We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$130
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney(McKinney)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites McKinney(McKinney)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$92
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(McKinney)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites(McKinney)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$101
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
82
38
9
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
38
9
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick's chophousedowntown mckinneychop houseromance packagequaint hotelchocolate covered strawberriessmall roomgreat shops and restaurantsshopping and diningperfect place to stayhistoric areafull length mirrortwo blocksbanquet roombeautiful roomnice furnishingscomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We've stayed at The Grand Hotel twice now. The first time was in August 2009 for my husband's 50th birthday. We enjoyed it so much, we just went back (Jan 2010) to stay two nights for our 20th Anniversary. The hotel is so clean and located right on the Historic McKinney Square with several terrific restaurants and shops. The General Manager, Jose Ruiz, is a terrific guy and made every effort to ensure our stay was pleasant. We took advantage of the Romance Package during both stays and had dinner at Rick's Chophouse which is attached to the hotel. Our champagne and strawberries were a nice added touch. The hotel is small and personal but the rooms are elegant and clean. We have been in three different rooms during our stays and all were spacious and the bathrooms quite large. The showers are hot and the beds are extremely comfortable. I'm sure that we'll be back for another getaway soon. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshall113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My daughter and I stayed here one month ago, we are going back next weekend. It is superb. Rooms are gorgeous and the food at the Chophouse was incredible. We travel
quite a bit, not as much since she is now in college, but we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Grand Hotel in McKinney, Texas last weekend. What a wonderful hotel! The hotel is decorated exquisively and the king size beds are to die for. The staff is so accommodating and will take care of your every need. The restaurant, Rick's Chop House, was equally wonderful. We had porterhouse steak for two and my husband made the comment that it was the best steak he had had in a long time. The staff at the bar, the hostess and our waitress were so friendly and wanted to make sure our experience at the hotel/restaurant was wonderful. Downtown McKinney has a charming shopping environment and unlike most small towns the sidewalks DO NOT ROLL UP AT DUST! The night life was charming also. There was a lovely bar with a live band at the hotel, a wine bar on the square and another live band down the street at a Pizza Grill. All in all we had a great evening and the experience met all our expectations! The Grand Hotel gets an EXCELLENT rating from us.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

A wonderful experience for an English couple visiting family in the area. If you're from the UK and think all US Hotels are anonymous chain establishments in strip malls then this will knock you out. Personal service, fantastic rooms and decorations, and a wonderful small town atmosphere outside. Friendly bar (well stocked) and live music at the weekends. Lots of other places to eat in the town as well. Brits need to be warned that it is a fair distance out of Dallas and you'll need a car but who would want to go anywhere else?

For railfans, although there is no sign now, it is near the route of the North Texas Interurban Electric Railway. If only that were still there it would be Heaven on earth.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank CheshireFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

By far, the nicest accomodations in McKinney. The employees at this hotel were wonderful. I flew my mother in from Houston for her birthday. I went the week before to talk to the manager and check out the property. He was so nice and accomodating. He personally showed me around the property, including the piano bar area, restaurant, rooms and owners suite. We ended up staying in the suite which was a perfect place for my mom and I to unwind and just enjoy each other's company. The staff at the restaurant were so nice and treated us like royalty. The bartenders were also so friendly. Exceptional personal service from everyone we encountered. These people actually took time to visit with us -- a rarity in a big city! Located right on the square, minutes from a ton of great little shops. Wish we could've stayed longer. A beautiful place, wonderful staff and fabulous care. What a great experience.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank luckylady10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews