We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoped it would be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Sky Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hoped it would be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Booked this hotel mainly because of the great reviews on this site. Unfortunately my experience was somewhat less.
The worsed things were that, we had mould on our curtains and ceiling, the room was not very clean although the cleaning lady did come every day and from 3 out of the 7 days we didn't have hot water. The breakfast, friendly staff and free wifi access were great though.

I know it's one of the cheapest hotels in Glyfada, and that I shouldn't complain that much. But not having hot water to shower, is really frustrating when it's cold outside!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LizyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    70
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
58
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

Nice clean hotel with good rates . we had a one night stay in Athens with an early flight back to USA. It is a few blocks walk to the restaurants in Glyfada. Not a problem for us, but if you don't like to walk be mindful of this. If you plan on sightseeing in Athens I would recommend staying closer to Athens proper( see my review on the Marriott Ledra)

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAM_smitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

My husband, two teenagers and I stayed at the Blue Sky our first night (before going to Piraeus) and last two nights (after leaving Athens) in Greece. It is a pleasant economical place to stay a few blocks away from the commercial (i.e. shopping and restaurant center) of Glyfada. We had what was described on the website as a room for 4 but was actually two rooms sharing one entryway. The Blue Sky is very peaceful and pretty, and the owners, when asked, made extremely useful suggestions about where to eat inexpensively and where to go.

I was mistaken in thinking that Glyfada was a tourist destination in itself. Although a seaside town with a free beach and beach clubs, the commercial area is a few blocks away from the water, so that it doesn't have the feel of a town by the sea. Visitors might also want to know that the bus from the airport or Pireaus was convenient and reasonably fast, taking, respectively about forty minutes and one hour, but the coastal tram takes over an hour to get from Syntagma to Glyfada.

If I went to Greece again, I would stay at the Blue Sky as a base for exploring Cape Sounio by car.

  • Liked — Quiet location, value, rooms, owners
  • Disliked — not crazy about Glyfada
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2007

I have stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for 2 nights. We have found this hotel via internet and we found exactly what we saw on the web.
Quite nice, comfortable, ok breakfast, nice and clean rooms. Even if there is no mini bar in the room, you may get tea, coffee, drinks ah the hotel bar during the whole night (and at very cheap prices comparing the prices at the other places in Athens).
Location is also very convinient and hotel employees friendly.
With no doubts, i would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Macica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2006

Booked on venere.com. The hotel is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood in one of Athen's finest areas (Glyfada). Close to shopping area, tram, restaurants/cafés/clubs/bars and beach (NOT too far to walk at all, which I saw an other review has mentioned). Standard but good breakfast, staff was very friendly. Nice looking both outside and inside, room very comfortable sith a balcony. I was very happy here and would love to come back!

  • Liked — location, quality, nice price, friendliness of staff
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pt1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2005

Our family stayed in the hotel for three days, right after arriving in Greece from Canada. The staff here was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were nice if a bit old looking, but that's europe for you! Nice bathrooms with a small shower, A/C worked very well, fridge too. Breakfast was very good and plentiful, with a pleasant dining room. Minutes away from the tram to Athens, and easy access to Glyfada's shopping. Beaches a little far to walk to on a hot day, but if you have a car there are plenty up the coast within a 5 min drive.

I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
1.1 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
1.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minavra Hotel
Minavra Hotel
#2 of 6 in Voula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#6 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#4 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Hotel

Property: Blue Sky Hotel
Address: | Eleftherias 26 & Zamanou, Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing