We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but location not the best! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place but location not the best! ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Palmyra Beach with my gfriend, along with some other friends, who were staying in a nearby place. Overall, this is a nice cute hotel, the rooms are clean, friendly and helpful staff and it was nice to have a pool, even though we didn't use it. The main drawbacks for me are the location, it is right on a main road and it can get noisy at night. That also meant we had to walk 10 minutes to the closest area with bars/restaurant, which in itself is not long, but given that the hotel is not by the beach, there really isn't much within 5 mins walk of the hotel, not even a shop. The tram station however is a couple minutes walk and it takes about 40 mins to get to the centre of Athens. Overall, for the price, I would say this is a pretty good choice...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nishalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    147
    74
    15
    15
See reviews for
99
121
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Walked into the hotel after a night out. Hotel is nice, obviously in need of modernisation, but quite adequate for a night or 2. Rooms are spacious and clean, although some features are stuck in the 80's era. Staff are amazing and will go out of their way to help and give you information about the local attractions. Hotel ideal if you want to spend a night out in Glyfada's nightclubs and bouzokias, but not for the city centre. Also if you have a car drive down to the amazing Vouliagmeni lake, Varkiza beach, Anavissos and saronida.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marynet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location is tooooo far from the center, and I thought it would be easier to reach.
If Glyfada is a nice location I was unable to understand why...
The hotel is nice and the triple room was spacious and clean. A little too noisy due to the high speed road aside, also at night. The hotel is near but not by the sea.
The swimming pool is not as beautiful as the pictures, and it is very small. The lunch of the bar outside was horrible. Tzatziki from supermarket, and the potatos of the club sandwich were the chips from the pack you can find in the supermarkets too.
The breakfast is very good instead.
I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On arrival there was a mistake regarding the allocation of rooms. We were very disappointed with what we were given and made our views known, we did not get what we paid for. My two sons were given another room that day and the following day I was given an upgraded room which was quiet and had a nice view. The manager could not have been more apologetic and could not do enough to ensure we had a pleasant stay following our first experience. We were treated to several drinks which was very kind of him. We found all the staff to be pleasant, warm and friendly.
There is a very nice outside eating area close to the bar. The hotel is next to a very busy main road which is noisy, as are most of the hotels in Glyfada. Glyfada does have some nice shops but it lacks the charm of a Greek island. There is a lake a short distance away which is nice and we went on a 3 island cruise booked for us by the hotel. We enjoyed that very much. I would recommend the hotel. The views of the pool and beyond are very nice from the upper floors. Good to have free wifi.

Room Tip: If possible request rooms on 3rd floor. Rooms 3 and 4 are classed as budget rooms and disappointing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We only stayed here one night, as the other hotel across the road was full and we were rebooked here. On arrival, a beautiful warm greeting and the gentlemen on the desk was very friendly. We got in a bit later, so we also had dinner here, simple but good, again staff very nice.
Rooms were nice too.
Breakfast was on par with everything else we had experienced in Greece.

As a testament to how good the staff are, we left something in our room after checking out, we returned the next morning (after making it know the evening before) and we got the item back promptly. Such a relief. Exemplifies the quality of the staff.

Would love to return!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room not backing onto the main road, a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is really a nice hotel. We travelled with children, and we all enjoyed our stay here.

We stayed in a family room. The family rooms are placed away from the main road and with a beach view from room balconies.

There are some nice activities. Pool area is great with a life guard during pool opening hours from 10:30 to 18:30, and we used the pool a lot. We also used the ping pong table. There is a fussball table, but it was broken. The public beach is nice and is only a short walk away.

The outdoor bar was frequently visited, and has a big screen tv showing sports. We often had lunch in the bar area. A large pizza is 8 euro and a club sandwich is 5 euro. Meals are of good quality.

Breakfast was ok. From 7am a nice selection of cereals, bread, sausages, eggs and cake was served. We didnt like the coffee, and we had to pay extra for fresh fruit.

Wifi was good (fast enough for the kids to stream tv and play online games).

The best thing about the place is the amazing staff. The smiling lady in the reception, the funny guy in the bar, the nice life guard and the lovely cleaning lady. They were working hard all day, but seemed to really enjoy themselves, and had a great spirit.

We had booked the room for an extra night, as we wanted to check out late at 6pm. But the reception lady said it wasn't hotel policy to pay for a full extra night for late checkout, so she gave us a refund of half a nights pay. Very nice of her.

We used the airport transfer from the hotel. We paid 15 euro pr. adult, 7.5 euro for a 13 year old child and it was free for a 11 year old child. The car arrived on time and was at the terminal 45 minutes later.

We didnt like Glyfada with its heavy traffic, expensive shops and lack of charm, but we enjoyed staying at Palmyra Beach Hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerFromDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Good location next to the beach and lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Tram at the end of the street. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast nice. Rooms are a good size. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreah231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
0.2 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 15 in Glyfada
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 15 in Glyfada
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
4.3 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartments
Oasis Hotel Apartments
#9 of 15 in Glyfada
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Beach Hotel

Property: Palmyra Beach Hotel
Address: 70 Leoforos Possidonos, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glyfada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmyra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Palmyra Beach Hotel! Its inviting atmosphere makes the Palmyra Beach Hotel unique. The 4 star hotel is situated in the exclusive beach resort Glyfada which is often referred to as the "Athenian Riviera". All of our guests have found the features of this hotel to be beneficial. Business travellers in Athens enjoy business facilities, and shoppers love the proximity to the stores in Glyfada. Families and individual holidaymakers are excited with the proximity of the hotel to the beach (0.05 km)- one of the most popular beaches of Athens and the entertainment options. The short distance to the center of Athens (15km), and the airport (25km) makes it a perfect location. The nearest bus stop is situated 50 metres from the hotel and the tram stop is 200 metres away. Our well trained staff is looking forward to welcome you and make your stay memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmyra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmyra Beach
Palmyra Beach Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing