We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow! I must have stayed in a different establishment to tom below. My wife and I had a week at the Golden Sun in late May. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I agree the beds are firm but we were given a mattress topper after we mentioned this fact and that made a great difference.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and must say the staff are there to make sure everything is ok, not standing guard to stop you taking anything from the room.
I found all the staff to be helpful and friendly, and while a week is probably too long to spend in Glyfada, it is not too long the spend at the Golden Sun. The tram to Athens or Piraeus runs right behind the hotel, beach and the centre of town are only short walks away, and plenty of restaurants are nearby. All in all, great value for money. The best choice in Glyfada as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanoNorthPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel staff seemed nice to begin with but as the days went on we realised that they were surly and intrusive. We stayed in the junior suite which was spacious and clean, however the bed felt like concrete and we could have slept better on the floor. The breakfast selection was great and the quality was above average. However, the staff made it a very uncomfortable experience as they watch you eat every single bite to make sure you're not taking anything with you and humiliate you if you do. One morning we were rudely asked to leave whilst we were eating because breakfast was over. We were told we could take our unfinished meal to our room but this would have cost us €3 each.
After coming back from the beach one day we decided to take a nap and found one of the pillow cases had been changed from clean to filthy. They had replaced our once-slept on pillow case with one stained with something that can only be described as excrement-looking.
The pool area was pleasant but when asked to shower before swimming we found that the showers were broken and the tiles were either missing or broken. The hotel is not right on the beach and has no view but is only a 5 minute walk to the private beach. The only view is the 6 lane highway or the tram which runs every 15mins and passes directly outside the hotel pool area.
It is quite a walk or a 5 minute tram ride to town but there is nothing around the hotel, not even a corner shop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For the price this is a great hotel in a very "local" location in upmarket Glyfada.

The reception staff, and pool stuff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is nearby several popular local managed beaches (although the best are a little further out of town)

It is however obvious this hotel hasn't really been updated since the 80s however at these prices and the great service one can't complain too much.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waseem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel was nice it is in a really nice location close to the beach and shopping.
The staff was great some of the most friendly helpful girls I have ever met they all deserve a raise!
Breakfast was included and really good for continental.
The only complaint would be the beds and pillows they could definitely be replaced

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WADE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The ladies on the staff here are so helpful. Especially Irene. The men not so much, more hit and miss. Sometimes we would get a tea pot with breakfast other times we would be told were we can make tea. That followed through the hotel experience. The young lady at the bar was always cheerful in giving us ice, the man grudgingly gave us a small portion.

The tram to Athens was close by. Pro easy to get into the city but a long 1 hour ride, con you heard the tram going by from your room. Pro to and from the airport an easy 5 euro bus ride, no need for a taxi and we are in our 70s.


The bed was very small and we used a sofa bd along with the bed for the two of us.
A friend from Glyfada suggested the hotel. I do not know the prices in Athens but we booked 25 euros and we booked 80 euro places that were much better but in more remote locations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcoman34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel while traveling to Greece for a wedding with friends. The hotel's furniture is extremely outdated and has clearly not been updated in decades. However, it was very clean with a nice sided bathroom. Each room seemed to have a balcony which was also very nice. It is within easy walking distance to anywhere you want to go in Glyfada including a very nice close beach club. The tram into Athens is pretty simple and leaves you in the city center but does take up to an hour. A taxi is much quicker but runs about 20 Euro each way to the main tourist sites.

The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The rate we got was great (a negotiated rate for wedding guests), so I am not sure about the value otherwise.

Things to note: Like many hotels in Europe, there was no conditioner in the room, but if you ask, the staff will track some down for you. The blow dryer is very weak (one of those ones that are attached to the wall with a hose) and will take you quite a while to dry your hair, but gets the job done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passportnecessary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Changed to this hotel after having stayed two nights in a hotel that did not quite live up to our expectations. We were very happy with the Golden Sun Hotel. The ladies both in the reception and in the breakfast room were very helpful and positive. We had a room on the top floor with a fine view to the sea. The beach road passes nearby with a lot of traffic but it was still far enough not to disturb the night's sleep. The hotel is just next to the new and convenient tram which can take you either to the centre of Glyfada or all the way to Syntagma Square in the centre of Athens. The express-bus to the airport also stop right across the road from the hotel. It took somewhere between 30 and 45 minutes to go to the airport in quite busy traffic. A nice thing about the hotel was the beautiful pool, quietly "behind" the hotel. There was service from the bar so we didn't even have to get up from the sun-chairs in order to get cool drinks in the warm sun. Will be happy to come here again if we happen to be in the area.

Room Tip: We had, as said, a room facing the sea. I am not sure if there are rooms that do not face the sea. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
0.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
1.0 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#4 of 14 in Glyfada
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 14 in Glyfada
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 14 in Glyfada
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blazer Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Address: 72 Dimarchou Angelou Metaxa Street & Kritis Square, Glyfada 166 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range: £80 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Glyfada, the capital of the southern Athenian suburbs, the Golden Sun is awaiting, a welcoming smile introducing that help is always at hand! Enjoy the comfort offered in our rooms as well as the magical effects of the cosmopolitan area where we are situated. Relax at the cool flowering garden enjoying a drink at the sparkling waters of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing