We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good hotel experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casona de la Isla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flores
jef-ind
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“a good hotel experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spent one night here as part of an inclusive Tikal tour package booked through Turismo Aventura. Very pleased with the experience overall. The hotel is nicely located on the west side of Flores with nice lake views from the balcony and the pool area. The hotel's back door gives direct access to the lakeside promenade where there were a number of restaurants and food stalls. Very nice sunset views. Common areas were pleasant and well appointed. Our room was small but had everything we needed. A/C was old and a bit noisy but did the job. Staff were attentive and helpful and there always seemed to be someone who spoke English. They arranged a reasonably priced lake tour for our afternoon. The highlight was breakfast. There were a number of choices of interesting breakfasts. My daughter had a egg-tortilla-bean dish and I had a chicken-tortilla dish with a kind of mole sauce that was excellent, served with fresh ice-cold papaya juice and good coffee. Really a nice way to start the day and included in the package. Even though it seemed to be a rather slow time in Flores, I gathered that the hotel was full. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jef-ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    122
    56
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
99
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is right on the lake and I just finished watching a beautiful sunset from a chair just outside my room. The pool was wonderful to cool off in and there are many nice restaurants to choose from nearby. As many people said, the rooms have AC as well. It is a lovely hotel and I am quite content with what I get for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klawbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Petén and Tikal. The Isla is just beautiful only takes about -0 minutes to walk around although they have loads of beautiful shops that make that walk a little longer ;) the hotel room was spacious beds comfy shower was lovely even had a little visitor in the form of a little lizard. Breakfast was to die for I had traditional breakfast black beans eggs and tortillas it doesn't get any better. Wifi is good. View to die for. Reception girls very friendly. Hotel overall very clean. Can get noisey with the bars nearby but wasn't really an issue it died down quite quickly.

Room Tip: Face the lake it's beautiful at sunrise and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCorbishley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was a solid choice for Flores. It was well located, had a nice pool, and very friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious, and it was next door to another great restaurant. You should not expect luxury, as the room was dated, but clean, and the bed was hard as a rock. It was an enjoyable stay and easy for us to access Tikal the following morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRob147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really appreciated that they let me check in at 8.30am in the morning after an early flight from Guatemala City. I expected to simply leave my bags and have to wait until late afternoon. After staying in several low-mid-priced hotels in Guatemala, this was the first with air conditioning which is an absolute must because of the humidity. Rooms are small and clean, view is great and the pool is pretty nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed one night here the end of April 2014. The location is great. The pool was nice and the room was fine-quite small but fine for our needs. We stayed in a room that had 2 beds (full/double, not queen). The included breakfast was good. Right outside the hotel in the evening food vendors set up tables and sold locally made guatemalan food. We were adventuresome and tried a few things! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, reasonably priced and breakfast is included where you can choose anything from the menu. The ladies at reception dont speak much english but you can get by. The majority of the rooms face the nice pool, the aircon is a little noisy but you get aircon, so no complaints there. Wifi drops in and out. There are ladies with food stalls that set up in the evenings just outside the hotel by the lake that sell tostadas with a huge variety of toppings, plus homemade sweets, very cheap!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahAmyReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#6 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Property: Hotel Casona de la Isla
Address: Calle 30 de junio | Isla de Flores, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Island of Flores on the shores of Lake Peten Itza. It has 26 rooms with air conditioning , cable TV and private bathroom. Also offers the services of restaurant and bar, pool and jacuzzi , laundry , safe deposit boxes , free WIFI and conference room for up to 35 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing