We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice venue”
Review of Hank's Texas Grill

Hank's Texas Grill
Ranked #203 of 291 Restaurants in McKinney
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice venue”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The food is good and the music is too. Enjoyed the place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, almost great in a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stopped off on a business trip for lunch, based on the previous reviews here. Good BBQ and fresh sides, not the best I have had but not bad either. Moderate portions.

I ordered the two entree special with brisket and small ribs with garlic potatoes and slaw. My partner ordered the Atkins special with chicken. I thought the brisket had a good smoky flavor, though it was a tiny bit tough. The sauces were suppose to be hot and sweet but I would call them sweet and a little less sweet, but still good. The pork ribs were good and very tender but I wonder if they were boiled or a bit overcooked as the inside had a granular consistency and the dry rub had kind of lumped up a bit. This was only on the exterior/inside of the ribs and the outside had a very nice consistency, though not smoky like the brisket. The sides were very good and appear to be fresh made on site. Also good chips and salsa, also made onsite. The Atkins special was a serving of meat with a tomato and cheese, kind of like the filler of a shredded chicken taco. Small but it is a diet food. Good music and plenty of T.V.'s like a sports bar. Attractive and attentive servers. I would recommend it for lunch, drinks and the like but perhaps not for superior BBQ.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A very nice place to eat and the waitresses were very friendly. Great barbeque flavor and the place has live music some nights. Well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue for Live Music”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We love to hear Texas Country music at Hank's. They have a great bar and it is also fun to ride our Harley there on the weekend. The BBQ is great!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ramseyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEST BBQ IN NORTH TEXAS”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is where I always take out-of-towners looking for good Texas food/ BBQ.
Chicken is unreal, so tender. BBQ sauce great, I prefer the spicy but sweet is on point too. Ribs, sausage, chopped beef all best in N. Texas

Helpful?
Thank luv2travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Texas Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing