We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had an amazing stay. Our room was really nice. The service was great. We had a couple drinks at the bar and had a great time. The whole staff was friendly, Chad was especially helpful. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msladyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

I've been a guest at this hotel for 2 different trips to my corporate office. They do a great job making our stay comfortable. The entire stay, from check-in, to check-out, is great.

The continental breakfast is second to none, and Lasara was a great server !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntonybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spending the weekend with friends in Dallas is always fun. Staying at a great hotel makes it even better. The rooms were very nice and the staff was great! They made us feel very welcome. The restaurant and bar area was exceptional. Chad (the manager) was always friendly and never failed to make sure we had what we needed. From breakfast to evening drinks, service was fabulous! I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was clean and well equipped, but with two beds it was very cramped quarters. Television had very few channels to pick from. Lobby smelled very strong of chlorine from the pool. I hate to pay for breakfast (and it was too expensive) when there are a lot nicer hotels that provide it free. Recently stayed just south of this location a couple miles at the Holiday Inn Express...BIGGER room, lovely lobby, free breakfast, and less expensive. It's a no-brainer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmhotelsgroup, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We regret that you did not have 100% satisfaction during your stay at our hotel. Our team works extremely hard to make each of our guests' stays as close to perfect as possible. Each Holiday Inn hotel offers an experience that is different than a Holiday Inn Express hotel, which includes dining and room service options, a full bar, and extensive meeting space. As to our TV selection, we do offer 73 channels with over 50 in High-Definition. If your room had a malfunctioning TV, please contact us and let us know so that we can remedy the problem. We also apologize for the smell in the lobby from the pool area. The amount of chemicals we use (bromine, not chlorine) is mandated by the city. Unfortunately, we have no say in levels but we do test 3 times a day to ensure that our indoor pool and spa continues to be clean and safe and a highlight for all guests staying with us. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future and please contact me directly to help sort out any other issues that you may have.

Matt Dalrymple
General Manager
matt.dalrymple@holidayinn-mckinney.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants, and activities. The entire hotel staff are professional, helpful, and friendly. The front desk greeted everyone with a smile and "hello" no matter if you were "coming or going". I did not have the opportunity to swim in their indoor pool but it always looked inviting. The bar area can be noisy since there is no door or partition to set it apart from the restaurant area. Breakfast is always good at the Holiday Inns and this one was located in a restaurant atmosphere which made it pleasant as well. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only situation that was somewhat disconcerting was a broken wine glass in the stairway along with other litter that stayed there for a couple of days until we mentioned it to the front desk. It was taken care of immediately.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel was great. Very clean and modern. The room even had a ceiling fan which made me feel right at home. The staff were very friendly and helpful. LaSara did an excellent job at all of the meals that we had there. The breakfast was very good every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

On a recent family vacation trip through various cities in Texas, we stayed at a number of hotels. We chose the McKinney Holiday Inn as a good stop-over on our way north, to get past Dallas. Big mistake.

The problems started with the online reservation service, which wasn't functioning. So I had to call and make the reservation by phone. I was connected with someone whose first language was not English and the phone reception was terrible.

I chose the Bed + Breakfast package (which cost more), based on the representation that our 2 adults would receive free breakfast and that our two children would eat free. All of the other hotels we stayed at provided free breakfast, so we thought this would be ideal. Nowhere on the website, nor in the phone reservation operator's description was there any limitation on what "free" meant.

When we arrived at the hotel, the first thing we heard was blaring rock or dance music from a "bar" about 5 feet from the reception desk. I asked for a room on an upper floor and not above the blaring music. The room was passable. Everything was dark, so it was probably pretty dirty, but the room was "okay" other than being small.

The wireless WIFI hardly worked. The signal came and went and the speed was pathetic 0.23 mbps (compared the the 10mbps I got via my cellphone). What a joke in 2013. The hotel advertises free high speed internet, which was not provided.

At check-in I asked about the free breakfast. I was given a $20 voucher and told that was enough for breakfast for 2 adults. I was skeptical, but let it pass, until the next morning.

The next morning, we (2 adults/2 kids) walked into the breakfast room. I saw the sign outside "Breakfast Buffet $9.95". When the waitress eventually arrived (she was fairly preoccupied with the one other customer in the restaurant), she handed us menus. I ordered 4 buffets. She informed me that there was no buffet. I then asked what the "free" breakfast was then. She said we had a $20 voucher and should order from the menu. I then confirmed that the kids would eat free. She said "no." (She seem to take great pride in trying to disabuse me of the notion that we were going to get a free breakfast - despite us having been sold a package with free breakfast). I, however, insisted, saying, "No, the kids eat free. That's what I was told when I reserved the room." She left, and came back, acknowledged (without apologizing) that the kids would eat free and handed us 2 kids menus. She said the kids could only order one of the things on the menu. The kids' menu was PATHETIC, and my kids were quite disappointed, as was I. We had to order additional items off the menu (depleting our sacred $20 voucher) for them to supplement THE WORST KIDS MENU I have ever seen.

Then, we had to CAREFULLY select a few additional items from the menu (for the adults' "free" breakfast), to make sure we did not exceed our $20 limit (which is contrary to the unrestricted "Free" breakfast advertised). So we ordered what we thought would be about $20 (my wife just ordering a small yogurt to keep us within the price limit). The food (arriving in segments, a few items first, a few others later, a couple more on a third trip, then a fourth trip to get the things that had been forgotten) was mediocre at best. I ordered biscuits and gravy. I got 2 dinner rolls like you would buy at the grocery store (not biscuits), and some bland white gravy, clearly from a can or a bag, all of which was somewhere between cold and room temperature.

Through careful self-limitation and disagreement with the uninformed waitress, we achieved a breakfast that only cost us $0.13 after the $20 was applied (plus a reluctant $10 tip). Thus not "free," and ultimately, due to its mediocrity and the requisite negotation involved, not worth the $0.13 plus tip, plus the additional amount paid for the "Breakfast Package."

This situation is totally unacceptable and likely actionable. It is false advertising and should subject Holiday Inn to a class action lawsuit for advertising a "free" breakfast, that is not actually free. Other hotels just put out a free breakfast bar, and everyone is fine. The Holiday Inn "Bed and Breakfast" package truly sucked.

By contrast, we did a Bed and Breakfast package at the Hilton Garden Inn in New Braunfels. We got a voucher. When the 4 of us sat down for breakfast, the polite waitress handed us menus and said "what I can I bring you." There were no limitations. Everyone got want they wanted, and the food was good.

Holiday Inn's false advertising and the other deficiencies of the McKinney hotel will result in my avoiding Holiday Inn at all costs in the future and recommend to all others to do the same.

Room Tip: Try to find a Hilton Garden Inn instead and/or skip the Bed and Breakfast package. There's a Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTreviewer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmhotelsgroup, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites McKinney-Fairview would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with quality service in all areas and in that, we let you down. We appreciate your feedback as we are always trying to improve our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McKinney hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mckinney - Craig Ranch
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites McKinney
Comfort Suites McKinney
#8 of 16 in McKinney
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview

Address: 3220 Craig Dr, McKinney, TX 75070-4537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in McKinney
#4 Romantic Hotel in McKinney
Price Range: £72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney-Fairview is the metroplex's premier hotel destination with incredible amenities and a convenient location! Our rooms are 100% smoke-free and come equipped with luxurious pillowtop mattresses, 32" flat screen TVs with HD channels, and free high-speed internet. Stay in and enjoy room service or visit our own M Restaurant for a hot breakfast or relaxing dinner. Exercise at your convenience in our 24-hour Health & Fitness Center then cool off in our indoor pool! We also have a guest laundromat, dry clean service, and 24-hour business center. A prime location for business travelers, we are just minutes away from several major corporations. Looking for a leisurely stay? Enjoy the many entertaining, dining, and shopping options all within a short drive of our McKinney hotel! Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, trust the staff at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney-Fairview for a pleasant and relaxing stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Mckinney - Eldorado Hotel Mckinney
Holiday Inn And Suites Mckinney - Eldorado
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing