We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Fenix
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have been staying at the Fenix once or twice a year for the last 5 years and although this hotel is not somewhere you would rave about, it does represent good value if you book ahead and you can count on a good standard of service and cleanliness. The king-size bed (in a limited number of double-bedded rooms) was comfortable, free wifi was available in the room and the airconditioning worked well (we were staying in the winter and it heated the room in no time). The bathroom was small but the shower efficient with plenty of hot water. The breakfast is always reasonable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the centre of Glyfada, there is plenty of parking right outside and easy access for both the beach and the tram for central Athens. My only niggle is that the last two times we stayed here the rooms smelled of smoke, even though they were supposedly non-smoking rooms. I would prefer to give this hotel a 'good' rating rather than 'average' (if available) but wouldn't stretch to 'very good'!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Fenix
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have stayed here a few times.The staff are friendly and the breakfast is excellent.You can usually get a buffet meal in the evening or a meal in the bar.The prices are a bit steep but the food is good.
There is ample parking outside the hotel.
Some of the rooms overlook a scrapyard!
You can get wi fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoupastomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Διευθυντής at Best Western Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013
Google Translation

Σας ευχαριστούμε πολύ που διαθέσατε τον πολύτιμο χρόνο σας για να αξιολογήσετε το Ξενοδοχείο Best Western Fenix. . Με μεγάλη μας χαρά διαβάσαμε ότι μείνατε ευχαριστημένος κατά την παραμονή σας, από το φιλικό προσωπικό και το εξαιρετικό πρωινό .Θα χαρούμε πολύ να σας καλωσορίσουμε για άλλη μία φορά στο Ξενοδοχείο μας στην επόμενη επίσκεψη σας στην Γλυφάδα .
Με εκτίμηση .
Δ. Παπαστεργίου
Γ.Διευθυντής

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in Fenix Hotel for 20 days during summer. The room was excellent, the food was very delicious and the position of the hotel was ideal. In front of the sea and near the center of Glyfada. I am very satisfied from the quality of the hotel. I recommend hotel FENIX to everyone who needs high quality staying in Athens. For sure I will come back!!
Thank you FENIX!!

Room Tip: The rooms infront of the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VASILIKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Manager at Best Western Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Vaisliki ,
We are so glad that the Best Western Fenix Hotel was the right place for you to stay so long for your time in Greece!! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. We hope to see you again soon. Your sincerely .G. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

At the end of last October my husband and I, stayed at hotel BW Fenix, for the second time in two years.
We find the hotel good value for money and the personnel is friendly, well skilled and make us feel very welcome. We find this last very important. Our wishes or needs were smoothly and swiftly answered.
The hotel is situated outside the noisy and busy Athens centrum but conveniently close to what one could call Athens ring road. One can within 20' (by car) reach the international airport of Athens. Free and easy parking in front of the hotel is an asset to us. If one is without a car, no problem, bus stops or tram station are nearby.
The status of the rooms as well as the other hotel facilities is satisfactory, still they could use a face lift in order to better accommodate guests with special needs or higher standards. Even though times are financially rough, renovation would upgrade hotel overall quality standard and make longer stays more comfortable.
M. de Koning - Holland

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nice view, also looking towards the sea, however the ring road is...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marja de K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Manager at Best Western Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Marja de K.
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share with us your opinion.
Any further comments that will help us become aware of what our guests needs are and where improvement is needed, are highly appreciated and taken under serious consideration
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We really hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely .
Dimitris Papastergiou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was recently on a business trip to Athens. I swear I don't think I have ever met anyone as rude as the receptionist. I came in from work at midnight and this guy was sitting with a friend of his at the reception joking around so I walked past and went up to the room. I couldn't get into the room because they hadn't updated the keycard to reflect my new booking(i had extended the booking by another 6 days) so i went back to the reception and this guy was giving me lip and asking me if I like the country side because that's where I would be staying tonight. What kind of a business do you people think you're running? I was told that the booking hadn't been guaranteed by my firm which was a joke because I was sent a reservation voucher from the fenix sales department with all the credit card details and the total paid which I also confirmed the next day. The receptionist proceeded to mock me that I wouldn't be able to get into the room because he had blocked my keycard. Terrible place, not recommended and will be staying away from there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear CGTheo ,
We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding that took place at our hotel with our employee on duty at the reception desk following the extension of your stay for the extra five days. We are obliged by law to adhere to very strict security protocols when a credit card is used for room payments especially when guests can not present the card in question. We do understand that you found the procedure very disturbing and we are certain that a future visit to our hotel will certainly meet with your high expectations
Yours sincerely .
Dimitris Papastergiou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The noise from the highway is terrible, only to be drowned out by the sound of the air conditioner.
The room's air conditioner was not working - could not be switched off.
The carpets in the two rooms we stayed in were disgustingly dirty! I didn't want to stand on them. I developed allergies from this carpet- it is literally brown outside the bathroom!
We stayed for two weeks, the bathroom was only thoroughly cleaned maybe two times.
The toilet kept on getting blocked and we had to go to the toilet downstairs.
The service at the restaurant downstairs is appalling! We waited about half an hour to be attended to, with rude servers in the morning.
The lifts are tiny and claustrophobic.
This hotel needs a major revamp
The only positive is that you can walk to glyfada shops in 20 minutes, although there are no decent nearby beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meliss0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Διευθυντής at Best Western Hotel Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Meliss0708 ,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments from your stay at BW Fenix Hotel.
We were very concerned to hear about this inconvenience after your departure of our Hotel . According to these we have to refer the following:
Firstly referring to your annoyance for the noise coming from road , you knew in advance that also offer rooms facing to the famous golf area of Glyfada ,which are completely quite.
Second during your 2-weeks stay at the hotel you never complaint about air condition and cleanness .Regarding the clean less issue of the rooms , are subjected to regular checks and are cleaned on a daily basis by accordance with our Hotel policy standards. It is indeed surprise that during your stay the maid cleaned your rooms only twice !!!
Last but not least referring to your complaints for the hotel's lifts we have to clarify that both of them are according to international regulations. Every lift transfer up to 5 adults .
Once again ,we feel sorry for the experience you had . Do hope to be given another opportunity to welcome back and prove that we can serve better.
Sincerely yours
D. Papastergiou - Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Knowing we had to be at the airport early next day we booked on the way to the airport. The receptionist made clear he had rather not seen us at all. Lift was not working ("technician only comes tomorrow") so suitcases were pushed up the stairs (receptionist could not care less, was not even willing to keep the door open). Rooms were dirty. I admit it can be even worse, but for 80 euro's, mold in the bathroom, black hairs in the bath and toothpaste on the mirror, seem a bit to much for me. Unfortunately there was no room to open your suitcase,. Do it on your bed; get your stuff out; and close the thing again, seemed the best solution. No wonder I recommend to ban the place! Worst value for money I have ever experienced.
Regards, Wimar

Room Tip: get the lowest level possible, lift is un-usefull !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wimar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.5 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 14 in Glyfada
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 14 in Glyfada
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 14 in Glyfada
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartments
Oasis Hotel Apartments
#10 of 14 in Glyfada
180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Fenix

Address: 1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada 166 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range: £58 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN FENIX, one of the best hotels in Glyfada is a member of the largest global hotel chain BEST WESTERN and is the ideal place to stay during your visit to Athens ! Within walking distance of the cosmopolitan town of Glyfada and within easy access to the historic centre of Athens the BEST WESTERN FENIX HOTEL offers a high standard of hospitality that can satisfy both leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Best Western Glyfada
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing