We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fine, as usual!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very fine, as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Not much to write, other than the place keeps being excellent. Rooms, after more than 10 years, start being a little "tired" but not really bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    1,275
    402
    119
    67
See reviews for
664
1,711
449
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Location of the Sofitel is virtually across a 2 lane airport road into the Lobby. Other Athens airport hotels would require a taxi as they are a bit further. If you are not going to be staying in Athens anyway, but are thinking twice on the price, consider the price of getting a round trip taxi into Athens 45 minutes and E70.00 + or the subway is less of course. So the value is there.
The hotel is very modern, clean and staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Couldn't ask for much more.
If you aren't wanting a big meal, you could alway goes back into the airport departure lounge and there is a little food court which is very good!
So if you can only pass through Athens (which would be a shame) this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel is rated at 5 stars, but I give it a 4 star rating due to it's age. Hotel is very well kept and is spotless, but the hallways leading to rooms look old. Rooms are very nice and the service is excellent. Hotel's restaurant serves excellent food with waiter service or serve yourself with the open buffet. I recommend the buffet because the food is very good and the desert is great. I must have put on a couple pounds from non-stop eating. I recommend this hotel if you arrive late in Greece and have a early flight the next morning like I did. Hotel is directly across the street from the main terminal and I don't think it is no more than 30 feet to the front entrance. Hotel can be seen from inside the airport. Very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My flight from Santorini to Athens was postponed and we could not catch our flight to Istanbul. Stayed at the Sofitel in Athens. The best decision we made. Everything was comfortable, design was modern. Bathrooms were beautiful and luxurious. Service was perfect. Price tag that came with it was worth it. We were recharged and simply crossed the road and we were in the airport. Beautiful hotel and will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shehnazlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We booked on-line and got a discount. We are a family of five (one under 12) so we had two rooms for a one night stopover. It was so easy to just walk over from the airport (with airport trolley - you can drop them off or pick one up from outside hotel). The best thing was no taxi (or fares) needed! For dinner - we walked across to airport where there was a lot of shops to choose from. We even were able to pick up cereal/milk for breakfast from a shop there. The rooms came with coffee making facilities, fridge, l'octaine toiletries and a fantastic shower! Staff were lovely too. So well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hills5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We loved that the hotel is literally across the street from the departure and arrival terminal; very quick and convenient! In fact we ate at the airport because the food was so expensive (and, at least at lunch, the service was so slow). The pool was very pleasant, and we particularly liked being able to take a nice dip before getting on the plane for a long ride. Comfortable beds and pillows, well-equipped room. First-class service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I think many people stay here because it is literally at the airport. It was very nice to get your bags and just walk outside and see the hotel right in front of you. I do think the hotel was expensive for the age of te property. We went to see the acropolis from the hotel and it was easy to catch the train right from the airport but it was a pretty long ride, maybe 40 mins if you include waiting time. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very nice but on the small side. We decided to stay here for the convince to the airport and slightly out of fear of staying in the Athens city center. Athens city center was actually not scary but it did look pretty dirty, so I was good with not staying in the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing