We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a 1 night stay after disembarking our yacht”
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
KLOCK1
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine for a 1 night stay after disembarking our yacht”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is dated, but it is clean and the staff are friendly. Good pool area. Perfect if you are in transit following a cruise to Athens airport. The airport bus stops 50 yards from the hotel and will take you directly to the departure terminal of Athens airport in approx 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLOCK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina K, Director of Sales at Golden Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation in you taking the time to write your feedback following your stay at the Golden Sun Hotel, as we depend on our guests’ experiences and reviews in order to constantly innovate and improve.

Best Regards
Dina Kotrona
Marketing & Sales Manager
Golden Sun Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    77
    28
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
54
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is located in Glyfada, very close to tram and bus stops but one hour away from athens city centre. There are many shops, restaurants and bars in the area and a supermaket. Both public and private beaches within walking distance.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly (they took time to help us as often as we needed) but it is definitely not a 4**** hotel. Maybe a 2 ** hotel.

Rooms are not up to standards, furnitures make you travel back in the 70's, old carpet. It's a bit of a shock when you first walk in, you don't get what you see in the photos. The rooms they use to advertise the place look so much more luxurious…
We had a pool view room and it was quite noisy due to the traffic and specially the tram, passing every 5-10 noisy minutes, even late at night and very early in the morning.
The Wi-Fi signal was very unreliable and broke down quite often.
The pool is not heated and is freezing and is only good for length swimming. In the afternoon you dont get any more direct sunshine in the pool, you can only sunbathe here in the morning.
We thought the hotel was overpriced given the appearance of the rooms and public areas.

Room Tip: Do not take a pool view room, it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our first impression of Athens as a city was when we checked into the Golden Sun Hotel in Glyfada, Athens. We were certainly not dissapointed as the staff took great care of us with loads of advice and recommendations. Tram stop is nearby in a hip part of Athens and not too crowed. Tram ride into the city is cheap, nice and picturesque as it travels up the coastline.
Also great location as not too far from Athens airport.
Thanks Tatiana for looking after us, your warm smile, and tips for getting around Athens and Zakynthos!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Perth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow! I must have stayed in a different establishment to tom below. My wife and I had a week at the Golden Sun in late May. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I agree the beds are firm but we were given a mattress topper after we mentioned this fact and that made a great difference.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and must say the staff are there to make sure everything is ok, not standing guard to stop you taking anything from the room.
I found all the staff to be helpful and friendly, and while a week is probably too long to spend in Glyfada, it is not too long the spend at the Golden Sun. The tram to Athens or Piraeus runs right behind the hotel, beach and the centre of town are only short walks away, and plenty of restaurants are nearby. All in all, great value for money. The best choice in Glyfada as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanoNorthPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel staff seemed nice to begin with but as the days went on we realised that they were surly and intrusive. We stayed in the junior suite which was spacious and clean, however the bed felt like concrete and we could have slept better on the floor. The breakfast selection was great and the quality was above average. However, the staff made it a very uncomfortable experience as they watch you eat every single bite to make sure you're not taking anything with you and humiliate you if you do. One morning we were rudely asked to leave whilst we were eating because breakfast was over. We were told we could take our unfinished meal to our room but this would have cost us €3 each.
After coming back from the beach one day we decided to take a nap and found one of the pillow cases had been changed from clean to filthy. They had replaced our once-slept on pillow case with one stained with something that can only be described as excrement-looking.
The pool area was pleasant but when asked to shower before swimming we found that the showers were broken and the tiles were either missing or broken. The hotel is not right on the beach and has no view but is only a 5 minute walk to the private beach. The only view is the 6 lane highway or the tram which runs every 15mins and passes directly outside the hotel pool area.
It is quite a walk or a 5 minute tram ride to town but there is nothing around the hotel, not even a corner shop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For the price this is a great hotel in a very "local" location in upmarket Glyfada.

The reception staff, and pool stuff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is nearby several popular local managed beaches (although the best are a little further out of town)

It is however obvious this hotel hasn't really been updated since the 80s however at these prices and the great service one can't complain too much.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waseem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel was nice it is in a really nice location close to the beach and shopping.
The staff was great some of the most friendly helpful girls I have ever met they all deserve a raise!
Breakfast was included and really good for continental.
The only complaint would be the beds and pillows they could definitely be replaced

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WADE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
1.0 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#6 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#4 of 15 in Glyfada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blazer Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Property: Golden Sun Hotel
Address: 72 Dimarchou Angelou Metaxa Street & Kritis Square, Glyfada, Athens 166 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Glyfada, the capital of the southern Athenian suburbs, the Golden Sun is awaiting, a welcoming smile introducing that help is always at hand! Enjoy the comfort offered in our rooms as well as the magical effects of the cosmopolitan area where we are situated. Relax at the cool flowering garden enjoying a drink at the sparkling waters of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing