We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casona del Lago
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

very clean place, walking distance from Flores Island, extremely friendly staff
rooms a bit basic ( no fridge) but most of them have a nice view on the lake
room and bathroom very clean
staff at reception very friendly

had to call them one night at midnight, some noisy family still jumping in the pool and shouting

I think 11 pm should be last limit for using the pool

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    52
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
75
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

OK place if you're just passing through and just need a place to rest your head. The construction is new and the materials are very "plastic" and showing a lot of wear. The beds had no mattress pads and the sheets were a very low count and consequently very thin. Beware of the step down from the bath/luggage area....I took a nasty fall. Fortunately we had a lake view room and could bird watch from our balcony. You can walk into Flores or take a tuk tuk. The staff was pleasant. We were tired and opted to eat in the in-house restaurant which was OK but paled in comparison to other places we had been on this trip.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the building. Try to get a lakeside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtm221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

room was clean with double beds and adequate bath facilities. the breakfast buffet quite nice and served early for those headed to tikal (90 minute drive) -- thank you for that!! staff very polite and helpful AND apologized in advance for any noise from disco (two night weekend stay), but didn't hear anything as my rooms was upstairs on the far side of hotel -- no worries: they have an elevator!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lakeside view is nice, but the hotel is a big box with no charm, and right next to a very loud disco. Staff not particularly friendly, rooms devoid of charm, and hotel caters to families so the under-sized pool is filled with screaming children (if you are a screaming child, you will love this hotel). The only redeeming feature is the view of the lake, and only if you get one of those rooms. Not in Flores itself, on the outskirts in Santa Elena so location not great.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, make sure to get a lakeview room, and top floor (to avoid pool noise) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldProwler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights during our visit to Tikal Mayan site. Very helpful staff - everyone spoke competent English (we don't speak Spanish at all). They helped us cancel a tour (Roxy's Tikal tour does not list its phone number - a major hassle), recommended restaurants, arranged transportation, etc. For our early (5 am) bus departure they also prepared breakfast boxes which was appreciated. Flores is small and quaint, safe to walk around. The only thing to watch out for is their very tricky air conditioner's remote control - it is nonintuitive how to turn it off (you'd think you've seen them all after visiting 54 countries)!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-Ali94025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Sort of like a Holiday Inn. Clean, modern, new feeling. If you are coming here as a tourist, then I would stay on the island. From this hotel you have to walk over a long causeway with narrow walk for pedestrians. I mean like single file walking, or you might get run over. Not very confinement to walk this bridge every time you want to get a meal or see the town. I liked the town of flores and preferred staying in the town. For being so close, it has a very different feel then the are of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecanoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is the best hotel option if you want to be near Flores but don't care if you're in Flores. It's only a walk across the bridge or short tuk-tuk ride away to get to Flores. However, there is nothing to do near or around the hotel here. So, you need to weight what you want in your stay - a somewhat crappy hotel but in the heart of dining options and trinket shopping and safety? Or a much nicer hotel but you're pretty much limited to the confines of the hotel? If you're there on a brief business trip, then I would say go with this place. If you've got a few days, stay in Flores. The food here was overpriced and definitely nothing special - it would get exhausting to have several meals in a row here. The highlight of the stay is the pool and feeling like you are in a tropical land. Wifi in the room and in the pool area/restaurant was strong and consistent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaegerbombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
306 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
12.1 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Lago

Property: Hotel Casona del Lago
Address: Calle Litoral, Santa Elena, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casona del Lago located in Santa Elena, Petén. It is a new concept inspired by Caribbean architecture from various cities. It combines a tropical style with very special details to offer the guest a unique comfort and relaxation ambiance. Hotel Casona del Lago offers 48 rooms with air conditioned, private bathroom, TV, Conference Room, Free Wifi, pool and jacuzzi, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casona del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Lago Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing