We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in slightly rundown area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel in slightly rundown area”
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We had asked for a no smoking room, we didn't get one. However, we did get a "quiet" room on at the side of the hotel. The room toilet did not flush properly, the AC would not cool, so we had to switch it off, one twin bed had missing and broken slats, the tv remote did not work, although most of these things were fixed, it was not what you expect when you arrive in a four star hotel. The staff were pleasent enough though and on the whole helpful. The reception, breakfast and pool bar area were acceptable. We did not try the evening meals. We picked this hotel to visit the sights of Athens and also be in the "Greek Riviera" of Glyfada, but Glyfada was not up to expectations. The local beach was poor, dirty and had no facilities (sunbeds etc) and Glyfada appeared overpriced and rundown. The private beaches further along the coast were not open when we were there. Trams were good & cheap, about 50 mins to Athens centre. We took the X96 bus from the Airport to the hotel, about 1/2 hr journey. We were helped by local people on the bus to find a stop near the hotel, because the bus driver was the rudest and most unhelpful we have ever encountered, especially on a airport bus full of arriving tourists. Bus back from the hotel to the airport was cheap and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishEagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    148
    74
    15
    15
See reviews for
99
122
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

the staff here were friendly. breakfast was great. the restaurant at night or for snacks during the day was also quite good. the pool was good too if you didnt want to go to the beach which was a 2 minute walk across the road, so excellent location. a 5 minute walk to get to the centre of glyfada where shopping is fantastic and some really good places to eat too. the beach was average in this area, but we were only there for 4 days so wanted to get into athens too for some shopping. getting into athens was easy as the tram is just outside the hotel and takes you straight into athens, but you can also get off and get onto the metro line further up. i think catching the tram took 20 minutes to get to athens, but was scenic and a good way to relax as it was airconditioned. we found some factory outlet shops along the way so we could stop and catch the tram again if we wanted to. this hotel was great in terms of location (next to the beach), it had a pool, the room we had was quiet, but you need to ensure you ask for a quiet one, we understand that some rooms can be noisy as the main road does run out the front of the hotel. glyfada is a nice place and with the tram outside you can get to some funky beach locations which you will spot when you catch the tram. excellent in terms of service too and clean. - really cant complain cause the price was excellent and included breakfast too.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — maybe it needs a renovation, but we really didnt care with so many other good points!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in September 2008. I'd been to Athens before, and new that Glyfada was a good location to stay. The free shuttle bus from the airport was very convenient, and the service comfortable.

The rooms are definitely not the 4* quality you'd expect from places in the UK and US, but it's nice none the less. The beds were comfortable, the rooms the right temp (A/C) and the showers were (mostly) clean. You get what you pay for, and it was great value for money. I'd suggest trying to stay further down the coast (i.e away from Athens) if you can, as it's closer to the 'pay for' beach which is AMAZING. The free beaches are clean and fine, but they aren't sandy, and no sun beds. Spend the €7 and use the private beaches.

We didn't use the pool, but the food on the premises were very good also. There was a busy road to cross to get into Glyfada town, but it was no problem for two londoners. The rooms were quiet.

The tram stop is about a 3min walk from the hotel, and you can be into Athens central (Syntama) in about 55mins and it costs 80c so it's quite handy for a day trip into Athens if you want, but I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want to see the sights of Athens.

Stay here for a cheap and easy beach holiday without going all the way to the islands.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not a 4*
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ryanhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

The hotel was a fine place to stay, but nothing to write home about. The location of being on the Tram line made it a decent place to stay. Just make sure you contact the hotel in advance if you want the hotel shuttle to pick you up at the airport. There is an express bus that run by the hotel to the airport but I am not sure if it runs from the airport out to the hotel.

The room was clean and the bed comfy. Breakfast which was included was very nice.

  • Liked — The Tram which can take you to the Acropolis
  • Disliked — Having to take a cab fro mthe airport for 35 Euros
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank badmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed in this hotel rather than stay in Athens. On the good side is that the hotel location is only a few minutes from tram which takes about 45mins into Athens. The hotel is clean and breakfasts were good. On the down side is that the hotel is right next to a 6 lane road which is busy 24 hours a day, and I mean busy. Crossing the road is a little like Russian Roulette. The "Green Man" may slow them but the cars will nip out of side roads instead! The air con is OK which is good as with the noise from the road, you can't keep your windows open.

There is a courtesy bus to pick up from airport which is free provided you have booked in advance, however, it costs 7.5 euro per person to go back to airport.

Dinner in the hotel is not advisable. We had one dinner there as it was included in our package. By far worst meal of our 4 day trip.
If, like us, you ant a hotel by sea, away from Athens, it is OK, but I would go to one closer to Athens and there is more life within resort at night.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2008

We stayed at the Paymyra beach in June of 2006. The hotel itself is great. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is tasty and convenient, and theoutdoor bar is very cozy. The main problem with this property is the surrounding beach. The beach is extremely dirty and we would not lay on it. There was garbage all over the place. The beach is public, and the hotel management has made complaints to the government to no avail (so they said). The hotel is also very close to the new train line built for the 2004 Olympics, which provides convenient service to Athens. Despite the beach, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We spent two nights in mid-September, 2007. The public spaces in this hotel show lots of care and thought, and are really pleasant: there's an outdoor bar area with fountain and umbrellas, a clean attractive pool, and a nice lounge and restaurant area with a very appealing breakfast. The rooms are not quite up to the same standard -- they're smaller, with fewer amenities than one would hope for, but clean with comfortable beds. The biggest problem overall is that the hotel is close to a very noisy major thoroughfare, with constant traffic. It's also close to the beach, though, and right around the corner is a tram stop to get to central Athens (which takes about 45 minutes, but is very inexpensive and pleasant). Not far from the hotel is a mid- to upscale shopping area with lots of international chains (from MacDonalds to Hagen Dasz!). If you walk the other direction for 20 minutes along the beach, there are tavernas and beach restaurants of various classes.

The staff -- in particular the English desk associate, Michael -- were forthcoming and helpful, with good suggestions. We had to leave a day early, and they were flexible and reasonable about cancellation, too.

If you want a pleasant and helpful place on the outskirts of Athens with good public transportation, you'll be satisfied here.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FontanaMerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
0.2 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 15 in Glyfada
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 15 in Glyfada
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartments
Oasis Hotel Apartments
#10 of 15 in Glyfada
175 reviews
4.3 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Beach Hotel

Property: Palmyra Beach Hotel
Address: 70 Leoforos Possidonos, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmyra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Palmyra Beach Hotel! Its inviting atmosphere makes the Palmyra Beach Hotel unique. The 4 star hotel is situated in the exclusive beach resort Glyfada which is often referred to as the "Athenian Riviera". All of our guests have found the features of this hotel to be beneficial. Business travellers in Athens enjoy business facilities, and shoppers love the proximity to the stores in Glyfada. Families and individual holidaymakers are excited with the proximity of the hotel to the beach (0.05 km)- one of the most popular beaches of Athens and the entertainment options. The short distance to the center of Athens (15km), and the airport (25km) makes it a perfect location. The nearest bus stop is situated 50 metres from the hotel and the tram stop is 200 metres away. Our well trained staff is looking forward to welcome you and make your stay memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palmyra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmyra Beach
Palmyra Beach Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing