We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a romantic dinner”
Review of Rick's Chophouse

Rick's Chophouse
Ranked #2 of 291 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Caddo Mills, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Both my husband and I had our birthday dinners here. The food is succulent and the atmosphere is designed for quiet conversation as well as a more upscale experience. My only complaint is the low lighting. The owner or one of the managers will come and chat with each diner for a minute or two. If you are celebrating a special occasion, the staff will make you feel comfortable with out the obnoxious singing that so many restaurants do today. I had the Carpetbagger filet with was perfect, as well as the side dishes which never fail to delight. We went on a Saturday, so the lounge was open and the entertainment was also excellent. The band as well as the singer were in tune and sounded wonderful. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina06191964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    93
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked the romantic package through the Grand Hotel to include dinner. Despite some miscommunication at the hostess desk, the waiter was attentive. The sommelier recommended a great wine with dinner, which was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beautiful setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed a family celebration at Rick's recently, and everything was pretty near perfection. I ordered the filet, and it was one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. Others ordered trout and The Cowboy, and raved about their choices. Service and atmosphere were outstanding. The only disappointment was the spinach salad wasn't as special as it sounded on the menu, not bad, but not special. It was a bit noisy on a Saturday night. Might try midweek next time, and there definitely will be a next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My family's new FAVORITE restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my absolute hands-down favorite place to go for steak (or pretty much anything else!) My family, who are mostly cattle ranchers in North Dakota, was in town and I took them here for dinner. They LOVED it. My uncle is a pretty hard-to-please steak eater, and he's always expecting something good when he visits Texas. Well he said it may have been the best ribeye he's ever had. I was impressed by that statement to say the least. I know this is where we'll be headed for dinner any time they're in town. They also have the best chocolate pecan pie...ooh!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBusyVacationista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service on a very cool town square!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Whenever I am near McKinney I like to stop into the historic town square for the food, drinks, and antique shopping. This time I ate at Ricks Chophouse and it was awesome. I was there on a Monday evening and I managed to just walk up without a reservation and get an outside table (but the last one). The service was excellent - friendly, good recommendations on the various filet options (grain fed, grass fed, buffalo, elk, etc), and attentive. I had a traditional beef filet that was cooked perfectly and very tasty, and my wife and I split a very nice spinach salad. Although I sat outside, I managed to walk around inside the restaurant a bit and it was also impressive - lots of dark wood, antique looking lighting, massive bar - overall a warm, cozy, comfortable feel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Rick's Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing