We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment in a favorite motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency Inn and Suites McKinney
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in McKinney
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This used to be callen the AmeriHost Inn - apparently it is under new management.

We've stayed here for years and enjoyed and appreciated the place.

But we had some pretty big problems with this October 2012 visit: they lost our telephone reservation; we had to turn down the first room offered due to food smells; the second room we had to turn down due to cigarette smoke smells; the third room was OK - but - the maid didn't make our bed the first night (we were staying 3 nights); there was no Kleenex and the desk manager said they were low on towels; the sheets had small holes in them; the outer side door security lock was broken - just push to enter - don't know if this is a code violation or not. The desk manager apologized saying, the manager was new, he was new, sorry for all the inconvenience, he's trying his best under difficult circumstances.

We'll probably check it out on our next visit because of its convenient (to us & grand kids) location, but won't hesitate to book elsewhere if they've not resolved their problems.

It's a shame, this used to be a very nice property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epicure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

I don't know where to begin. The door locks where broken. The a/c was off on the floor hallway and in my room. The bathroom was terrible...tub had a dirty ring around it and hair on the toilet seat. The breakfast what a joke I went down for breakfast at 7:30 (just to see) this is what they had two muffins and a almost empty juice cart. I got this hotel through Hotwire which it did not list this hotel. I guess it fell under ( and other brand name hotels) so beware. My family was very displeased and upset with me since I did not read the fine print at that time. I truly believe that this hotel needs to be updated or closed..!!!! ASAP. P.S. the rooms where so nasty looking I slept in my clothes. July 2012

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Terrena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Well let me start on a positive note by saying that the pool was nice, location easy to get to, and the staff was friendly. Now to get down to the nifty gritty, no pun intended.
The outside doors to access the building were open! No key card required! This definitely does not make a traveler feel safe. The rooms appeared dirty. When we got ready to climb in bed, there was RICE under the sheets and on top of the fitted sheet!!
The shower curtain had mold along the bottom edge of it (time to replace), there was a big stain ??syrup or some other unknown liquid, in one of the dresser drawers, and a couple hairs in the sink-yuck! The breakfast was rationed. Juice almost empty and locked up. Had to go out for breakfast, thus adding to the total cost. Also there was no soap in the lobby/employee bathroom and we notified the front desk, but it wasn't replenished. Next time we will drive down the road. Many other choices.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

At check in noticed a very bad smell, somewhat like cat urine. Got to the room and the room was not very clean. Pulled back the bed sheets and was noticed a few small specks moving. Went to the desk and asked for a refund and that we were checking out. Was told by the manager that he could not give a refund. I told him about the bugs and he told me that they had just gotten the place fumigated. (that would explain the god awful smell) If you want to feel violated and ripped off, feel free to stay there. I will not be staying at another Regency ever...sad that one bad hotel ruined my thought of making another reservation with Regency. You can't even complain to anyone other than the manager, since he is the owner. Sad that he wasn't willing to even refund half of the money. I will be telling each and every one of my friends to steer clear going there.

Room Tip: BED BUGS visible and alive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 44Tina777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have had to stay in McKinney for five nights and were looking for nice inexpensive rooms.
We are very pleased, carpet had some stains but clean. The matresses are brand new, pillow tops and actually more comfortable than ours at home. Nice inside pool. Microwave and ref whch we utiized. Management are extremely helpful and cooperative. YES WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN. You find something with all motels.

Room Tip: Hotel off highway so quiet. we had room 105. New ac unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogeve65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed on June 21st and 22nd and found bed bugs by the dozens on my bed and in my clothing. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Also room 230 smelled like, well it was hard to describe but it was not pleasant. Had to keep a can of febreeze near the door and hold my breath till it was saturated and it still did no good. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

i stay 1night then i find out there is bedbug and carpet smells like dog pee they dont even have clean room as you can see on photo. don't stay there and i ask for my money back they refused to give me a refund. don't stay at regency McKinney. there is other hotel are very good just one block away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank james981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McKinney hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 17 in McKinney
165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 17 in McKinney
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn and Suites McKinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn and Suites McKinney

Address: 951 S Central Expressway, McKinney, TX 75070-3839 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn McKinney)
Region: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range: £51 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn and Suites McKinney 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Inn and Suites of McKinney is just minutes north of downtown Dallas and convenient to Historic Downtown McKinney, Ann Taylor Loft, Ball Park at Craig Ranch, and Southfork Ranch. Free high speed internet, an indoor pool, meeting space is available, a fitness room, and pets are welcome with an additional fee. Guest rooms feature free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, air conditioning, free local calls, coffeemaker, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge and iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency Inn and Suites McKinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Mckinney
Howard Johnson Mckinney
Regency Inn And Suites McKinney Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing