We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed 8 January 2012

As others have commented, this hotel looks great as soon as you step inside and it is in a good location. However it's more like a budget motel, with the rooms being no more than adequate and they are pretty shabby in many ways. There's not a lot of space, the windows are small and the bathroom is basic, although the shower was good. On the positive side, it was clean, there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms and breakfast is fine. It's also only a 10 minute ride from the airport. From looking around, it may be as good as it gets in Flores, which despite its guidebook descriptions, has little going for it other than a pretty location on the lake and proximity to Tikal. There are a few colonial style buildings, but it's generally shabby and can be discovered in less than an hour. It can also be extremely noisy at night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel itself is nice and reasonably priced. There is air conditioning, hot water, wifi, a pool and TV in the room. The room was clean, although the quality of the plumbing in the bathroom could have been better.

My main critique is that the rooms are very dark. The windows are small and you have to switch on the light even during the day. Apart from that everything was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Simple and charming, nothing fancy, but a great place to rest after hiking up and down the pyramids at Tikal all day, which is about an hour and 15 minutes away by car depending on how many guinea fowls cross the road. The restaurant food was good and had a great selection of aged rum, one was 30 years old! The town of Flores which is an island in the middle of a dormant volcanic lake is charming as well. Many little shops and markets, not as touristy as you would expect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LXGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

On a recent tour, on which 6 of the 7 hotels we stayed at were very good to excellent, this stood out as being the WORST by far. Within 24 hours of our arrival, 15 of 16 members of our group became ill. The man/woman owners/managers could have cared less. The waiters were disinterested. The restaurant was nearly 90 degrees- at breakfast. It was the pits. Don't go there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drpjfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Our rental car failed to show up at the border when we crossed from Belize. Therefore, we got a ride into Flores and was unable to continue on to Tikal until the next day when we could pick up the rental car. The bus stopped at this hotel so we decided to stay the night. The room was extremely basic but the a/c was refreshing. We only paid $57 for the night so we couldn't expect much..... The pool looked nice and the food we had for dinner was decent and plentiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is not a bad place to stay if you need to stay in Flores.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Stayed for one night at Casona de La Isla after our trip to Tikal. The hotel provided a clean room, hot water showers and good air conditioning in the very pretty island-city of Flores. It was along the lake and across the street was the public dock of Flores (pretty sunset).

The price was reasonable (US $57/night) and the place provided good value and a comfortable place to sleep. There was a small hot tub and pool which were good to use in the heat of Peten. It was walkable to many nice restaurants (that said, the whole island of Flores is pretty walkable - you can circle the whole thing in 20 minutes).

Our room was the corner room with a window facing the lake. Pretty.

Overall, I recommend a stay in this hotel when you are in the pretty town of Flores.

Room Tip: Snag the corner room with a window facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishna_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed here one night and found the hotel really well located on the island. The island itself is not very big in any case but the hotel had a nice view.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, with hot water.
I dont think this hotel has private parking, but has a swimming pool that we didn't use.
If we go through Flores again one day we will come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafaelshumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
231 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#7 of 16 in Flores
199 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Address: Calle 30 de junio | Isla de Flores, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: £51 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona de La Isla is located lakeside featuring Caribbean architecture giving the hotel a sense of true hospitality and privacy. 26 rooms and a refreshing pool are ready to welcome you in Petén. Located on Flores Island, 5 minutes away from the International airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. The outside pool and Jacuzzi are simply one of the preferred areas for guests in a mix of options that include a bar, restaurant, etc. It’s location on Flores island is simply privileged, as it is just in the middle of the lakeside street; a location perfect to enjoy some of the most unique sunsets in the world. Rooms enjoy views of the lake and/or pool. All rooms have A/C, TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Petén and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing