so it wasn't a huge issue. We never got up in time for breakfast so we couldn't comment on that. The pool was a unique shape and fun, I hope next time we are there the hot tube is fixed it was a real bummer that It wasnt working while we were there. The staff was really great, they took care of anything we needed and were friendly. The only employee I had a problem with was a lady that worked the late shift, we asked if we could sit by the pool and put our feet in the water. She came into the pool area and yelled at us and another guest telling us that we need to get out. I had no problem with leaving its the fact that she decide to yell at us and threaten us with the cameras pointed in our direction. She was very rude to us, we even comforted her about it saying that the lady on the other shift said it would be ok, she said "this is my shift and I'm more strict then the other shifts, and that was her being nice she could have been a lot meaner then that" other then that issue our stay was great. We would consider stay there when ever we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley H, General Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jorge Revilla
General Manager
Comfort Suites
McAllen, TX 78501
956-213-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I was in town for a few days on business. I love the compact design of the property and the large rooms. I detest the walking required at larger full-service hotels plus they don’t have the amenities that are available at the comfort suites. Also, the choice hotels corporation has the best frequent stay award system in the universe. It shocks me that more people don't hop on board because of their reward system. One free reward night after 3 nights!

Anyway, the McAllen property is still fairly new. The rooms have one or two beds as well as a couch and a small table. I like the refrigerator and microwave too. The pool area is kind of small but very quant. The breakfast area is small too but it wasn't a problem at all. They have tamales on the breakfast buffet which is a first for me to see at a hotel. The wireless internet service had mediocre speed but was reliable.

The front desk and workers are laid back and very friendly. They even changed my rate when I mentioned that my co-worker received a lower rate!

The location is good and there are many shopping and restaurants around. I probably wouldn't walk to any because they are close but not really in walking distance.

I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you 'Atxguy' for your positive review of our hotel from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our new tamales and are very happy that we met you expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the near future. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

this is about a 2 star hotel. Rooms need painting and new carpet. Lightbulbs are burned out or missing. Breakfast is a zoo, only about 6 tables and people crowing into place at the food counter. Juice is usually empty. The only person in the breakfast area to stock and clean tables is a maid that is trying to do laundry at the same time. Main hallway has several places where carpet has been patched in. Bedding and towels need replaced! Towels are like brillow pads-SCRATCHY! Bedding is thin and patched. I can't believe this is a Comfort Suites, its more like a Motel 6. I will say that the staff is friendly, they offered to make a breakfast bag so I wouldn't have to fight the crowd.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxctyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley H, General Manager at Comfort Suites McAllen, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you "sxctyguy" for your response to your visit with us. We are saddened to hear that we are not up to standards. Please keep in mind that we appreciate your time and effort in letting us know the different areas that need prompt attention. I know your stay was in December, which happens to be the busiest time of the year for us, not only do we have out of state travelers but we get alot of travelers from Mexico as well. We are currently in process of replacing all carpets in the hall area, and rooms to follow. Our Priority is our Guests and your satisfaction during your stay. Once again, Thank You for your comments and hope to service you in the future on a better note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn McAllen
Residence Inn McAllen
#30 of 42 in McAllen
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Staybridge Suites McAllen
#18 of 42 in McAllen
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
0.1 mi away
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Mision Express McAllen
Mision Express McAllen
#28 of 42 in McAllen
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites McAllen

Property: Comfort Suites McAllen
Address: 800 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501-2981
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites McAllen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites McAllen is 100% non-smoking and within 5 minutes of all McAllen attractions such as shopping, Dodge arena, and the airport. Rooms are all suites and offer free internet, free hot breakfast, and the other amenities you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mcallen Hotel Mcallen
Mcallen Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing