We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Auful!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpen-Stube

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alpen-Stube
Ranked #162 of 241 Restaurants in Glyfada
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Auful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I am greek and I have been in many beer houses in Athens but this was really the only awful! Although the decoration was in germal style and reminded of a beer house, the food reminded more of a greek tavern with a selection of beer than an authentic german beer house.Most of the authentic german dishes were not in the menu which was very poor. The dishes we ordered were nothing special but the peak of the night was that I asked for Brezel but they did not have Brezel ! I also asked for Schnitzel but that they had no Schnitzel! We had already reserved,we were there early but they did not have Schnitzel or Brezel in their beer house!!!!.For this I ordered Gordon Blue and asked not to have ham for this dish and they said that they cannot do this because the Gordon Blue is ready and they cannot remove the ham. They gave me the impression that it was bought frozen (ready) .I ordered Sangria wine and they brought wine without fruits in it .Furthermore this wine tasted like water and it gave me the impression that it was exactly like this that you can buy cheap in bottles in the Supermarket nearby.The beer also nothing special. The staff (a man) rude enough. Very expensive for the poor and ready things that it offers.We left hungry and went to eat souvlaki.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice selection of beers and german dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice place with a wide selection of imported beers, of several types.

It is quite a refreshing venue in Athens. Their food is quite good. I tried their Sausage platter, which was verg good, with a nicecselection of different and substantial articles.

Their pork knuckle was extremely good as well. Although seemingly quite pricy by greek (€18) standards, it is a dish for 2 making it a resonable order for a couple. Well spiced and literally melting off the bone. As good as any I had in Munich, Prague or elsewhere in Czech.

Their potato salad was a highlight as well.

The restaurant itself has 2 areas. The indoors whicb has nice wooden furniture and walls and a solid fuel fireplace and the yard, where they have tables under the shade of trees. It is located in a quite and beautiful street near the Glyfada golf grounds and away from Glyfada Square's hubbub and noise.

The main issue I have with Alpen Stube is the beer prices. At an average of €6 per 0.5l it is quite pricy and not in line with pint prices in UK, Belgium or DE, even when considering importation.

All in all though, recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belisareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“many many many beers!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you want good sausages and lot of beer...this is the place! the garden is great the service also good!prices are resonable!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryDK412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Selection, German Style Decoration, Decent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have been going to this place for years. They have a great large selection. The place is a bit limited in the winter but in the summer the outside is also open which is great fora nice quiet beer garden situation. THe prices are ok abit expensive but ok. THe food is very good especially the sausage platter.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stilatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpen-Stube also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Alpen-Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing