We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Fenix
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. We were travelling with 2 small children as well with my parents and 2 cousins, who had their own rooms. We had a triple room that was a tad on the small size but easy to move about. My family mentioned that their rooms were not as spacious or nice as ours was. The bathroom is small with a shower over a small bath, however it was clean. The pool was big and wasn't very busy however I felt like we were always being watched and scrutinized while in the pool. The manager told me several times I had to watch my children even though there was a life guard on duty (who was very nice) and despite the fact my husband or mum & I were in the pool with both children. We decided to go for a swim in the afternoon after our morning swim and since we had already swam once that day we were denied a second pool towel as apparently there was not enough to go around. The wifi was good and the breakfast was not too bad.
The hotel is just off a main road however there is a set of lights to cross at to go to the tram so that was not an issue, even with 2 small children. The Tram was easy to use once we knew what stop to get off as you can not see the hotel from the tram stop and the hotel website does not advise which stop to get off at. The hotel is 2 or 3 stops away from the main area of Glyfada which has plenty of shops and restaurants and nightlife. The hotel did not offer much in the way of food from what we could tell so it is wise to go into Glyfada to eat. You can also catch it to Voula Beach which is a nice area. On the main road there are also buses that can take you into Athens, further down the coast and to the airport.
All in all it was a nice & clean hotel and was good for the price. Not too sure if I would stay there again simple because it was a bit out of the way and I felt like we were always being watched.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a pool view as these seemed to be bigger. Ask the hotel in advance whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonM081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel needs to be modernised and the rooms are quite small. The first room that we were given was very small for two people and the bathroom was old and not very clean. We were moved to a room with a pool view which was a little bigger and the bathroom was a slight improvement. The hotel is also based on a very busy road, which is hard to cross which you need to to get to the tram to get to anything whether it is into Glyfada itself or central athens. It is not near many things. The staff weren't that knowledgeable or too friendly but it was fine. It did have a pool which was clean but not too big, so when I was trying to swim and another family were trying to play about it was very small indeed. For the price it was alright. So it wasn't terrible but it wasn't brilliant either, definitely not 4* and didn't really live up to the Best Western brand. If I was going back to Athens I might try another hotel but if nothing better was available I would go there.

Room Tip: I would make sure you got a larger room and one with a larger bathroom. If you like it quieter make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stay at this hotel durring a Photographers convetion! It was very nice and clean hotel. The location is nice but there is no Metro or subway near. You need to take bus or taxi to go to Athens center! The stuff was very helpful and we like this. The only thing i didn't like was the bar products, coffee and snacks wasn't good!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsotris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

where do I start from ? the super friendly staff , or the cleanness , or the good food, or the astonishing view, or the quit and noise free atmosphere, to the 10 minutes walk location from glyfada center and 1 minute from the main coast avenue ,or the easy free wifi access, or even the cosy spaces , all that much more value for the little money I paid .
It's my 8th time in 4 years .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sounio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we stayed here , 5 nights as 2 familys , room a junior suite was large clean , and had the biggest bathroom , , very nice and comfortable , the breakfast every morning (free) was great , and the staff couldnt of been friendlier , we loved our stay here , and will be back in april , thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: junior suite large and new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sullydump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Three single rooms, one with an overused carpet, spacious , clean, one room had a very small bathroom, acceptable breakfast, in general a decent hotel. Located in a clean pleasant suburb of Athens next to the old, now closed airport with shopping centres and tavernas within walking distance. Transport to Athens centre by bus or tramway (takes about 50 mins) or a 20-30 minute taxi ride. Polite service.
Taxi service from airport to hotel: 35-40 euros

Room Tip: try not to get the room with the tiny bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Booked a sea-view suite through Otel, was a little nervous as never heard of or used this site before - the cost seemed too good to be true.
However, fears were unfounded as the booking went ahead and we checked into room 413 without any issues. The suite defintely has the wow factor, big bedroom / living room area, 2 tvs, luxury bathroom with separate walk in shower & tv in mirror, balcony & pool / sea view.
Sea view spolt slightly as hotel is next to what looks like a disused boat yard & busy road but after checking out some of the other hotels I considered it is actually the best placed for a sea view. When the balcony door was open we could hear traffic but not at all when closed, which we did anyway because of the air con.
Staff were a little reserved though friendly when approached & asked for assistance.
Breakfast usual quality for hot buffet, (not very hot!) but plenty of fresh bread / rolls / pastries / cereals / juices / cheese / meat / fruit / boiled eggs.
We ordered room service sandwiches & salad one evening, poor quality & disappointing considering the cost so didnt bother again. Large bottles of water only €2 from the hotel bar - easier just to pay this than go out of way to petrol station to save a few cents.
We spent a day around the pool, although next to the road it wasnt really an issue. Pool towels were provided & the pool area was clean.
Location was very good. Yes, to get to the tram you have to cross a busy road - but there is a pedestrian crossing. Glyfada centre is about 20min walk, there are a few bars / restaurants on sea front on the way (View worth a visit for Greek salad) or you can jump on tram, €1.40 for 90mins on / off. It takes a while to find the centre but once there you're spoilt for choice with restaurants, cafes, bars, take aways, shopping. Only thing we struggled to find was a traditional Greek taverna / mezze!! Everything is so cosmopolitan.
Balux beach is also walkable / within a few tram stops. €4 for the day including sunbeds / table service, great place to enjoy amazing sunsets - fab food & service at the restaurant.
Athens centre is easy to get to on tram & the metro is simple to navigate, there are tram / metro route maps in hotel lobby.
The airport was €35 each way in taxi. Bus is easy & lots cheaper but we couldn't be bothered waiting.
Fabulous trip, one of best cities I have ever visited, we will definitely go back to Athens & most likely stay at BW Fenix.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth_Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.5 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 14 in Glyfada
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 14 in Glyfada
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartments
Oasis Hotel Apartments
#10 of 14 in Glyfada
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 14 in Glyfada
405 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Fenix

Address: 1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada 166 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN FENIX, one of the best hotels in Glyfada is a member of the largest global hotel chain BEST WESTERN and is the ideal place to stay during your visit to Athens ! Within walking distance of the cosmopolitan town of Glyfada and within easy access to the historic centre of Athens the BEST WESTERN FENIX HOTEL offers a high standard of hospitality that can satisfy both leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Best Western Glyfada
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing