We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but Rude Receptionist”
Review of Emmantina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emmantina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel but Rude Receptionist”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel has a great location, very close to everything, shops, restaurants, the tram and the beach. The room rates are good value because it includes breakfast and free bus shuttle to and from the airport. Overall good value.

However from the time we checked and during our entire stay we had bad experiences with a very moody and rude receptionist called Rena.

While checking in, our rooms were not ready and we were asked to wait. During the hour long wait we naturally kept inquiring on the status of our rooms, we had been traveling for almost 24hr from Thailand and transit in Turkey to Greece. Instead of being helpful she very rudely told us that this was the 4th time we were discussing the same subject and sort of told us to shut up and wait. Even during our stay, when we had dealings with her, there were little incidents that were not very pleasant.

We are guest, paying for the rooms as well as the service and not some inmates.

However to be fair, the other female receptionist was extremely helpful and pleasant and
I would still return to this hotel but avoid the rude and moody receptionist.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhondupAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    115
    61
    16
    14
See reviews for
66
68
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We went to Athens for a wedding, stayed 3 nights in this hotel and it was great location for us and at a very reasonable price (which included the breakfast).
The hotel is at:
- 35-40 min by bus from the airport (5.8 Euro for two tickets) or Euro 35-40 by taxi.
- 5 minutes walk from the Glyfada shopping area, 7-10 min from restaurants/bars.
The rooms were simple, clean, decent size, renovated bathrooms, at 3rd and 4th floor you get a see view (not full as there are a few buildings in front obstructing it). One thing I discovered only during the second day is that the balcony had direct view to the hall way so not much privacy.
There is a rooftop pool, if you get up later you will have to wait for towels, and may not find a sun bed in a busy weekend day.

The staff was very helpful, friendly. If you need an ironing board and an iron make sure you speak to reception way in advance as there is only one for tourists and other people might have booked it already

The entire experience was very pleasant.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor if you want some sea view, and also avoid to be in the rooms at the end of the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loana2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here with family in May. Great hotel, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, a short walk to beach & Glyfada. Weather was great, 28/30 degrees for most of the week. Good food and plenty of it. Would recommend a room towards the back of the hotel as the motorway is noisy! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are less noisy but rooms to the front have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baudette, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here with a large tour group in July. The lobby is nice--didn't charge for wi-fi. Breakfast buffet was the best of our trip--many options. Rooms were simple, not fancy, but bathrooms were newly redone and nice. Rooftop pool isn't huge but it was clean and refreshing. Lawn chairs out by the roof bar to soak in sun and friendly bartender. Can also order food on rooftop, where you can view the sea. Another plus was walking only a couple blocks to many restaurants and nice shops.

Front desk lady was sooooooo nice and helped me out after I bought 2 left shoes on a Greek Island! She called them and a store in Athens, got them to replace the wrong shoe, drew out my route on a map, etc.--just went above and beyond!

Negatives? Hard bed if you prefer soft. It is RIGHT on the very busy,highway--so dangerous to cross or even get out of a cab! However, I could NOT hear the highway from my room at all. Double doors on the verandah do the trick. Not a great view from any room unless you are on top and can view the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Superbly helpful staff in a comfortable and air conditioned hotel.
Good food in the restaurant at lunch and dinner. Breakfast gave a great choice.
Pool bar & pool on the roof is great, especially good watching the sunset.
Tram service runs nearby for access to central Athens.
Would be very happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, from the road. Higher floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190725SteveG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel is clean and well worth the price. Staff are friendly. Rooms are not very modern and some furniture are not to the European standard but it is acceptable if you are in a beach holiday.
The bar on the roof is nice place to relax if it is not too hot or too cold. It has plastic clear curtains so you can enjoy it even when it raining. Bartenders are warm and funny.
Internet connection is not very good but again if you are in holiday you can live with it.
Beach is within 10 minutes of pleasant walk in green valleys.
Don't miss the nice restaurant near the beach. It is 15 minutes walk along the beach from where the hotel is, towards the West.
You can go to the city by tram and it takes 45 minutes to reach city center where all the beautiful historical sites are.
You can come and go back to airport by bus.
both bus and tram stations are within minutes to the hotel.
There are lots of bars and restaurants in Glyfada center which is 5 minutes walk form the hotel to the East.
If you take rooms with sea view, be careful as the street in front of the hotel is busy all night and the cars are quite noisy.
If you cross the street be sure you cross when the designated area is. Poeple do not drive live other places in Greece.

Room Tip: Rooms facing West are less noisy as they are far from street but you still have the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babak L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very noisy rooms with old cheap furniture painted with cold grey colours that makes you feel uncomfortable. Not only the high way traffic will not allow you to sleep but also the room maids that started talking loud every morning at 7:00. Reception did not pay any attention to our complaints. Bathroom was nice. Drinks and internet was very expensive. Hotel staff was not friendly at all apart from the polite barman. Breakfast was very poor and of a bad quality, dinner was awful. Restaurant was dirty in general. This is one of the worst hotels i have ever been.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AssManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glyfada hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartments
Oasis Hotel Apartments
#9 of 15 in Glyfada
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Fenix
Best Western Hotel Fenix
#10 of 15 in Glyfada
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmantina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmantina Hotel

Property: Emmantina Hotel
Address: 33 Possidonos, Glyfada, Athens 166 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Emmantina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emmantina is a fully air-conditioned 4-star modern hotel situated in the fashionable beach resort of Glyfada which offers numerous entertainment possibilities, only 15km from the heart of the city of Athens and 200m from a sandy breach. Our guest rooms are air-conditioned, sound proof and comfortably furnished with inviting balconies overlooking the Apollo Coast. Standard features in all rooms are among others: fast internet data port, color television featuring satellite channels and room safes. The bathrooms are modern and feature hairdryer and telephone. The hotel also features a panoramic roof garden with swimming pool and bar, an elegant restaurant, a conference and banqueting room, a tourist shop and a night club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emmantina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmantina Hotel Glyfada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing