We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Casazul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casazul
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Paid $35 for a spacious room with A/C, balcony directly overlooking the lake (amazing sunset). Very clean. As it's right in town you can wander around and pick whichever restaurant you fancy. Tikal tour buses stop by to pick you up in the morning. Nothing fancy of course, but nothing to complain about either, so if you are looking for a cheap place to stay without compromising on quality/experience, this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maerev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

I stayed here for one night only. Friendly enough service. Flores is so small that any location is a good one. My room faced the street, which was okay although a little loud at times. Not enough to warrant leaving. There are rooms at the back of the hotel which overlook the lake. I did not see one of these rooms, but I know the view from their balconies would be great. My room was quite large, but dark (lots of dark blue).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

This hotel was a good choice for us. The staff was warm and friendly, although you need to know some Spanish - which is to be expected in a Spanish speaking country. We were lucky enough to get one of the two rooms on the third floor that were on the back side of the hotel. This meant the wonderful third floor porch overlooking the lake was right outside our door. This made our experience .... I am not sure I would have been as happy with any of the other rooms, esp facing the street. The hotel is older and has no pool, no restaurant and has instant coffee available in the common area, but we were only there for two days and we were so busy with going to Tikal and such that these were not issues for us. As for location, Flores is so small you can walk the whole town in less than a half hour so almost any location is good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NanaMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I stayed in this hotel in Flores for three nights in November, 2008. It is run by the same company that runs other hotels on the island (Hotel Peten, La Casona de la Isla) and has the same general access to tours to Tikal and the other surrounding sites.

Good points: Good location on Flores island (down the street from the restaurants and shops), clean rooms, air conditioning, very pleasant third floor veranda overlooking the lake, reasonably priced.
Bad points: Dimly lit rooms, no elevator, staff on site spoke very little english (although they can arrange tours), no safe in room.

Overall, I thought that the Hotel Casazul was a good value; at least as nice as the hotel in Antigua, but at half the price.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drydenofasturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

There are lots of hotels in Flores but it's often difficult to find a room as they fill up pretty rapidly during the day. One of the best deals in town is the Casazul. As its name implies, the hotel, a converted colonial house, is painted in various shades of blue, inside and out...including the lovely rooms. Most of them have an outside balcony/patio looking over the lake, with lovely views. The place is spotlessly clean throughout. Rooms come equiped with a/c and a minibar, which is a nice touch as you can enjoy a cool drink on the patio and watch the fantastic sunsets. They serve free (and excellent!) coffee all day as well as free internet. The hotel also accepts most credit cards. All in all, a very good deal!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fatevi dare una stanza con vista lago, sennò meglio se cambiate hotel (!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riverman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Milamafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles_de_Peten, Propietario at Hotel Casazul, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casazul

Address: Calle La Union | Isla de Flores, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: £40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casazul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful and cute curbside house turned hotel with 9 rooms and a terrace to fall in love with Flores’ sunsets. Located in Flores island, 5 minutes away from the international airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. Recently in June 2017, the hotel was awarded Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence Award based on our unique service and the positive experiences shared by our guests. Casazul hotel is located on the lakeside street, 5 minutes by foot from any of the Island’s active spots. Our location allows us to enjoy peace , quiet and privacy yet at the same time being close enough to walk 5 minutes to any place in the Island. Rooms feature either lake views or street views. All rooms feature A/C and/or ceiling fans, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Peten and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing