We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but overall slightly disappointing”
Review of The Margi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Margi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely location but overall slightly disappointing”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked two rooms to stay in the Margi this April. We were looking to stay by the coast, and after reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, booked early in advance to ensure that would be availability.

The hotel has a wonderful location, and our rooms had a view of the sea. It was easy to find from the airport (we rented a car - something I'd recommend doing in the area). There are many cafes and restaurants dotted around Vouliagmeni - regarded as a fancy area - which makes the choice of food wonderful. We however often went to Glyfada for evening meals which has equally, if not more, delicious food at much more reasonable prices. It is moments away from the beach.

Unfortunately - despite being very tastefully decorated - this hotel needs a facelift. I am surprised that it was awarded a 5 star rating. I have stayed at boutique hotels before and this does not compare. The outside seemed a bit sombre and the rooms are slightly out-dated. The morning breakfast is decent. The rooms are clean, if not small. Personally, I would say that the pictures published on the website do not accurately portray what the Margi is actually like.

The front desk staff were helpful and we found them to be very nice, the same could not be said for the restaurant staff.

In summary - you will have a decent stay here at the Margi, just don't be expecting 5 star quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aveens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    189
    72
    23
    20
See reviews for
119
299
34
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We wrapped up our week in Greece with an overnight stay at The Margi hotel in Vouliagmeni on Greece's western coast about 60km from Athens. What a fabulous hotel in a beautiful coastal town. The service and facilities were superior. Tucked away in a residential neighborhood just 3 minutes from the beach, it was quiet, peaceful and totally relaxing with 1st class amenities - pool, gym, restaurant. We could not have been more surprised and pleased. This is a true "find" for someone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Athens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is okay, close to the beach, some of the rooms probably have ocean view, but if you end up on the second floor, facing the balcony just an arm length away from yours, you won't feel that mediterranean air, but more of a gloomy atmosphere, with numerous signs of the many years the hotel has seen already. The staff is friendly though, so if you plan on spending all your time at the beach and at the pool bar anyway, it might be okay for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amioun, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a workshop. The set up for the conference room and the food was very good, Overall I had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and the quality of food was very good. What impressed me the most was the service especially the front desk personnel (especially Janette) they all went went out of their way to make the trip more enjoyable by making wonderful recommendations

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmissa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went on business stayed a few extra days for vacation. The hotel brochure photos makes the hotel look amazing, well its not but it is still nice. My room view was that of another room, but others had outside views which is what I will request next time. The staff on the other hand is amazing. From when you arrive and are greeted by the polite and friendly valet (Chris) who greeted us by name when he saw us to the seamless check in process with the always professional Janet who is always willing to help and somehow knows what questions to ask to get you to the right restaurant, beach or other locale that is right for you. Their enthusiasm to help and their smiling faces make it seem that they enjoy their jobs and making the guest feel at home. At my conference we had approx. 50 people from all over the world and the staff of the hotel did not look to have any problems communicating with any guest. They were prompt in rounding up cabs and extra towels as well as serving drinks in the restaurant and bar. Food quality on the property was excellent. Conference facalities were perfect for our group. If you own a hotel you could learn from their service standards and you should try to steal Janet away! On checkout day we left before Janet's shift started and we were equally impressed with Koustemtinos. I wish I could list every employee I encountered because not one of them failed to meet my service standards.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Such a beautiful place!! Loved every day that i spent here. Exquisite interiors and mouth watering cuisine. The staff are very friendly and go the extra mile to help... the breakfast layout has amazing variety, the pool side tables are beautiful, pool itself is quite charming...
May not be an ideal spot for work as the WiFi is very sporadic and the best way to have uninterrupted access is to book one of the conference rooms.
There is a great Italian restaurant outside the hotel within 2 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is about 30min away from Athen's center, but you are rewarded with a quiet and lovely surrounding. Both the interior of the restaurant and the entrance have been selected with an excellent taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
Vouliagmeni Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
214 reviews
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Apollon Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
103 reviews
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
429 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margi

Property: The Margi
Address: 11 Litous, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Margi 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and SLH member in the most exclusive area of the Athenian Riviera, Vouliagmeni, The Margi hotel is a heaven away from home. In an ideal location just a few steps from the Riviera’s most elegant sandy beaches and close enough to Athens Historical sites. With its superb cuisine and organic food from its farm, friendly and attentive staff and exquisite design, this hotel offers a truly memorable experience and comfortable ambiance for all travelers all year round. Over the years, owner Maria Stavridis’ and her son and Architect Giagkos Agiostratitis personal touch and care is evident in the warm and chic atmosphere she has created in the hotel by combining artwork from all corners of the world with soft traces such as candlelit tables and plush furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Margi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margi Hotel Vouliagmeni
Margi Hotel Athens
The Margi Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing