We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & great disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view & great disappointment”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I was there from 5th to 10th may 2014. While I agree that the hotel has a great view overlooking Athens and sea but the room looks kinda old and dingy. The tv program was mostly in Greek language. I know I'm in Greece but it'll be great to watch some tv show that I can understand the language either than the news while I'm trying to fall asleep. The doorman was really friendly and helpful though. It's a bit far away from the city. So if you're looking to explore out of the hotel area be prepare to spend big bucks. Love the view but not the room and the location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hust K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso

We are sorry that your stay with us was not as memorable as we would like it to be

Your comments have been shared with my team and are checked carefully

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    307
    99
    36
    13
See reviews for
166
202
48
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I spent only 2 days in this fantastic hotel in the beginning of May. it was the perfect end of a two and a half week Europe holiday! I had advised the hotel prior to our arrival that we were celebrating our fiftienth wedding anniversary.

The manager had kindly upgraded us to an executive room and this was the first of the surprises at check in which was very smooth and such a pleasure. After reading all the reviews on trip advisor about the payment required for wifi, we were pleasantly surprised when we were given access to wifi at no cost! it was good to see that management realised that this was important for their hotel guests. We were also advised that there was a free shuttle service to and from central Greece.

On arriving to our room, we were sent a tray of fruits and drinks to welcome us. the view from the balcony was amazing! It was a view looking onto the pool area and the beautiful beach below. We didnt have some of the issues the other reviewers mentioned, with regards to being able to hear their neighbours. On the contrary, our rooms were quiet - we could not even hear when people were talking in the corridors!

We visited the spa where we were offered a tour through the spa facilities. the pool in the spa has salt water pumped in and different massage jets that can massage different parts of the back, arms and legs and a lounger with massage jets in the pool! We tried this and it was amazing! we felt so refreshed afterwards. We also booked two other appointments at the spa and both were very good. The ladies were professional and sensitive to our needs.

The breakfasts at the hotel were the best throughout our trip through Europe! There was something for everyone, from sausage to mushrooms, to eggs, preserves, pastries, rolls, breads and so much more!

We had dinner both nights at the hotel restaurant and my husband and I both thought the dinners were delish! The staff were very helpful in explaining the various dishes and advising on their choices, which did not disappoint! our favourite was the mushroom soup and the salmon tartare.

We will definitely be back for holidays at this hotel as the experience was excellent and we would love to spend more time in Athens.

My only suggestion would be to consider allowing the shuttle to run until a little later - possibly for an hour after sunset. Please also be wary of the extra charges taxi drivers in Greece want to add onto the meter charges.

Thank you Divani Apollon for ending our celebrations on such a high note!

Room Tip: We had a room on the "side" of the hotel overlooking the pool and beach and we had no issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farieza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your beautiful review following your recent stay at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso

Your comments have been shared with my team and are greatly appreciated

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in our property

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent for company retreats. Good seaside ambience. Close to marina for island cruises. No airport shuttle but taxi costs less than Euro 30. Breakfast spread is terrific. Very helpful staff if you need any enquiries in Greek to remote resort locations. Enjoyed the morning walks by the sea. Restaurants nearby for dinner. Free bus shuttle will take you to Athens city center in 30 minutes. Good for short layover for extended Greek vacation

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is 30min drive from the city but there is a free shuttle.
Beautiful hotel... ideal for relaxing. Nice outdoor pools and one heated indoor pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good but a little bit boring after couple of days. But in general, I had a really nice time and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tialerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso

We are thrilled that your stay was a memorable one and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My room was at 4rth floor with a side sea view. Nice decorated and cozy room. Free WiFi with a password taken from reception. Nice balcony view and you can enjoy a coffee or a meal there. Bed and pillow are comfort enough but not perfect. Room was clear and pleasant. Bathroom has all the amenities. Marble decoration , magnifier mirror , hairdryer etc. Breakfast is served in 0 floor with nice view and it is completed with almost everything you want. Stuff was very polite. The menu of hotel is very good although little overpriced. Salmon and grouper were delicious and amazing!!! I didn't try spa. I will stay again if I come there. The beach is very good near the hotel and sandy. There is a parking for 10euros per night but you can find a parking place near the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stefan0s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are thrilled to read that your stay with us at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso was one to remember!

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon during your next visit

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I would just like to thank The Divani Hotel for its excellence ! The breakfasts were fantastic ! You had an option of sitting outside on the balcony facing the gorgeous pool and the private hotel beach! The rooms were amazing! 100% working air con and clean bathrooms that were made entirely out of marble! The staff and welcoming , comforting and very helpful ! The hotel charges 5€ per day for wifi ! People are complaining about this... Why ? I live in south africa and and that is R80 per day which i think is reasonable... The thing i enjoyed the most at the amazing hotel was , when i got to the hotel ... We went to unpack and we heard a knock on our door , which was room service delivering a complementary
fruit and greek desert basket with a cold water perfect for the heat!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Critic1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Wow! What a great review!

we can't thank you enough! we are thrilled to read that your stay with us was a memorable one!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel during your next visit to Athens

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We just spent 10 days in Divani hotel for family reunion and Easter break. We travel with a one-year old and this drives a lot how we felt about this holiday. On the positive side, the hotel staff is incredibly helpful and responsive and does deserve a 5 star rating. The rest does not. The one word to describe is noisy. It you are unlucky enough to have uneven room number prepare to listen to every car passing by. And the are beeping for no reason - Greek style driving. There are dozen of homeless dogs outside the hotel so in the middle of the night you might wake up thinking one is in your room. There is an incredibly beautiful tiny church next to hotel, but unfortunately with a very loud service daily... After 2 days suffering we managed to change the rooms to pool side and that did increase our spirits significantly. Unfortunately internal sound isolation is really poor as well. We could hear our neighbours loud and clear in the bathroom. It smelled smoke every time they lit a cigarette inside (bizarre should be forbidden). Finally in preparation for season there were many works in the hotel - so hammering and paint smell in the corridor was a norm. All and all the hotel with very good potential - location, swimming pool area - but outdated and not well kept. We were really surprised that it is part of 'leading hotels...' May be it was in 2004 but time has passed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are sorry that your stay with us was not as memorable as we would like it to be

All your comments have been noted and shared with our staff. However please note that the daily service of the church was only due to Easter period. Usually it operates every Sunday. Further more we are sorry you were in the period of high mentainance of the hotel due to summer season which is our high season as well

We really hope we will have the chance to accommodate you again in our property in a better timing

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
1.0 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
103 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso

Property: Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
Address: 10 Agiou Nikolaou, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and member of the Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Apollon & Thalasso is beautifully located on the Athenian Riviera, in Vouliagmeni. Guests choose Apollon Palace & Thalasso for its magnificent beachfront location, proximity to Athens (only 18 km away), and the leisure facilities. Athens SPA and Thalasso Centre counts with 3,500 sq m of wellness space. The hotel also offers private sandy beach, complimentary umbrellas & sun beds, water sport facilities, outdoor pools, fitness centre, sauna, gardens and children playgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Apollon Palace And Spa
Divani Apollon Palace Hotel Vouliagmeni
Divani Apollon Palace Athens
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing