We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a staycation”

Historic Downtown McKinney
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The family and I have driven up to five hours to go to destinations like McKinney. We have lived her for over 13 years and have gone downtown but only for a quick bite or to make a quick trip around the square. This last weekend, we did a staycation day in downtown. We had lunch at Cadillac Pub (great food), Chocolates and Goodies and Pie at the Emporium. The wife and daughter did a ton of window shopping and my son and I did the car show. What a great afternoon we had 2 miles from home. Love downtown McKinney.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    121
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cute, unique shops to wander through...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Don't be in a hurry for your visit here. Plan to shop...eat...walk...meet....talk....and have a relaxing, interesting day. The Pantry for lunch is a favorite of mine...save room for dessert....or better yet....just have dessert!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW Area
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Little Main Street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's ok. Some cute shops, decent restaurants. It's just a bit pricier than we expected. The farmers market store around the corner was interesting and some of the shops had unique items that you don't see everywhere else. It has a boutique downtown approach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Downtown mckinney is great and the cab drivers offer flat rates around time. Definitely something to do around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddy, Texas
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Shops of every kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

So delighted to enjoy such a variety of shops. Everyone in our group found something they loved. This was a great get away weekend. There were so many choices of food and drink as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Downtown McKinney also viewed

 

Been to Historic Downtown McKinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing