We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just your average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just your average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited Greece with friends this july. My first ever trip to Europe. I was warned that you had to lug your own luggage and fend for your own self because you know its Europe. Sofitel Athens Airport as the name suggests is just across the airport. You can walk out of departure and straight into the lobby by just crossing over. This made sense to us since we had a flight to catch early next morning to Santorini. From India to Athens with a lay over in Doha was a long flight and not all of it was comfortable. We just needed a bed to crash into and a warm shower. The staff at the hotel have a stiff upper lip. Not many smiles going round here. The check in was pretty smooth. Rooms are outdated and windows can't be opened. The air-condition makes a lot of noise. The beds are comfortable.The bathrooms are tiny. Its a no frills hotel and stand out just for its convenience. And oh yes you can take the walk bridge across the hotel and it leads you straight to the metro station. So if you want to quickly run around plaka or something its workable. Can't comment on the breakfast because we left at 5.30 AM next morning. Most would give at a good rating but I reserve mine to average simply because its not a friendly hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rashmirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us on your stay in our hotel in July. We took notice as well of your remark for the condition of our rooms and the design of our bathrooms and were sorry to learn that our staff's behaviour did not meet your expectations. Please be reassured of our employees continuous efforts in order to provide a superior service experience to all our customers. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next visits to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    1,292
    406
    120
    68
See reviews for
673
1,731
458
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dordogne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a brilliant place to stay if you have a very early departure or a late arrival at the airport. It is literally in front of the airport arrival exit... however check-in is slow, ours was very slow and for no obvious reason.
The rooms are elegant and well thought out without being pretentious.
However the restaurant (where the food is excellent) is very pricey so maybe snack in the airport itself.
Not a place to stay for visiting the city but for a convenient sleep-over it is ideal.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmlacheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We took notice as well of your remark for the speed of the check-in and look forward to your next visits to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel is only 2 minutes walk from airport and 5mins walk for the metro to Central Athens. If you have an overnight stay here it is easy to catch the metro into the centre of Athens ( about 45 euros return for family, 40mins)
The hotel food and service were excellent but as previous reviewers say the carpet in the corridors needs replacing. Carpets in rooms were fine. We visited the spa, which consisted of a small pool, sauna and usual massages, facials etcs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareSG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel in August with your family and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's convenient location at the airport as well as the staff's friendliness and our food & beverage offer. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next visits to our premises on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

As the title says, this hotel is great because it's perfectly located if you have a morning flight out of Athens. The hotel is clean and service is excellent. The only problems I encountered is the carpet on the 3rd floor was all crumbled up. Too much wear and tear. It needs some TLC. Other problem is that the Wi-Fi charges are not that clear and when I tried to read the Terms it wouldn't open a page. But I assumed that it was like most hotels I have travelled that it's a flat fee per room per day. Therefore I assumed that it was 18 euros. But it's actually 18 euros per device therefore 4 iPads and one laptop later I was charged 90 euros for internet. But I am the one to blame because I shouldn't have assumed and I should have called front desk. Have stayed there before and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Athens Airport and for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel with your family. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the level of cleanliness and service provided. We took notice as well of your remark for the hallways' carpet condition and look forward to your next visits to our hotel on next occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

What more do you need for an overnight stay than a nice, big, comfy bed, a clean bathroom (the bathroom was the best I have ever used :) lovely breakfast, friendly staff.... Take note, the breakfast costs 25Euros if you book ahead online, but only 18Euros if you do not book ahead, but pay at the Hotel.
Great location from airport, as it is just across the road.
Would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandra_sandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your warm words of appreciation for the overall quality of our accommodations and services following your recent stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. Additionally, kindly be informed, as per our breakfast pricing policy, that our hotel provides Continental breakfast at 18 euros per person and American buffet breakfast at 25 euros per person. We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned form a 2 week stay in Greece and spent the last night at the Sofitel in Athens. For those traveling to Greece and have a connecting flight the next day (early morning) this is the best option. The hotel is literally across the street from the airport. It is less than a 2 minute walk across the street and there are baggage attendants who can help you with your luggage both to and from the hotel. The check in and service were great. We had secured 2 adjoining rooms and they were clean and big. Family friendly. Comfortable beds, mini bar in each room, huge bathrooms. They also gave us a coupon for the hotel spa and to receive a free bottle of wine with a purchase from the duty free store at the airport. Restaurant downstairs has both a menu option and buffet selection which was great for both kids and adults and not overpriced. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive. They have an outdoor cafe/lounge as well for some drinks and snacks. We took a taxi to the Acropolis for some sightseeing and it was about a 30 minute ride from the hotel and cost 38 Euros. The tram is also accessible from the hotel and costs 14 Euros per person roundtrip. Overall, great hotel to stay at if you are traveling and looking for someplace to stay for one night. Would not stay here if you are staying for longer as it is not that close to the main attractions of Athens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your constructive comments following your overnight stay in our hotel at the end of your trip in Greece and were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the overall quality of the accommodations and services provided. Your positive feedback will serve as an encouragement for all our staff in our ongoing efforts for continuous improvements. We thank you once again for having taken the time to share your experience and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

As close as you get to the airport ,a good working aircondition, a not too overpriced snack bar and a clean room made us enjoy our stay. Some old cigarette smoke in the air was maybe what we not expected. And if you can afford the full breakfast I advise you to take your time, relax and enjoy the hors de oeuvre breakfast, the main breakfast and the dessert breakfast..it was superb. If the rooms and corridors dont give you an impression of luxury the breakfast does.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRennebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write about your stay in our hotel with friends in July and very happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and especially the hotel's location by the airport, the level of cleanliness and the breakfast. We thank you once again for your precious comments and look forward to welcoming you again to our premises on your next visits to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing