We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Tucan hotel”
Review of Hotel Sabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sabana
Ranked #3 of 15 Flores B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“a Tucan hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

stayed here after Hotel China House in Caye Caulker then Hotel Iguana in San Ignacio, Belize, on a Tucan tour Cancun to Antigua (Guatemala). Both were good but China House has NO elevator. On/off wifi by pool, little crabs walking around, iffy breakfast. Caye Caulker is small. I would not recommend walking alone after dark. We went to a bonfire put on by Jerry & Vito of Ragamuffin tours, with whom we did a snorkeling/catamaran trip which was awesome and swam with whale sharks and had a great fish lunch! Hotel Iguana had a great pool, but a hot 30 min walk from town. You do get to cross over the river, which is a lovely refreshing swim but watch the current.
Sabana has no elevator either, so noisy dragging suitcases up and down the stairs. wifi in lobby, slow little restaurant, rooms small but nice little balcony overlooking the town and laundry across street. Flores quite nice to walk around. The hotel outside of Tikal ruins (can't recall the name) has a stunning pool, great restaurant and dock to the lake to swim in Lake Peten. It's a lovely area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    38
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
32
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flores, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I was excited to treat myself and spend a little bit more once I got to Flores. I was excited about having wifi and a pool. When I arrived there was only wifi in the reception area, not in my room and not in any of the spaces facing the water. What a disappointment, I wanted to work with a view and could not, When I complained about this the staff couldn't care less.
I asked for a wake up call at 2:30 am to see the Tikal ruins at sunset. They said no problem and I watched them write it down and stick the note on the desk. I NEVER got the call. The guy laughed and said sorry as though it were no big deal! I could have missed the tour and lost out on that money.
I would never stay here again and advise against to any one. The staff was not friendly or helpful. They advertise WIFI when they do not have it. The pool and view were nice, though I do not think the pool was kept up. There are several better and cheaper hotels all around Flores.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kari562625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flores hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
193 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Situated close to the water. Rooms were spacious and not too bad. Hot water was intermittent at best. There was mention of happy hour at the bar downstairs but when we asked it seemed as though it didnt exist. Pool was nice. Staff were average.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anhemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I haven't seen any other hotels in Flores but this is the most overpriced place ($45 a night for a double) we've stayed in Central America. I guess the old friendly staff left. Rooms are definitely basic with old pillows and mattresses and our room with a lake view had no wifi. Location on the water is nice but every other hotel here is also on the water.

Room Tip: Only the rooms closest to the lobby have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Rooms are basic and not too attractive, but has AC, fan, TV, hot water and towels.
We had pretty small room with no window, and it felt mossy when we turned the AC on.
The pool is great, and the view over the lake is beautiful. Location is great as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moranshanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashaway, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

With no reservation they were able to accomodate us. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake. There was a band playing by the lake on Sunday evening. However by 10PM it was over and we were able to get a good nights rest. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newengland83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Hotel Sabana was recommended by our guides who took us to Tikal. Rooms are somewhat dated, but well equipped with cable, hot water, balcony and air conditioning. There is a great pool area with beautiful views of Lake Peten. Close proximity to restaurants and stores, then again Flores is quite tiny! The staff here are friendly and helpful.
I would recommend staying here, you won't find the bells and whistles but you won't pay for them either!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adagal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabana

Property: Hotel Sabana
Address: Calle Fraternidad-Union | Calle Fraternidad-Union, Flores 0000, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sabana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern end of the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing