We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lagonisi
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Grand Resort Lagonissi benefits from a secluded, exclusive location with easy access to Athens International Airport (taxi drive is about 35 euros). The isolated location also means that you don't have any shops around so if you need a bank, a pharmacy or a supermarket it's not the right place for you. There is a small tobacco shop inside the hotel and another one selling expensive beach outwear. I stayed a few nights in superb deluxe bungalow located in the west area of the resort (if you are interested in admiring the sunsets): the room was huge and very well appointed - huge TV screen, seating area, walk-in closet etc. I also enjoyed a great terrace with comfortable armchairs and amazing sea view. My room was at the first floor, my friend stayed in a ground floor room that had a nice small garden with sun lounges - in such a room you are actually with your feet in the water. On the other hand my room had a fabulous view! The bathroom was the best part: it included a small but well appointed gym, a steam room with shower and a jacuzzi! It was by far the most exquisite bathroom I have seen in any hotel so far. The room looked a bit outdated and not really luxurious but it was comfortable (except for the bed, which was a bit too hard). All bungalows share a private beach with sun lounges and umbrellas, which was almost empty when I visited the hotel in June - a pure delight! There are many restaurants in the resort, I had dinner in three of them - the Italian Captain's House, the Polynesian one and Galazya Akti (Cretan). Also I had breakfast and lunches in Aphrodite restaurant. The food dissapointed me, it was average and I was expecting more in this location. The breakfast and the lunches were actually better than the dinners. However all restaurants have nice views. The service is good but not everywhere...I have seen dirty glasses left outside the room for four days... It's a lovely place to spend a quiet holiday (forget discos and clubs) but I find it overpriced. Luckily I was able to enjoy it as I participated in a conference and benefited from a more affordable corporate rate.

Room Tip: The rooms on the groundfloor are located directly on the beach but those on the first floor have bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fulga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We spend 2 unforgettable nights . We had dinner in the Polynesian restaurant as well as in the captain s restaurant. Lunch at the mediteranneo on the beach. The food was great. I found prices too high on Med restaurant since the quality of the food and the service was not as high as it had been in the other 2 restaurants. The maître was speaking too loud all the time giving advices to the waiters and the kitchen. The spa was pleasant but very dark. The massage was great ! The breakfast was also very nice ,big variety and good service. The reservation department was very helpful ,they booked dinner table and spa treatments ,excellent !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank funseasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful Suite - sort of a Villa with your own heated pool and a gym. This place is very private and romantic, ideal spot for romantic getaway. The garden did look indeed as it required more attention as well as the sun chairs and sun beds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenamal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It is literally the best hotel in the area of Athens considering that you get a quiet sea view along with privacy and best 5 star services within your bungalow. Of course, sometimes, you have to double check what the room service staff is taking from your table or they may clean up your wine although the bottle is still half full. Or, worse , have them knock your door during your sweet siesta and wake you up to collect the leftovers of your room service order although you never called them to do so. And what if ... instead of sleeping we were in the middle of something else? Anyway, this is only a detail if you are a good fella and you try to keep up with a good mood. Regarding the orders from the Ouzeri menu, here are some don't s and do' s:
Do not order white fish roe salad with botargo from Mesologgi or the
Scantorini split pea spread with caramelized onions , capers and olive oil rusks or even the Grilled Mastello cheese, avocado and fig tartare served with grape syrup. The reason is that the chef probably didn't try himself those dishes which sound really fancy but tasted well beyond average.
Do order the Fresh mussels sautéed in white wine , leeks and saffron, the Damps with olive paste, tomato , sour myzithra cheese, pickled rock samphire and virgin olive oil, the Grilled jumbo shrimp and finally the Lemon cream , mascarpone and white chocolate mousse with fresh strawberries and Madagascar vanilla ice-cream.
Of course you may wanna try the other two restaurants (the Polynesian Kohylia or the Mediterranean Captain's house), which are really superb and have a lot of terrific delicacies.
Overall , the staff is well trained and willing to serve you well. But when you pay over 600 euro a day (at least) you probably expect everything towards "the perfect".

Room Tip: Bungalow with sea front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As part of our Athens trip in May 2014, we stayed at Grand Resort Lagonissi located about 35 km south-west from Athens city is a very secluded quiet resort situated at the tip of a peninsula. This resort consisting lovely sandy beaches, quiet coves, beautiful spring flora was just perfect venue for quality rest and relax weekend. The resort consists many sea-facing restaurants, a spa, a convention centre, even a pretty small chapel. The resort provide guests buggy driven rides within the resort. Our sea-facing room was very spacious complete with jacuzzi tub, shower-cum-steam room stall and mini gym - and we had a nice bottle of Greek red wine compliments from the Manager. Staff were polite and discrete, coming into to replenish towels twice daily. We had wonderful memories of stunning sunsets, dipping in clear cool sea, lazy walks discovering hidden coves, listening to melodious chirping of birds and dining in lovely settings with attentive staff. A pampering paradise retreat indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view are designed for privacy, but some ie the main block may not have direct ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K2travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The resort has a stunning location, that's for sure. The deluxe room we had booked reminded me of the average size of a cabin on a cruise ship. It is impossible to use the bath"room" with 2 persons. Everything else is small, the balcony, the bed and room itself and needs a refurbishment. Book a bigger room or bungalow!
Furthermore friendly staff and service.

Room Tip: book a junior suite or bungalow as rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JR1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spend three nights in a bungalow which is 30 meters for the sea. Great view , nice setting I the bungalow with a large bathroom with jacuzzi, steam room . The furniture is ok but the place is clos to need a refurbishing.

I was with my wife who is planning a small conference here,we paid for the room but was upgraded in the bungalow.

So for the improvement : you have to pay for bottle water in your room as they don't give as most 5stars hotel 2 complementary bottles of water per day. Also no coffee machine in the room, you have to order room service for coffee! Which is 15€ delivery charge for bungalow, 10€ for the rooms in the main building . So I asked for one, and was given after 2 days but also have to pay for espresso I the room 5€.

The hotel is far from everything so we had a lunch at the Mediterraneo , the only restaurant opened . I ordered a seafood salad 26€: 2 shrimps, 1 scallop, 4 squid and some mussels. It was small.

The prices for the food in their restaurant are as expensive as a good restaurant in London, Geneva or Paris . So you should know.

There is a small taverna right I front of the entrance of the hotel with good food, it is the one on the left with blue front . There is also about 800 meters walk in the left when you exit the entrance , a modern lounge restaurant name Boa, very good and generous western food ,pizza, burger, sandwich, salad.

We ask for a taxi to eat out for dinner but they keep arguing that we need to take the hotel car ,which is much more expensive. We got a taxi but be carefull as they charge the coming rate to get to the hotel. It is still less expensive than the hotel car.

Last night we went to Athens . First, I had to argue with the young concierge of told me two days in row that the acropolis closed at 16h30 . So finally, she asked the head concierge , who was not sure. So she called , and it is opened up to 19h30 last entrance ! As I saw on the internet.

I did not like the attitude of some of the staff, I felt they were taking advantage of us because we are secluded.

It is strange that they don t understand that yes we have money but we know it's value and have been staying in other 5 stars hotels or resort before.

The setting , the seaview, the quietness are just great. I you can, take a bungalow, you will feel alone I your own little house on the beach,.

Room Tip: If you can aggord it, take a bungalow .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norm_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagonisi
6.7 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
747 reviews
7.3 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
4.9 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
11.4 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sounio
339 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Resort Lagonissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Resort Lagonissi

Address: 40 KM Athens Sounio Ave, Lagonisi 190 10, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Lagonisi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lagonisi
Price Range: £244 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Resort Lagonissi 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Resort Lagonissi welcomes you to enjoy a seafront paradise, set on a 72-acre verdant peninsula. Boasting twenty exclusive sandy beach coves and lush natural beauty the resort is nestled in a magnificent private peninsula offering breathtaking sunsets and views to inspire.The resort provides endless choices of luxurious accommodations, all on the waterfront with direct access to sandy beaches or to the sea. Deluxe rooms with stunning sea views, bungalows with private pools, suites with gym quarters and villas with private spa areas, compose the Grand Resort’s luxurious scenery. The latest in comfort of technology pervade every single room combined with sleek interiors creating an ambiance of residential charm and unparalleled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Resort Lagonissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Resort Lagonissi Hotel Lagonisi
Grand Hotel Lagonissi
Grand Hotel Lagonisi
Grand Resort Lagonissi Greece/Lagonisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing