We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Sounio”
Review of Aegeon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here for only one night but wish I had stayed longer. Beautiful and stunning views and site. The hotel was clean and modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Good for all ages, singles, couples and families too. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bryansburn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We choose the Aegeon because of its distant from the airport : the hotel is 50 minutes drive from the airport.
The plus :
- located on the beach
- very nice view
- good breakfast, can be taken on the terrace overlooking the bay
- close to the airport
- room with balcony overlooking the bay

But :
- it's isolated, no walking possibility, the closest shop is 10 minutes drive
- hotel's architecture is quiet ugly (all in brown, long & hot corridors leading to rooms, strange entrance and lobby)
- at the evening, we had to leave the balcony and close doors being attacked by mosquitos
- the hotel is expensive comparing

There are two restaurants next to the hotel, but you can find better 5 minutes drive turning left to the hotel.

Room Tip: choose the highest floors for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Last day in Greece. Wanted to see Temple of Poseidon at sunset and make it to airport in the morning. Hotel fit the bill perfectly. Front Desk was efficient and informative. Rooms were reasonably priced and fully appointed though a little dated. Beach was excellent. WIFI was fast and free. Breakfast was just ok but ample with good coffee. View of Temple from hotel was great. Hotel is very close the the Temple and is an easy ride. Got to airport in 35 minutes by taking the west highway not the coastal road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is our third visit to this hotel upon arrival in Greece for our holiday. We stayed for 2 nights in early June and once again were not disappointed. As always, the service was excellent. This time we had a room directly facing the temple which was really nice, with a side view to the sea. Breakfast was wonderful... I once again loved the Greek yoghurt with honey and fresh fruit. On the second day I enjoyed some eggs. They have the most wonderful cakes for those with a sweet tooth. It was much cooler this year than other visits so we didn't get our usual swim at the beach but once again we loved our stay. We'll be back!

Karen

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreecefanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for one night prior to our sailing holiday and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly. We had a lovely room overlooking the bay and the Temple of Poseidon on the hill. The hotel has a nice beach with umbrellas and a good beach bar.
We dined at one of the nearby tavernas although the menu in the hotel did look nice. Breakfast next morning was very good and was taken on the patio overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We happened upon this hotel by chance, and ended up staying three nights. The hotel is wonderful, the staff helpful and friendly, the breakfast yummy, and the location cannot be beat. The rooms are very clean and each room has a full balcony facing the ocean with an incredible view. There are two OK restaurants within walking distance, and the drive into Lavrio is less than ten minutes - with a market, gelato, bakery, and many good restaurants. We found this hotel to be a great base for exploring the southern end of Greece.

Room Tip: For the best view, ask for a room on the third floor. There is a family suite available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTA0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel for our last night in Greece and it was perfect - once we found it! The address in our booking gave the location as Sounio, but as this is not a town it did not appear on our hire-car's GPS. We knew we had to go past the International Airport but after that we were guessing, until a helpful cafe owner told us we needed to look for the town of Lavrio! However after we arrived and had checked in, the view of the temple from our room made the fraught drive of little consequence. And the view kept getting better as darkness fell - the temple was lit up all night, so that our restless sleep (the bed was very comfortable, our sleep was broken only because of regret that we were going home in the morning) was made worthwhile by simply turning towards the full-height windows and gazing at the glorious sight. It was an unforgettable image.
As regards the hotel itself, the Reception area is accessed by a flight of stairs from the grounds adjacent to the carpark but there is a lift available too if you wander around. Signage is almost non-existent at the entrance. Our room was ok, rather modernist/minimalist in style. The bathroom had the narrowest shower I have ever seen but it was long, and that helped to reduce the awkwardness.
We were there just one week after Easter and there were very few other guests so it was peaceful. This is really a beach resort so I should think that in summer it would be extremely busy. Even in late April there were some hardy souls swimming.
For dinner we ventured out of the hotel to an adjacent fish tavern (I think it was called Ilias) and ate "el fresco" right at the water's edge. (Delicious grilled octopus!)
Breakfast at the hotel buffet was rather ordinary, but adequate.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
11.4 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
454 reviews
6.5 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
301 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
18.4 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
17.1 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegeon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegeon Beach Hotel

Address: 68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 195 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range: £101 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegeon Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegeon Beach Hotel is placed at the most beautiful spot in Europe, at Cape Sounio, where ancient Greeks worshipped the god of the sea Poseidon, right on the seashore. All 45 rooms claim a superb sea view and a private balcony to marvel the world-known sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aegeon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sounio
Sounio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing