We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at it's Best”
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nature at it's Best”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a find deep in the rain forest. OK. The food is not gourmet, but very nice. The service was friendly and helpful. But yes, you might find a bug or bugs in your room, but YOU ARE in the middle of a Guatemala forest and the Villa is very Eco friendly. But the rooms are clean and comfortable with AC. Each room has a balcony with a view that beats any thing you will see on television. Miles of nature trails with monkeys, birds, etc. The sound was music to my ears. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Beautiful pool that overlooks the lake and next to the bar. I would recommend this lovely place to anyone that would like a very special experience.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views than ground level. Bring you binoculars. We did not have issues with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    108
    29
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
97
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during "Semana Santa" with some friends. There was a special price because of the high season that included breakfasts and dinners.

The hotel was very easy to find surrounded by a private natural reserve. We arrived at night and were happy to find our rooms with A-C. The rooms aren't that impressive, they have no TV and the lock of our room's door was not working so it had to be fixed late at night. The remote for the A-C was not working either but it was quickly fixed.

The next morning I went for a run in the middle of the jungle inside the hotel. There are 2 small lagoons surrounding the hotel and we even saw a crocodile!

The food was very good and tasty and the personnel was friendly and helpful and even gave us some tips to visit the Mayan ruins.

Overall the prices are good and the hotel is very nice surrounded by beautiful natural landscapes, 15 minutes away from Flores in your way to Tikal.

I'm not giving 5 stars only because we couldn't lock our door during the first night! I guess this doesn't happen that often.

Room Tip: If you like jogging-walking there are some nice paths inside the hotel area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhobbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A great Eco hotel down a long track close to the airport. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Bar staff a little slow to serve. Food average.
A great stopover for Tikal, lovely pool near the lake.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janclem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel, for tourists en route to Yaxha ruins. Many of the rooms are a long walk to the main building and dining area. Since this was going to be a rugged trip, all these factors were considered.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much all the same...adequate, clean but lacking many amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xnyrnkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Set down a long lane and overlooking a lake and it feels quite remote yet it is only 15 mins from the airport and local town. Our room was a good size it had a balcony with no real view although many others did have ones over the lake. The room was clean, a good size, nothing special but nothing to complain about. The pool area and loungers had good views out over the lake which has some wildlife to keep you entertained. It also has free wifi in this area. The restaurant food and service was a little mixed but again nothing to complain about. It also has a nature trail which was very pleasant. We were on an organised small group tour and this fit the bill for a 2 night stay perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here in February while visiting the ruins of Tikal. Property has wonderful views with walkway on different sides of the lake. Large pool and nice dining area and bar all in the open. All rooms face the lake and I think all have a terrace. Rooms are large with good furnishings. This place is so remote with travelers from all over the world and I can see why. Best of all this place is very reasonable with breakfast included. It is worth getting the AC. Very pleased with this place.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor. Floors are wooden and we had people who were moving the furniture around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave277-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Maya Villa, on either end of our six night trip into the Guatemalan jungle. In fact, we had planned to stay at a place that was closer to the airport for the final night of our trip, but decided instead, to stay at Maya Villa again, as we had enjoyed our 1st night there. The room we had for both nights (#201), was clean, and on the first floor, overlooking a lagoon. The beds were comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and was warm. The room had air conditioning if you needed it and a small refrigerator with water, soda and beer. The pool was clean and refreshing, with lots of opportunity for sunbathing. There is a lovely, although small, gift shop, which had some locally made crafts and t-shirts. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and she was able to arrange our transport to the airport on our final morning. We were also able to secure transport to Maya Villa from the airport, on-line, prior to our trip, which was free of charge. Ironically the transfer back to the airport, was an added charge.

On the Maya Villa grounds, there is an area where one can walk to see Macaws, on the hill in between the circling cabana buildings. There is also a short trail in the back of the property, where we could hear Howler monkeys in the distance. For breakfast, we enjoyed watching a resident crocodile ("cocodrillo"), swim over to the area below the restaurant, (on the other side of the fence!), where he sat waiting for any treats that may come his way.

The food at the restaurant was very good, although perhaps a bit more pricey than what we are used to. The shrimp dish I had on one of the nights, sautéed with butter and garlic, was simply awesome. And on our final morning, the restaurant which opens at 6am, was able to prepare a lovely hot breakfast for us, before we left. The hotel was located at most, a half hour from the Flores airport.

There were a lot of mosquitoes in the evening, given the proximity to the lagoon, so it is important to bring both mosquito repellant and an after-bite spray, as it is impossible to avoid all of the mosquitoes.

I suppose our only recommendation would be in securing a room on the other side from where we were, (i.e. #201). Our cabana was situated closer to the pool area. As we had an early flight out, we attempted to go to bed at around 9pm, and we did hear some noise from the pool area. It was not extreme by any means, and when we shut our windows, we did not hear anything. We also did not hear any noise on our first night, but then we had gone to sleep much later. Additionally, a second floor room may have even nicer views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathermci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
1.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
209 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
341 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Property: Villa Maya
Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing