We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE, CLEAN”
Review of Prokomenes

Prokomenes
Ranked #44 of 253 Restaurants in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE, CLEAN”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is a very nice place, with really very good and tasty food. The service was fantastic, the entire place was very clean, the dishes I had were great. Plus easy to approach and offers value for money!!!! I loved it, cause I had the same food in other places in Athens double priced and not that good quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariettaMb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average food, decent service, bit expensive.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

This place tries to update the traditional Greek restaurant. It's not a taverna and doesn't offer the usual array of grilled meats, rather it has an open, cafeteria style display of cooked dishes like pastitsio, lemon chicken, etc.

The waiter brings to your table a tray of appetizers to choose from. Salads are also on offer, you must ask for them.

The quality of the food is strictly average. You won't complain and you won't rave. Ditto for portions.

Service is efficient and friendly, if on the plastic soulless side. After all, this place is owned and operated by a big company that runs several other properties.

Value for money is not great since prices are above average. You will easily pay 20 euro/person.

This being downtown glitzy Glyfada, such estiatoreia are not exactly plentiful, so Prokomenes fills a need. I just wish it had more soul..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 189400Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food, reasonably priced, convenient location”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Something to remember is, you won't find the exact name (Prokomenes) written anywhere (either on the name board or inside the restaurant). It is only a few minutes walk from the city centre.

Instead of a menu, they have all the food on display and the servers speaks reasonable English too!

You can have two mains, a salad (plenty for 2) and a 500ml beer (plus a complimentary desert) for less than 25 euros!

Some of the favourites are Beef curry, Potato (roast, dipped in olive oil), rice, aubergine based curry (that looks like minced meat) They have chicken too, but no pork!

The place is clean and the service is fast. Food is tasty and well presented (relatively)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Unusual... nice enough but a bit odd!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Procomenes was recommended to us by our hotel manager and the welcome was enthusiastic, however the restaurant was empty so there was no atmosphere to speak of.

We were brought food we had not ordered/wanted and the waiter said (or at least we thought he said) it was on the house...it wasn't. The traditional Greek dishes were pre-cooked and kept luke-warm in bain-maries so more like a self service cafe in a store/supermarket/hospital canteen although the quality of the food was fine. A bit expensive for what it was, though, and as there was no menu you have no idea what you are spending until the end.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“like a home cooked meal with new friends”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of the place is very cozy and the staff was very friendly. The style of dining was a bit different from your average restaurant. The cook has prepared a selection of different dishes that you can see before ordering. I think this is great for tourists since with many menus you can't be sure what your getting. The host made some suggestions and I went with the fish of the day, the friend I was with chose a vegetarian dish and we chose roasted potatoes as a side. While we were eating the host brought us a small sample of the ratatouille which was amazing! Over all the service was great and from what I could tell the whole restaurant was non smoking. Not so great for me but I know many western tourists might appreciate that.

Helpful?
Thank spinfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prokomenes also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Prokomenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing