We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We organized a roadshow for our Greek customers the second time in this great Hotel. This because of the good prices but more important the great service of all the staff. They are very flexible and helpfull with all you need.

The location is great as well to enjoy the sea and nightlife of Glafyda.

I recommend this hotel for both business and holidays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Διευθυντής at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Arald K ,
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments for BEST WESTERN FENIX and my staff . I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Truly yours
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    81
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
58
90
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Best Western in Glyfada is a 3 stars hotel, at least. It was a time in Greece when the region of Piraeus, Glyfada and others were luxurious and expensive areas. Right now, because of the economic crises in the entire world but more expressed in Greece remain a little bit outside of the wanted areas. It is not far away from the city center. The hotel itself is just OK for several nights. It is not a luxury one but also the prices are not exorbitant. The wireless it is OK (you need to take an username and a password from the reception but without extra charge), the food is tasty and pleasant both for the breakfast but also as a simple restaurant. The staff is helpful and friendly. Being not quite a new hotel sure that, like all the hotels, the air of decoration and furniture outdated may appear, but on the other hand the ratio price quality I think that it is reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

In my opinion this place was no cleaner or better than the cheap hostels I've stayed in through out Europe.The wifi at the hotel had poor connection. The room was tiny and carpets stained. I requested two beds so they put two mattresses on one bed frame, it's a joke, our safe didn't work, everyday it was something else going wrong. In order to keep the air conditioning or lights on you had to put your key card in a little slot by the door, and even with it in after a certain amount of time it would shut off. So if you want to come back to nice cool air conditioned room after a day out, forget about it!

Originally we booked over a weeks stay through Expedia but when we saw how dirty and disgusting the room was we wanted to get out. I paid an extra fee for free cancellation the fee was added to each daily rate. Well apparently once you check in you can't cancel the rest of your stay which was not made clear to me when I booked the trip. So I talked to one of the receptionists and the manager letting them know that I was unhappy with the hotel and I wanted to cancel the rest of the stay. I was told by the manager that they couldn't refund my money because I paid through Expedia so I would have to contact Expedia about getting a refund.
Well I used up an expensive prepaid travel phone calling Expedia because I was so desperate to get out. When I called Expedia they were willing to work with me but they had to call the hotel on their end to verify everything and when they tried to, they told me that the hotel refused to refund our money. So basically the hotel manager told me it was out of his hands but he was lying because it was very much in his control.
I then had all of my family members back home continuously calling and complaining to Expedia because I used up my travel phone and my cell would have charged outrageous charges for the international call.
Finally the manager approached me and told me that I would be allowed to leave and be refunded for the rest of my stay. He even offered the hotel phone to call Expedia.

While on the phone with Expedia I wanted to make sure that we still paid for a couple of extra charges (for instance: we used our room phone a couple times and I think we had breakfast one day) because I wasn't trying to get a refund for any services or days we used only for the unused stay. Suddenly the hotel manager started yelling and screaming at me telling me to hang up the phone telling me that my phone call was going to cost the hotel a lot of money (another lie because it was a land line and for landlines in Greece you pay one fee for long distance phone service you don't pay by individual phone call). Even the customer service rep from Expedia on the phone could hear the manager freaking out and told me he was try to expedite the refund but to just hold on for one minute while they enter everything. So I had to try and explain and reason with the manager who was demanding that I immediately hang up the phone (why did you offer the phone in the first place?)
Maybe the manager misunderstood me when I was trying to make sure Expedia was only refunding for the unused nights (his English was not the best)... It really doesn't matter because his behavior was beyond unprofessional. It's one thing if a member of the hotel staff had been a little rude but he's in a managerial position, no wonder the hotel was practically empty. By the way the manager was a middle aged man and he was yelling at me, a 22 year old girl with my grandmother.

Thank goodness I escaped this place... Beware those of you considering staying here the hotel is dirty and dated and the manager is incompetent, unprofessional, and rude!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Γενικός Διευθυντής at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Ashley N,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your detailed comments on Trip Advisor , nine months after your stay at the BW Fenix Hotel.
We very much regret that your stay did not meet with your satisfaction .I would like to clarify the following points which may have been misleading to the readers :
Originally you booked your stay for 11 nights at our hotel through Expedia.com. After 3 nights of staying in our hotel you informed our head receptionist that you wanted to leave our hotel due to the fact that the hotel was not to your liking. We even offered to upgrade you to another room at no extra cost. Nevertheless, you refused and decided to leave our hotel. Because of the fact that on that day there were many arrivals and departures, I asked you to use the managerial landline to better serve your needs. Together we started to contact Expedia.com (whose representatives are abroad) via phone. This was done with you, in order to ensure that you did not incur any additional costs for the nights which you were not going to be staying in the hotel. The BW Fenix refunded all the money for all the remaining nights which you did not stay to Expedia.com. On the same day you received an email from Expedia before midday, informing you that the remaining money would be refunded to you. From our side we tried our best to make sure you were treated fairly , as Expedia.com would not have given you a refund, unless we had agreed to it, as this is their policy. This was done in a very professional and efficient way.
You consequently left our hotel, thanked us and even wrote us a letter expressing your satisfaction with the way you were treated.
Therefore your post on Trip Advisor, 9 months after your stay came as a surprise to all the hotel staff. Sincerely . General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glyfada hotels

Cephalonia, Greece
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have been staying at the Fenix once or twice a year for the last 5 years and although this hotel is not somewhere you would rave about, it does represent good value if you book ahead and you can count on a good standard of service and cleanliness. The king-size bed (in a limited number of double-bedded rooms) was comfortable, free wifi was available in the room and the airconditioning worked well (we were staying in the winter and it heated the room in no time). The bathroom was small but the shower efficient with plenty of hot water. The breakfast is always reasonable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the centre of Glyfada, there is plenty of parking right outside and easy access for both the beach and the tram for central Athens. My only niggle is that the last two times we stayed here the rooms smelled of smoke, even though they were supposedly non-smoking rooms. I would prefer to give this hotel a 'good' rating rather than 'average' (if available) but wouldn't stretch to 'very good'!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have stayed here a few times.The staff are friendly and the breakfast is excellent.You can usually get a buffet meal in the evening or a meal in the bar.The prices are a bit steep but the food is good.
There is ample parking outside the hotel.
Some of the rooms overlook a scrapyard!
You can get wi fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoupastomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Διευθυντής at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Google Translation
Σας ευχαριστούμε πολύ που διαθέσατε τον πολύτιμο χρόνο σας για να αξιολογήσετε το Ξενοδοχείο Best Western Fenix. . Με μεγάλη μας χαρά διαβάσαμε ότι μείνατε ευχαριστημένος κατά την παραμονή σας, από το φιλικό προσωπικό και το εξαιρετικό πρωινό .Θα χαρούμε πολύ να σας καλωσορίσουμε για άλλη μία φορά στο Ξενοδοχείο μας στην επόμενη επίσκεψη σας στην Γλυφάδα .
Με εκτίμηση .
Δ. Παπαστεργίου
Γ.Διευθυντής
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in Fenix Hotel for 20 days during summer. The room was excellent, the food was very delicious and the position of the hotel was ideal. In front of the sea and near the center of Glyfada. I am very satisfied from the quality of the hotel. I recommend hotel FENIX to everyone who needs high quality staying in Athens. For sure I will come back!!
Thank you FENIX!!

Room Tip: The rooms infront of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VASILIKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Vaisliki ,
We are so glad that the Best Western Fenix Hotel was the right place for you to stay so long for your time in Greece!! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. We hope to see you again soon. Your sincerely .G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

At the end of last October my husband and I, stayed at hotel BW Fenix, for the second time in two years.
We find the hotel good value for money and the personnel is friendly, well skilled and make us feel very welcome. We find this last very important. Our wishes or needs were smoothly and swiftly answered.
The hotel is situated outside the noisy and busy Athens centrum but conveniently close to what one could call Athens ring road. One can within 20' (by car) reach the international airport of Athens. Free and easy parking in front of the hotel is an asset to us. If one is without a car, no problem, bus stops or tram station are nearby.
The status of the rooms as well as the other hotel facilities is satisfactory, still they could use a face lift in order to better accommodate guests with special needs or higher standards. Even though times are financially rough, renovation would upgrade hotel overall quality standard and make longer stays more comfortable.
M. de Koning - Holland

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nice view, also looking towards the sea, however the ring road is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marja de K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIS1956, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Marja de K.
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share with us your opinion.
Any further comments that will help us become aware of what our guests needs are and where improvement is needed, are highly appreciated and taken under serious consideration
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We really hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely .
Dimitris Papastergiou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.6 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#4 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#5 of 15 in Glyfada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
Address: 1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN FENIX, one of the best hotels in Glyfada is a member of the largest global hotel chain BEST WESTERN and is the ideal place to stay during your visit to Athens ! Within walking distance of the cosmopolitan town of Glyfada and within easy access to the historic centre of Athens the BEST WESTERN FENIX HOTEL offers a high standard of hospitality that can satisfy both leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Best Western Glyfada
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing