We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low end Motel - Hard to find at night”
Review of Motel 6 McKinney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 McKinney
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Low end Motel - Hard to find at night”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This Motel 6 is a low end budget motel with very small rooms. There best room rate is just slightly less than the local Days Inn or Super 8 but much less quality. Smelled of smoke in elevator and other public areas. Internet WiFi available at no charge but it would time out every 2 or 3 minutes. Not very fast internet speed when it was working. Pet Friendly at no additional charge. IT was quite difficult to locate this Motel 6 at night when comming from North Texas. I recommend that if you stay here you get detailed driving instructions from the motel staff prior to arriving.

Room Tip: Only stay here if it is a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David777771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
13
6
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harrison
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is one of Motel 6’s “Accor” properties and there a 3 floors of rooms, They do have an elevator. We visited in Feb. 2012. The outside of the property wasn’t very clean but we considered that is was winter time and may not have been doing regular outside cleaning however the temp was in the 70’s. Then there was the strong smell of “Curry”. The Front Office / Common area was clean and decorated with Valentine theme.

We travel with 2 little dogs and Motel 6 is usually our option and this was no exception.
WiFi was free here but I don’t know how well it worked, we were to tired for internet.

Our bed was very comfortable and that unfortunately is not typical of most Motel 6’s but maybe that is slowly changing.

We changed rooms because our first room the tub faucet dripped. I noticed it immediately and called the front desk and a young man came up to check it out. I told him I was not going to listen to the rest of the night with drip drip. He change our room.

The next room wasn’t very clean. The toilet wasn’t connected to the floor and wiggled and twisted around and was nasty around the base. I have pics of the bathroom.

The management has no controll over past Guests that have No Respect for a NON Smoking room. there were places on the counter where a Smoking Guest had placed thier cig at the edge of the counter top. this was a personal slam to "Those People" not Motel 6.

Sadly this Motel 6 didn’t not use E-address to get a survey from Corp. I may attempt to contact corp anyhow.

Room Tip: they have elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knowwheretogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand parairie, tx.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

From rude and surly desk clerk, to paper thin walls/floors/ceilings, to toilet leaking all night...how many ways can one say "craphole"?

Were wakened throughout the night by tiolet running so loudly, even closing the door barely muffled it...and either the floors/ceilings are paper thin or they are boarding horses on the third floor. Again, how many ways are there to say "craphole"?

Stay Away...........

Howard Johnsons and Super 8 are nearby at about the same cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank councilman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these McKinney hotels

Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Staff was very friendly. Room was small but clean...could use some updating though. Problem was the paper thin walls and very rude neighbors. Hardly slept a wink. Only stay here if you are a sound sleeper or don't require much sleep. It's a shame because the price was very good. We were en route to another destination and just needed a clean, quiet place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestmomtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport La
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Three story property with interior hallways and elevators. Ample handicap parking by front door. luggage cart, vending room, morning coffee. (We carry a coffee kit anyway so no matter). Guest Laundry. Accessible room, large roomy and comfortable. Windows open and each room has individual heating and cooling. "roomy roll in shower w/fold down seat and portable seat.. Room had refrigerator but no microwave....still ok w/me, didn't expect anything. Staff, from desk to house keepers, outstanding. If I have to be in the area again I would stay here rather than anywhere else. (I automatically check for pests and found none).
This trip we stayed at 6 properties and this was the best of 5 good ones and all were better than our stay in Midwest City, OK!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKSHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Beware, we had bed bugs in this motel and they banned us for complaining about it. Stay away.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — checking in
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cotulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

A 3-story Motel 6 in reasonably good condition with interior hallways. Elevator. Alas, the contractor scrimped of sheet rock so the walls between rooms are thin. Guests looking for silence on a busy night might well look elsewhere. Pleasant and helpful staff. Spartan but serviceable furnishings. Windows open and in-room air handling is easily adjustable if slightly noisy. Limited TV package. Low price.

Located facing US 75 on one side and the high school football stadium ("Friday Night Lights") on the other. Only a block from Hwy 380. Lots of franchise eateries and shopping within walking distance in this over-grown commercial area.

Fine for a stop-over or short-term stay.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anemonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McKinney hotels
1.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites McKinney
WoodSpring Suites McKinney
#9 of 16 in McKinney
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 16 in McKinney
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
145 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 McKinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 McKinney

Property: Motel 6 McKinney
Address: 2125 W White Ave, U.S. 75 at White Avenue, Exit #40-B, McKinney, TX 75069-3365
Region: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 McKinney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 McKinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Mckinney
Mckinney Motel 6
Mckinney Motel Six
Motel 6 McKinney Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing