We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hot find in a beautiful hotspot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaltunha Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chaltunha Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A hot find in a beautiful hotspot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Chaltunha is run by Neil and his family. I stayed here while travelling around Central America and after a complication on arrival in Flores, Neil put me up for three nights; one in his hostel in the centre of Flores, and then two in this glorious retreat overlooking the town of Flores. The rooms are not like normal hostel rooms, the little stilted log cabins line the back of the beautiful garden, housing a clean and pretty pool, a hammock station and plenty of wildlife. My initial worry was that it was in San Miguel, not the quaint village of Flores, but the frequent 4 minute boat rides make the place as accessible as anywhere in town. A very welcome bar (and the best breakfast I have had on my trip so far) topped off a brilliant overall stay. Go visit it and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMartin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    41
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
2
52
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My niece and I stayed at the hostel in San Miguel for 2 nights. We had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the boat ride across the lake to get there and the view was absolutely spectacular. The accommodations were clean as were the bathrooms and surrounding property. We essentially had the pool to ourselves when we used it and it was nice and refreshing after a day out and about in the heat. Neil and Beatriz were perfect hosts. They are wonderful to chat with, very welcoming and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else the next time I'm in Flores!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharpAsATack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We recently stayed at both of Neil and his wife's hostels in Flores, there is one on the island and one in San Miguel. Both are brilliant but the one in San Miguel is absolutely breath taking! It is a short boat ride from the island (literally 5 minutes, 75p each way per person) and then a walk up the hill (good for the legs!) but once there all I can say is wow! You overlook all of Flores, the view is breath taking and the accomodation basic but clean and good value for money. There is a pool, hammock chill out area and the food up there is really nice and affordable, the happy hour a bargain! :) all in all definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Thee are roosters on the property but Neil gives you ear plugs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Niel is a cool host, helping with everything he can. Even pick you up in hotel i Flores.
The view is brilliant and I like the idea of sailing into town every day.
Tour prices wash´t the best, but the service was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan0wich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Chaltunha Hostel, San Miguel in february for 3 nights. It was everything we expected to be and even more! The view speaks for itself, absolutely amazing. The owner was the perfect host! He picked us up, offered to help us arrange tours and was constanly aware of our comfort. We would have loved to stay even longer! The restaurant made great meals for a reasonable price. It was an experience to sleep so far away from the usual street noises, and instead be able to listen to all the voices of the surrounding nature and animals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed on the San Miguel Island. The place is absolutely beautiful and isolated so u can pretty much do what you want. Unbelievable views for chilling, consistent, fast wifi, decent food and really good value drinks. Beds comfy and the swimming pool was spotlessly clean. Remember to bring your bug spray!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I would write very positive words about the owner,and the view from the therrace.
But in general i didnt like the place at all,i think it was the most unusual place that i have stayed.
Why? Well if you stay here you will know why......
This is not a hostel.There is no common area,no kitchen to use.So if you dont like to go across the lake and pay always for the boat transportation,you will have to buy food from their restaurant.
You cant even drink your own beer on the therrace,because you didnt buy it from them.
The accomodation is in cottages on wooden piles.When you sleep if someone turns in his bed all the house is moving,its bit unstable.There is no glass windows on the walls,only nets so the flyes cant get in,so when you sleep (or trying to) you hear the speaking from the next door.One night it was rainy so all night you hear the rain from the room which is made from i think truck tarps/plastic so no sound proof isolation.There is only 2 bathrooms and showers outside which are common for few cottages each with 3-5 beds. i wake up in 5 am to ask the neighbor to shut down the music that he played loud since 5AM! There is many dogs and roosters that you can hear all night again because "there is no normal windows"
Wi-Fi available only at the resaturant area,not in the sleeping place which is 100m away.At night its very dark,once i felt down because of this on the path which is heading to the cottages. Its cheap place to stay but its not wort the money if you dont have proper sleep. i feel like sleeping in "camp"

Room Tip: All are same,you will feel as sleeping outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
After reading this review. I can only say this didn't like our hostel. Sorry for the inconvenience. We now have a hostel on Flores Island for guests who don't like to be close to nature. Thanks for your response. Sorry once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
2.4 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Green World Hotel
Green World Hotel
#11 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostel Yaxha
Hostel Yaxha
#5 of 23 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaltunha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaltunha Hostel

Property: Chaltunha Hostel
Address: San Miguel, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaltunha Hostel is a family operated hostel in Flores, Guatemala. Born with the idea of share our little paradise with all the travelers who will enjoy the outdoors and rural lodgings.Built in 2005, Chaltunha Hostel offers a diversity of accommodations bungalow type. Each on elevated floorboards with well-ventilated canvas roofs, and full screens. You can enjoy peaceful relaxation on your private sheltered porch, while viewing the undisturbed tropical forest. Comfortable beds with clean linens, pillows, towels and blankets will assure a good night’s rest after a fun-filled adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Chaltunha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing