We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A stunning hotel that certainly lives up to the gorgeous photos. The food at the buffet and the Asian restaurants was delicious, if somewhat overpriced. Definitely have dinner on the swinging beds at the Asian restaurant, a great experience.

The room was pleasant with stunning views of the sea, definitely get a sea view room. We didn't have a pool and from what we saw of them I would recommend saving your money.
On the whole the staff are awesome but as the hotel got busier (we unfortunately timed half of our stay with half term) the attentiveness got less and less. At the start of our holiday I definitely felt we were at a 5 star luxury hotel but by the end, perhaps a 4.

Two incidents left a sour taste in my mouth. 1. The hotel made a mistake with a restaurant booking informing us it had been booked only for us to find that the restaurant wasn't open. They kindly made the error up to us by offering us a free meal at the buffet. While this was a lovely gesture, the guy dealing with us insisted on knowing who had made the error...naming and shaming...this didn't sit comfortably with us and he wouldn't let it drop. We didn't let on. The suited staff have a bad attitude whereas the ladies who serve by the pool/reception and breakfast are very friendly.

2. The second incident was the fact we had paid £200 for airport transfers. On the way to the hotel we were greeted by a lovely car with water etc waiting for us, a nice way to start our holiday. On the way back we had a big standard taxi who happened to leave the meter on - total cost for a trip to the airport €40!! We felt very very ripped off and hugely disappointed in the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view of the temple
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We needed a late spring break. We had been down this way before and as Athens is accessible and well served by reasonable flights we took advantage of the early season rates offered by the Grecotel at Cape Sounio. The hotel looks very much as it does on their website and once we had got over the slight disappointment of a partially blocked view of the sea we settled in to a very happy five nights. With a little coaxing the manager was persuaded to open the gym and sauna for us (both advertised online but neither ready for the new season) and was generally very helpful and polite. This goes for all the staff who are incredibly attentive and courteous. The food is excellent and my advice is to stick with the buffet which is extensive and provides dishes for every taste. Of course the wine is a bit expensive but there was a good range. Do try the Asian restaurant area and enjoy sitting on the swing seats. The food here is fine but not wildly Asian but it makes a fun change from the buffet. We didn't try the a la carte menu at all. The beach is clean - it was too cold at night for the beach restaurant but I imagine that could be very romantic on a summer's evening. All in all a great place. Forgive the short-comings and enjoy looking out over the Temple of Poseidon with an Alpha beer!

Room Tip: Try and get on the end of a row. More privacy and sunnier.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Infrequentluncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

went there for a weekend end of may..It was absolutely perfect.The hotel looks like an ancient greek temple.The bungalows were clean and quiet.Only (-) was the bathroom and the fact that there was no privacy (people could seeinside the room while passing by).The hotel also adevertises a gym which wasnt there.Breakfast was stunning,the pool area also.The beach was clean and the stuff was very helpful.The prices at the snack bar and the restaurant were high but you can expect that from a 5star hotel.My plan is to visit the hotel again,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are looking for a quiet, serene sea vacation setting, this is the place. Very pleasant rooms, I highly advise the villas, including family villas on the hill. The rooms with a pool are not worth the extra cost unless you go for the larger pools. The ones with deluxe rooms are too small to be called a pool. The main pool of the hotel is very pleasant and large (sea water).
Small bathrooms in the regular and deluxe rooms.
The spa is a very zen place, I recommend the massages by Mimi - one of the best I've had for my neck and shoulder problems. Indoor and outdoor pools at the spa.
The hotel is set in beautiful cap sounio with a beautiful view on the Poseido temple ruins.
The restaurants in the hotel are good- although avoid the pizza at the pool restaurant ( unless you want to be running 2 marathons to get rid of the calories you gained) . Greek salads and fish are the way to go.
Not the place for teenagers as they will get bored but probably great for couples with young children or none at all.
Tennis courts, private beach and synthetic football field
Staff is friendly and professional.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a hill in bungalow style, the higher you are, the better the view. You can walk up t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeSounio_Director, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback for Cape Sounio Grecotel Exclusive Resort.

We are satisfied that you recognize that our hotel is addressed to customers who require luxury and relaxing vacations. For this reason some of our private pools have been designed for relaxation.

Also, we would like to inform you that all the menus of all hotel's restaurants are based on the Greek modern cuisine. Of course we always take under consideration all the dietary and nutritional needs of our customers, must be covered.

Furthermore, we are glad that you have experienced all strong points of Cape Sounio Grecotel Exclusive Resort and we hope that we will have the chance to accommodate you again in the future.


Sincerely yours,


Mavralexakis Stratos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful, I have been twice and I can say that this hotel is stunning, very modern. The pool is huge, and the scenary surrounding the place is amazing. Never went down to the private beach but from what I have seen it looks fab.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianthi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel. Our first one was in May of 2004 when the hotel was just rebuilt and was just starting to operate. Back then it had some rough edges which have since disappeared and very finely polished.

The rooms are spacious and very well maintained. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the children activities plenty and interesting. The hotel has a beautiful pool but I prefer the private beach a short walk from the main pool. The beach hidden under the road gives you the feel of what Greek beaches were like 50 years ago, pristine, clean, and quite.

Food is great and plenty either at their buffet or their two taverna style restaurants that offer authentic Greek delicacies and meals. Food service at the beach or pool is excellent and fast.
There is also excellent WIFI access throughout the hotel so that you can hookup with home or your office at anytime.

In terms of activities in and around the hotel there are plenty for all tastes and desires particularly if sea related. I like diving so I easily found a five star PADI facility a few miles away who arranged for some interesting dives in the region.

This is not a bargain vacation but you do get what you pay for and the hotel is highly recommended for families that want to experience Greece but also relax. Athens is an hour drive away for sightseeing and tourist attractions. Pharmacies, shops, and newsstands are a fifteen minute drive away at Lavrion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Grecotel as a whole and this particular hotel in particular care a lot about customer service - and this is evident and can't be missed. Why I didn't give 5 stars - its only because there is a slight disconnect between really great service and some rooms that really need renovation. Improving all the rooms would definitely make the customer experience more consistent. the place itself is very nice - the underground passage under the road looks strange and awkward at the beginning, but after some time you get used to it)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
10.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sounio
327 reviews
5.9 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
734 reviews
17.8 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
16.5 mi away
The Porto Kea Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Address: 67th Km Athinon - Souniou, Sounio 195 00, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Cape Sounio)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range: £139 - £934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous archaeological sites of Greece is the Temple of Poseidon in Sounio, south-east of Athens. The Grecotel Cape Sounio literally clings to the side of a pine-clad hillside with panoramic views over this ancient monument. Behind the hotel is the Sounio National Park and below the hotel are two bays (one sandy and the other is shingle) which are approached via tunnels under the road (ancient river path). The buildings are set in an amphitheatre shape allowing exhilarating views of the Temple of Poseidon and the sea from most guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Cape Sounio Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Resort Sounio
Cape Sounio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing