We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think you can do better” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emmantina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emmantina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
198 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“I think you can do better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Emmantina is definitely a hotel that seems to cater to large and young tour groups (mostly students from western countries). Like any Greek hotel at any price, it is very clean. The exterior is not impressive. It is definitely on a very busy street with lots of car noise. Parking is extremely tight and limited. Distance from public transportation is walkable but that all depends on how hot or cold the weather is as to its convenience. Parking in Glyfada is extremely tight so that means it is more convenient to walk and that is about 1/2 mile or so. We were there during a heat wave of about 35C. The air conditioning for the staff in the lobby/breakfast area was great. The AC in the rooms translated to no more than a gentle breeze that was similar in temperature to the outside. So it was very uncomfortable. The balcony in the room was spacious but not usable as the street noise (even on the 5th floor was loud). The room had double glass sliding doors but that barely cut the noise level down even at midnight. The flooring was peculiar. As another blogger described, it appears to be the rubber matting that is found benefit carpet. Internet is not free. TV stations are limited. There is a mini refrigerator that worked well. Beds were not comfortable. Yes, there is a pool on the roof but consider that it might have 50 frolicking teenagers in it at any given time and imagine the condition of the area after they leave for the day. Bathroom was very small and hot but usable. Housekeeping staff were pleasant. The manager (John?) was a real gentlemen. There was a desk clerk (name? Late middle aged with large mustache) that was very helpful and pleasant to speak with. However, the rest of the hotel front desk staff seemed to experience one too many tourists and seemed that we were more an announce than anything else. The beaches adjacent to the hotel are some of the worst on the Apollo coast. Breakfast was actually very good and so was the breakfast area (and it was pleasantly air conditioned). There are many pay/and free beaches of high quality not that much farther down the coast.

I suppose the decision to stay at this hotel would depend on whether you received a good deal and then setting your expectations accordingly. We paid about $80/night so our expectation was not that high.

I once lived in Glyfada for several years. It has now become a beach resort but consider that visitors are primarily Athenians driving or taking public transportation into Glyfada. That might explain the paucity of good hotels in this community. However, you should note that there are many excellent restaurants in Glyfada as well as various services. It has a bit of a rough exterior but the town does grow on you.

In terms of a stay, your options are rather limited. You could stay in Athens with the noise, congestion, no place to park (or drive for that matter) but close to the sites. Or you could go further down the coast to Voula or Voulagmeni for the beaches but you would need a car as public transportation is not that frequent there. You could stay at the beach resorts down the coast and drive to Glyfada and take the tram into Athens when needed but parking in Glyfada is difficult.

Room Tip: We tried a couple of rooms. They are all the same. As others have written; you might consider aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    111
    57
    14
    14
See reviews for
62
66
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

A lovely seaside hotel easily accessible to Athens. Internet and breakfast both quite good. A sweet shopping area is nearby.
This hotel is very reasonably priced and has very nice rooms and quality service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Clean hotel with great breakfast walking distance from a great shopping and restaurant area, beware when crossing, they drive very fast here and do not yield to pedestrians. Staff were warm and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms are small but clean. Busy hotel and agree common areas can get very noisy as they seem to accommodate large groups. I really liked the walking distance to a nice shopping and restaurant area. Seemed far from the center of the city when using the public transportation and multiple stops. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubySlippers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel about two weeks ago. I found that the hotel held a very high standard in cleanliness and the staff were efficient and courteous but was disappointed with the standard of food offered in light of the star rating the hotel advertises on its website. The hotel is listed as four star but in my mind would really only consider this hotel to be a good 2 start / decent 3 star at best. I was on a B&B deal and considering the great food you can get in Greece, I felt that the breakfast was disappointing, one example was the orange juice consisting of what seemed to be synthetic orange squash as opposed to actual orange juice and the buffet choice to be limited.

Room Tip: You are looking onto a busy motorway but are close to the tram and also bus routes into Athens city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConamaraGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing drink on the balcony of an evening then this isn't the hotel for you. There is a large and very busy main road outside which remains busy day and night. The hotel is central so there is just a short walk into town. The room we had was quite small but very clean, the bathroom and bedding was spotless.
Drinks on the roof terrace are expensive, 7 euro for 2 cans of iced tea. Also worth noting the hotel hand book advises that food and drinks cannot be brought in from outside shops etc, we did taked canned drinks in and nothing was said.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a room nearer the rear of the hotel to hopefully cut down on traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

During our holiday in greece me and my wife stayed at Emmantina Hotel, It was a wonderful experience the food was great, the view from our hotel room was amazing and the staff were very courteous and friendly, they even went out of their way to arrange a trip of the historical sites and ensured we had an unforgetable experience of a lifetime. Looking forward to visit you guys again. Cheers to Emmantina Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabrez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

On our return to the Greece mainland we chose to stay near the beach. This hotel was listed as a "beach" stay, nope. There is a 4 lane highway directly outside the hotel, cars are traveling at very high speeds and are loud. The noise from the traffic will penetrate the walls and glass of your room should you stay in a "sea view" room. The staff went out of their way to assist us in some computer/fax/printer work we had to do back in the states. I would give the hotel 3 stars if it weren't for the staff. Breakfast is complimentary and was very good, shopping is about 1/2 mile to the south where you will find a lot of modern stores, and restaurants. The bus line is also next to the hotel and will bring you to Athens, as well as the tram which is a few clicks towards the sea. The rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable, the bath tub is narrow so keeping your balance while showering can be challenging. I would stay there again, but I would choose a room near the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the sea are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidB2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#5 of 15 in Glyfada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmantina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmantina Hotel

Property: Emmantina Hotel
Address: 33 Possidonos, Glyfada, Athens 166 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Emmantina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emmantina is a fully air-conditioned 4-star modern hotel situated in the fashionable beach resort of Glyfada which offers numerous entertainment possibilities, only 15km from the heart of the city of Athens and 200m from a sandy breach. Our guest rooms are air-conditioned, sound proof and comfortably furnished with inviting balconies overlooking the Apollo Coast. Standard features in all rooms are among others: fast internet data port, color television featuring satellite channels and room safes. The bathrooms are modern and feature hairdryer and telephone. The hotel also features a panoramic roof garden with swimming pool and bar, an elegant restaurant, a conference and banqueting room, a tourist shop and a night club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Emmantina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmantina Hotel Glyfada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing