We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Good Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casona del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casona del Lago
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Good Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The place was a pleasant surprise, not what we expected from a Hotel in that area. Rooms are nice and clean, however a few things to take note

1. The smell of sewage can be offensive at times.
2. There are two types of rooms, we did not know that, our friends stayed in the newer area, great rooms with flat screen TV and everything. Our room was older, clean, nice but a little humid. TV quite old, nice view.
3. Towels are very limited, you have to ask for more in the front desk
4. Restaurant service is quite slow

That said, we{d go there again, it is a good deal, at a good location and a good price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
65
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is one of the newest and most expensive hotels on The Flores area, but it is across the lake from Flores. Flores is where you really want to stay. It is much more quiet than in the city proper. In addition, all of the old-world charm is in Flores. Be sure to go to the square by the church at night. You might catch a pretty good basketball game.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTraveller157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Nice hotel right on lake and within walking distance of Flores where there are lots of restaurants. The rooms were big, nice flat screen TV, 2 double beds.  Only complaint, the bottom sheet must have been a twin and you constantly ended up sleeping on the mattress.  Same complaint from others in our group who slept there. They had free wifi in the room.

We stayed here while visiting Tikal and Yaxha. Be sure to visit them both!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We paid extra for a triple room for three adults, but had to ask for the third set of towels and third water glass. They refused to give us a third bottle of water without an extra charge. We asked to change money as per the sign at the reception desk, but staff was unsure whether they could accommodate us either that day or the next day. The location is not ideal for tourists walking at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
376 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

The hotel sits on the shores of Lake Petén Itza. The rooms are basic with standard breakfast fare; no buffet. The u-shaped hotel offers travelers a great view at sunrise or sunet. The small pool is in the courtyard. The internet is available for a fee but on the honor system across from the front desk although I don't think they mind for a quick email. It is a long walk (20 minutes) to the town over the bridge, but it is a very enjoyable, highly recommended walk.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwjwjwjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed here for a total of four nights interrupted by a two day trip to Ceibal & Aguateca. This "U" shaped hotel is located on the edge of Lake Peten in Santa Elena very near the causeway to Flores and clearly isn't very old.
Pros: - Clean, fairly large rooms, pleasant view. The reception staff willingly stored our main baggage for the night we were away on our two day tour. No problem moving to a quieter room (room 301 at the end of one leg of the "U" closest to the lake) when requested. Swimming pool
Cons:- The hotel is used by tour groups which can result in early awakening first by the ringing of wake up calls and then by wheeled baggage being trundled past. The service in the restaurant is very slow - even to get a drink; initially we thought this was because of the large tour groups but it wasn't any better when there was no-one else around. Only limited English was spoken by any of the staff... I know we don't speak much Spanish either but in Panajachel and Antigua the majority of the staff spoke English. Given the presence of the tour groups - they perhaps need to get some bilingual staff - English and French being an obvious need.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ås
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Large rooms, nice beds, good shower, clean and pleasant. Great TV, but no minibar or fridge at the room. Its located a 10 min walk from the Flores Island, at the shore of the lake just across the bridge. Or a 5 Q boattrip. One drawback was the smell of sewage from the shore of the lake due to an outlet very close to the hotel. Some traffic noice from the road behind the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltopalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Lago

Property: Hotel Casona del Lago
Address: Calle Litoral, Santa Elena, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casona del Lago located in Santa Elena, Petén. It is a new concept inspired by Caribbean architecture from various cities. It combines a tropical style with very special details to offer the guest a unique comfort and relaxation ambiance. Hotel Casona del Lago offers 48 rooms with air conditioned, private bathroom, TV, Conference Room, Free Wifi, pool and jacuzzi, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casona del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Lago Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing