We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    1,360
    432
    126
    71
See reviews for
716
1,838
474
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have used this hotel on numerous occasions - it makes early flights very easy with only a short walk (1min) to the main terminal building. Rooms are good but starting to show a little wear but this should not put you off. Restaurant/bar expensive but ok. Overall this is a good airport hotel but not inexpensive. There are no real hotel alternatives (Holiday Inn perhaps) if you want to be on the airport doorstep. Staff are good, polite and professional. Best to book a long way in advance to have better rates - otherwise £££ ouch! If you have time (not an early morning flight) stay in central Athens and splurge on Grande Bretagne ££££ or others where you will find better value. You pay for location and Sofitel branding/classic quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Sofitel Athens Airport and for having taken the time to share you experiences with us. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located in the airport area for early morning flights. Additionally, we were happy to learn that you always enjoy the politeness and professionalism of our staff. As far as your remark for our prices in general is concerned, we wish to reassure you that our staff does continuous efforts in order for our prices to reflect the quality and standards expected from a five stars hotel. We thank you once again for your constructive feedback and look forward to your next visits to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This fall I took my wife and my mother in law for a lengthy time through Europe with Greece being our anchor. I should also mention that my wife and my mother in law are Greek which was a huge advantage during our stay in Greece, unfortunate;y however with one exception. That being our last night's stay at The Sofitel Athen's airport hotel.

Because our stay was only to be a few hours (we knowingly arrived at midnight and had a 3:00 AM wake up) we had requested 1 room with two double beds. However upon arrival the hotel refused to accept 3 in one room (even when I offered to pay a premium) and forced me to purchase two rooms, sighting company policy. Worse, the receptionist decided to aggressively argue the point in Greek with my mother in law, regardless that I was the paying customer card.

Needless to say things went down hill from there. In fact, the service was so bad that I need not mention the over price (expected) or the beyond standard room.

Doddsy

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel with your family in September and were sorry to learn that your overall experience on your last night in Greece as well as the Sofitel's accommodation policy did not meet your expectations. Kindly be reassured that not only in terms of policy but also due to the fact that our hotel provides double rooms and suites, we always suggest our guests, upon reservation, to book either two connecting rooms or a suite whenever the accommodation need has to do with a family. Moreover, as per the local authorities, we are in no case allowed to accommodate families of 3 adults in one Double room. We thank you once again for your feedback which helps us better understand your expectations and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Extremely comfortable room (we got an upgrade) with superb bed and soft sheets. Easy metro train ride to Syntagma Sq; 45 mins to the center of Athens. Less than 2 mins walk to airline check ins - ideal for those 6 am departures.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 2zimba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your warm words of appreciation following your stay in our hotel. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next stays in our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had evening service to Athens form Corfu and connecting flight next day at 9.30. Sofitel is the only hotel close to airport. Was very surprised how close is it. Next surprise was at check-in counter. We got free room upgrade. We stayed in several hotels in Greece before. All of them had very outdated bathrooms. Here were smth very special: bathtub + rainforest shower. Beds and lining very comfortable. No sounds from outside. The only drawback is quality of free internet. Just forget it or pay extra if you really need it.
Did not take breakfast here. May be next stay,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel while on a stopover in Athens and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the soundproofing of our rooms, the comfort of our beds as well the bathroom/shower area design. We do value your patronage and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD,CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel has aged and they haven't done any repairs. We stayed there because it's very convenient next to the airport, but this past summer the room we stayed had stained carpet and the shower was moldy and looked dirty. That's unacceptable for 200 euros a night. I guess next time we'll have to try the Holiday Inn 5 miles away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y2kbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel in September. Our hotel is indeed ideally located in the Athens Airport area. We were sorry to learn, however, that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the condition of the carpet and the shower area. Please be reassured that your complaint on those matters has been brought to the attention of our Responsible Managers for further improvements. We thank you once again for your constructive feedback and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment and regain your confidence in us on a next stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,571 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing