We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stefanakis Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varkiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This charming hotel is set just far enough from the front to be quiet and secluded but close enough to be extremely convenient for all the attractions in Varkiza.

The beach and many excellent restaurants are nearby.

All the staff are absolutly charming and helpful. The rooms and lounges are impeccably clean. The swimming pool is a huge asset. The hotel is family run and it is very much a hands on approach by the owners who are always discreetly in attendance. Their staff are punctilous in their customer service.

Public service conections to the centre of Athens are good so this is an excellent base for a combined city and beach holiday.

The close proximity to the airport make it ideal for a stop over on your way to or from the islands.or other part of Greece.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieAmorgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

Were staying in this hotel for 3 days,
however the arrangements from the beggining was for 6.
It looks very clean and nice, but the reception staff were grumpy and arrogant. Without any reason they refused as to stay longer and didnt give any notice in advance.
The breakfast cost 8 euro per person. Havent seen the poorer breakfast at all.
The hotel staff carefully monitoring you during the breakfast and if you grab more then you expected the staff looking at you as you are stealing.iT was the last straw that breaks the camel's back
Do not telling about conditioner.
Attention: you have to behave yourself "while on holidays" as diligent child.
Finally we found a very nice hotel calls MIRAMARE, with really nice reception people and their attitude to us. The beach is much closer, train service 3 minute, conditioner for only 60 euro per night.
Tourists PLEASE respect yourself and spend your money with dignity.
Ireland, Dublin

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank gala11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Nothing seemed to work at this hotel! On arrival, I checked out the pool which was my main reason for booking the hotel, but it looked dirty (lots of leaves) and had no sun loungers or chairs around it. I got locked in the pool area as the door was missing a handle to get back in!

The safety deposit box didn't work.

The air con didn't work. I was fobbed off throughout my stay that it would be fixed but it never was. On departure I was told it wasn't very hot anyway.

My request for a discount was flatly refused even though the services offered when I booked were not all available when I stayed there.

Varkiza, however, is a beautiful place with a gorgeous tree-lined promenade with lots of cafes and restaurants to try. The beach is amazing, and the lake at Vouliagmeni (5 mins away on the E22 bus) is also well worth a visit.

I can wholly recommend the two restaurants I ate at in Varkiza; Zaxos which serves amazing souvlaki; and Armande di Pasta, whose staff were very polite, and pizza was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

we were in need of a palce to stay for one night after a "road trip"
around the mainland, and wanted to get close to the airport the next morning, as well as being to go to Sounion for a early morning visit before our flight, and return of our rental car. The hotel was a bit hard to find at first, as it is on a side street, just a couple of blocks south of Starbucks..decent food choices all around you. Varkiza is a commercial beach town with lots of action when we were there. We found a (I would say late 1970's style) clean, basic hotel with a great desk clerk, a decent price (the rate is always better, when we have just walked in, in the evening, in off season resort towns)..we found street parking, got a clean, basic room with a clean basic tile bath, fresh sheets, tv, ac, phone, balcony.. I believe this is owned by a tour operator, so I think it is probably jammed in season. pool was nice (we were on the go to much) Breakfast was typical in this range..decent too. coffee, The staff was very nice. This is a good hit off season, as it gets you to the edge of Athens, at the sea, nearish to the (30 min)airport if you have a car, and in about 40 minutes (we drove more slowly to look at the coast) to Sounion..

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

On the plus side
- very clean
- well run, helpful staff
- nice pool and outdoor areas
- 3am check in was no problem
- close to the beach and shops (fantastic bakery)
- Varkiza is great
On the down side
- the road is noisy
- breakfast was very limited
- decor was dated
Overall, its a budget hotel and you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Have stayed in Hotel Stefanakis from 27th May - 10 June 2007 and enjoyed every minute.
Beautiful room, good bed...important!!!!
The ladies at the Reception have helped me out with some problems I had, a.o. with my sim-card (Dutch) and advised me to have a Greek sim-card!!!! Splendid idea and they installed it for me, because everything was in Greek.
A place to go back to!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JasperBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Popi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varkiza
3.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 6 in Voula
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollonia Hotel Apartments
Apollonia Hotel Apartments
#193 of 282 in Athens
78 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minavra Hotel
Minavra Hotel
#2 of 6 in Voula
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#5 of 14 in Glyfada
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
0 mi away
Parthenis Hotel
Parthenis Hotel
#3 of 6 in Voula
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stefanakis Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stefanakis Hotel Apartments

Address: 17 Afroditis, Varkiza 16672, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Varkiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varkiza
Price Range: £44 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stefanakis Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Stefanakis Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanakis Hotel Varkiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing