We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most tranquil wildlife spot in Guatemala”

Las Guacamayas Biological Station
Ranked #6 of 15 things to do in Flores
Attraction details
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most tranquil wildlife spot in Guatemala”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As a wildlife biologist I have been working with Las Guacamayas Biological Station since 2012 and have spent many months over the last two years working in the forests around the station. The wildlife is plentiful and abundant, the staff are welcoming and the place is one of the most tranquil places I have ever been to. Watching sunset over the Rio San Pedro from the bedrooms is an experience I will never tire of!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Amazing experience !”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was lucky enough to spend two weeks in June at the station.
The place is amazing! I was on a herpetological expedition, the diversity and abundance of species we found was astounding! The Station is very well equipped and maintained in a breathtakingly beautiful setting. The staff are very friendly and helpful, i am proud to call them my friends!
I would recommend this place to anyone what ever your interests it will not fail to impress you.
Thanks a million guys I hope to come back and see you all again soon.
Ady - England

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ady F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Experience Worth Having”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

With friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and stunning sights Las Guacamayas is a must a place well worth visiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Takosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to experience the forests of Guatemala”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at Las Guacamayas for two weeks as part of a volunteer project, and I was very happy with it. The food was lovely, the lodgings were simple but comfortable, and the people onsite are very friendly and enthusiastic (knowing some Spanish is useful) - but of course, the real appeal is the setting. Not only is it incredibly picturesque, but there is wildlife of all sorts everywhere - the birds and howler monkeys are the most obvious around the station, but there's plenty more to find when you look. I also enjoyed the sensation of being away from civilisation - it's a very peaceful place, though a little less so when the howler monkeys are roaring! Very highly recommended for wildlife enthusiasts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A superb and surprising place in the middle of the jungle.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a great getaway. Very comfortable, great food, quiet, incredible birdwatching. A lot of nature, animals -if you have some luck- you can even see a Jaguar -or many-. In the middle of the jungle. Great riverfront.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank amadorafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Guacamayas Biological Station also viewed

Flores, Peten Department
Flores, Peten Department
 
Flores, Peten Department
 

Been to Las Guacamayas Biological Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing