We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hotel and a Two Star Price”
Review of Aegeon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We happened upon this hotel by chance, and ended up staying three nights. The hotel is wonderful, the staff helpful and friendly, the breakfast yummy, and the location cannot be beat. The rooms are very clean and each room has a full balcony facing the ocean with an incredible view. There are two OK restaurants within walking distance, and the drive into Lavrio is less than ten minutes - with a market, gelato, bakery, and many good restaurants. We found this hotel to be a great base for exploring the southern end of Greece.

Room Tip: For the best view, ask for a room on the third floor. There is a family suite available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTA0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel for our last night in Greece and it was perfect - once we found it! The address in our booking gave the location as Sounio, but as this is not a town it did not appear on our hire-car's GPS. We knew we had to go past the International Airport but after that we were guessing, until a helpful cafe owner told us we needed to look for the town of Lavrio! However after we arrived and had checked in, the view of the temple from our room made the fraught drive of little consequence. And the view kept getting better as darkness fell - the temple was lit up all night, so that our restless sleep (the bed was very comfortable, our sleep was broken only because of regret that we were going home in the morning) was made worthwhile by simply turning towards the full-height windows and gazing at the glorious sight. It was an unforgettable image.
As regards the hotel itself, the Reception area is accessed by a flight of stairs from the grounds adjacent to the carpark but there is a lift available too if you wander around. Signage is almost non-existent at the entrance. Our room was ok, rather modernist/minimalist in style. The bathroom had the narrowest shower I have ever seen but it was long, and that helped to reduce the awkwardness.
We were there just one week after Easter and there were very few other guests so it was peaceful. This is really a beach resort so I should think that in summer it would be extremely busy. Even in late April there were some hardy souls swimming.
For dinner we ventured out of the hotel to an adjacent fish tavern (I think it was called Ilias) and ate "el fresco" right at the water's edge. (Delicious grilled octopus!)
Breakfast at the hotel buffet was rather ordinary, but adequate.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

While everyone is friendly and nice in the Hotel, and while it serves a good amount of food for dinner and breakfast, the Hotel does not provide much beyond. And somehow, this is also not needed, as the whole "action" or "non-action" plays around the front of the Hotel towards the beach.

The beach is where you might want to spent all your time and the hotel was built such that you can never miss a view of the beach (and the temple!!)

Rooms are smallish but then, who cares.

recommend for serious beach goers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Situated in the best location in Cape Sounio, Greece,situated at the foot of Temple of Posoidon. This is an excellent holiday destination. Very good friendly staff always eager to help you in making your
stay more comfortable. Good rooms, clean beach. I very muchenjoyed my stay here.

V . Karambelkar, India.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stunning location, friendly staff, relaxing ambience, beautiful sea view. Ideal for a quick getaway from the hectic downtown life.
At night try to get a good spot at the beach so you can relax looking at the magnificent, majestic Temple of Apollo.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights on business. Location, Location, Location. Right next to the temple of Apollo. Really nice beach. Rooms very nice. Air conditioning a bit noisy. Staff very helpful, pleasant and friendly. Typical Greek breakfast. Beautiful spot for a quiet break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iggyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It is a very nice hotel conveniently located next to the magnificent temple.
Spacious rooms, great view to the sea and the temple, private beach, tasty breakfast.
In a few words perfect combination for someone who wants to escape from their hectic way of life

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
17.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
754 reviews
6.5 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
302 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nikolakakis Rooms Lavrio
15.9 mi away
The Porto Kea Suites Hotel
20 mi away
Sofitel Athens Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegeon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegeon Beach Hotel

Address: 68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 195 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range: £102 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegeon Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegeon Beach Hotel is placed at the most beautiful spot in Europe, at Cape Sounio, where ancient Greeks worshipped the god of the sea Poseidon, right on the seashore. All 45 rooms claim a superb sea view and a private balcony to marvel the world-known sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aegeon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sounio
Sounio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing