We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend trip”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for a wedding. Beds are great, hotel staff couldn't be more accommodating , and a perfect location. Nice restaurants, bars and shops right downtown. If u want to have a nice weekend away, not touch the car and listen to some bands this is your perfect base.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theWinterMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Grand is just that ."Grand" in every respect , in a really alive down town of McKinney Texas, no wonder they were picked number two best places to live in America by Money Magazine. Quaint cafes and a variety of shops to enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Presidential suite that was elegant. Very spacious and very quite. Awesome view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

For the second year in a row, we spent our anniversary at the Grand Hotel as we love McKinney. Also, for the second year in a row, we did not get the type of room for which we had a confirmation. We had both times requested a window. The first visit we got a room with no window, but a skylight. My husband and I are late sleepers and with a skylight the light comes streaming in at the crack of dawn making it very difficult to sleep. This year the first question I asked was if our room had a window. The answer was "no" which I said was unacceptable. They ended up reluctantly changing our room, however, we now had a room with a queen rather than king bed and our window overlooked a bunch of roofs. The bed had some sort of unfitted stiff plastic cover on it and the bottom sheet was not fitted and was barely tucked in. Every time I moved I ended up with a wad of mattress pad and sheet under me. I did not sleep well at all. To add insult to injury, there was a function going on in the hotel and even with the TV on I could hear the words to the songs that the singer was singing and the band was loud. The guests at that function were running around the halls and were very noisy. After that band stopped playing, I could hear the band in the bar two stories below. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are small. The bedspread was one of those dark quilted ones that make you wonder if it ever gets cleaned. As I said, the sheets didn't fit the bed. When we arrived, our pillows were on the floor (yuk!!) The bathroom is nice but there was no place to hang towels. We ended up only spending one night as opposed to the two we had planned on. They did comp our room which they should have but that didn't make up for an unpleasant night plus the inconvenience of having to pack up and look for another place to stay. We will definitely visit McKinney again, but will not be staying at the Grand Hotel. In addition, parking is a real problem.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window with a good view. I would also get as far away from the event room as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This quaint hotel is located in an historic building that has been tastefully restored to grand opulence with wonderful antique furniture to adorn each room. The staff is extremely friendly and goes out of their way to accommodate guests and make them feel at home, not unlike a fine bed and breakfast inn. From this location its a one block walk to a number of fantastic restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner and unique shops located on the beautiful McKinney town square. I have stayed here 3 times for business and absolutely love it. Guests can take a short 2 mile run down Louisiana Av and return on Virginia to view a number of grand old historic homes with porches and friendly people to say hello to along the way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is an older hotel right tucked half a block off of the main square in McKinney. The square is a very nicely preserved town square with a lot of nightlife nearby and plenty of dining options that are all above average dining spots.

So, the bed was comfortable, the room was nice, but nothing stood out about it except that it felt old in a cozy way. The bathroom was very recently redone, so you are not sacrificing anything to age there, and the soaps and linens provided were nice quality.

This was a nice place to spend a night because it does not have the generic box-on-the-highway feel at all, and I think it would be a very nice place for just a weekend couples retreat to a relaxing place.

The coffee shop next door was an added bonus. Good coffees in a very relaxed space.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

What a true gem! The Grand Hotel is located on the historic square in downtown McKinney. Rooms are all beautifully decorated with mansion beds that are of the utmost comfort. A lot of weddings held here so you might want to ask for a room away from the ballroom. There are pubs and restaurants all just steps away that offer live entertainment. You must visit the Lobby Bar and try the Crab Dip. Great atmosphere. This is my "go to" hotel when I wanna get away. So much to do. My favorite place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapizGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A year ago I wrote about how wonderful this hotel is. Just got back from another four day stay and guess what? It was even more wonderful than before! I love this hotel. It is always my very first choice when in McKinney Texas and they are always able to fit me in. The locations is perfect, there is always parking outside and the staff are more like family these days! I can understand why it is such a popular place for weddings and special events.
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated. Great food is right downstairs at Ricks and on the weekends the bar is bustling with friendly locals. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Splurge a little and book one of the suites. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McKinney hotels
2.8 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mckinney - Craig Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 114 W Louisiana St, McKinney, TX 75069-4414
Region: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in McKinney
#2 Business Hotel in McKinney
Price Range: £109 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel McKinney, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing