We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”
Review of The Margi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Margi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Margi for a weekend for a bachelor party - rooms were great, friendly personal and great pool area, also the breakfast menu was delicious.
Most of all, the staff was very helpful:
When my phone slipped from my pocket in a Taxi back to the hotel and was lost as the Taxi had already left, Mr. Grigoris from the front desk made an enormous effort and called several companies for over 30 minutes to help recover my phone - Thank you!
Next time I visit Athens, I will certainly be staying at the Margi!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMZ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for The Margi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautifully decorated small pool area, makes you feel like you are in a private garden at an exclusive resort. TIP: Get there early if you want a lounge chair or one of their lovely beds as they go quick and there are few of them. In June/July, the sun goes behind the hotel and shadows the pool by about 4 or 5:00 pm.

Lunch menu at bar is very high priced. We paid $39 euros for a lunch that could be purchased in the US for about 1/4 the price. That being said, the dinner was delicious and a much better value!

Our hotel room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Wonderful rain shower head. Great pillows and bed.

For a fun treat, consider visiting nearby Lake Vouliagmeni. A very unique experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is located in a very convenient spot in vouliagmeniand and is ideal for night life seekers who want to combine a peaceful and elegant hotel with the crazy greek nightlife.Clean chic and tidy it offers many ammenities and a very nice pool.Special thanx to all the staff at the pool bar and the wonderful receptionist Ms.Tina Hager who was very helpful , kind and attentive to our needs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Konstantinos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I'm a business woman, traveling solo, and began 10 days of leisure travel at the Margi. The good: lovely clean property; facilities are 5 star. Second, the ridiculous: arrived at the restaurant for a quiet relaxing dinner shortly past 10 p.m. Waited to get seated but was ignored; walked to the waitress who offered to seat me next to a baby carriage that belonged to a young couple at the next table. I requested to sit at another table; she refused -- the requested table, two smaller tables pushed together, could only be used by a larger party. The table remained vacant during my dinner. I selected another smaller table located in the center of the restaurant and noticed a solo male occupying a larger table alone. A waiter brought me a menu and I stated that I desired to order from the guest menu. His response suggested that I was asking for something out of the ordinary. Earlier in the day, the front desk, on two occasions, shared that the restaurant offered a special menu for guests and gave me a copy. The waiter should not have been surprised by my request. The waitress I encountered earlier and a younger waiter both passed my table three time without bearing food or other items for other tables; each time I either made eye contact or said politely "excuse me" without receiving any response from either of them. Without other restaurants in walking distance, I waited refusing to have my previously wonderful day ruined. I had not been served water! I check the time, 10:28 p.m., without any inquiry about my order and continued to wait. The next day while checking out I shared my experience with the front desk; I was only asked "Was the food good?"

The outrageous: when I made my reservation online, I requested the courtesy of a late departure. My ferry, an hour from the hotel, required a 6 p.m. check-in. The confirmation stated that a late departure would depend on availability. The hotel reminded me of the condition upon checking in. This was acceptable. At 7:30 a.m. the day of my departure, I called the front desk and requested assistance with a morning tour that had been suggested by the front desk the day before. Yes, the tour was possible if I left in 20 minutes and took a taxi to the tour company's office 30 minutes away. The front desk arranged for the tour company to drop me off at the hotel the beginning of the afternoon tour. Great hotel, I'm thinking. Mid-way the tour I realized the hotel had not communicated regarding the late departure. Dismissing the concern, I thought the hotel knows where I am and my anticipated return. If there's a problem, they'll call. On returning to the hotel, the bus driver went to the wrong hotel and called The Margi for directions. I arrived to find the front desk occupied checking in a family and headed to my room to shower and pack. My door was locked. I returned to the lobby to wait until the attendant was free. The gentleman who arranged my tour and drop off was still on duty. I asked why the door was locked, "Check out is noon it is now 3:40 p.m.," he replied. I reminded him that he knew where I was and when I was returning and asked again why the door was locked. I was asked to estimate the time I needed and was told I would be charged 80 euros. "Fine," I replied. Again he says, I'm going to charge your credit card. "Fine and then will you activate my key?" "Yes," he replied. As I checked out, I explained to the front desk that the charge was not the problem but rather the lock-out. The hotel knew where I was and when I would return. The clerk explained that on the day of a scheduled departure all doors are locked at noon and they forgot to program my key! This is outrageous. The staff lacks the training required for dealing with guests not only five star guest or, perhaps, The Margi only treats women traveling solo in this manner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank running_w0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the moment you step out of the car to the time you are shown your room, the staff make you feel like royalty. While this is a 5 Star property the staff make you feel warm and invited, no stuffiness here! We had the suite on the 5th floor with sweeping views of the harbor and balcony’s on 2 sides which make going to bed and waking up incredibly memorable. Traveling with our son who is 8, the staff pampered us all equally and the could not have been more accommodating. With no time to plan an agenda prior to our trip, the staff arraigned everything from transportation, tours and needed reservations. It wasn’t just that they planned everything for us rather they matched our personality to guides that made for an incredible experience. The staff planned to 10 hour days with a driver who became like family to us. Wireless internet connections were strong throughout the property. The pool side team was top notch and could not have been more welcoming. The restaurant will make you reconsider leaving the property for your meals. Breakfast was very accommodating to a varied of palates. If staying in Athens, you must stay here. The property is beautiful but the staff make it extraordinary.

Room Tip: Pay what it takes and ask for the suite on the 5th floor!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backstorydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed in Athens many times as my sister went to live there over 35 years ago. This was our first stay at the Margi. Our first impression was of a sophisticated hotel that understood how to help guests to relax. We were planning to see family and were not looking for a beach holiday. We did want to relax as our holiday was planned to take place immediately before an operation I was due to have in the UK. Everyone we met at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The decor was very well put together and the public areas were very pleasant to use. I suffer from coeliac disease which means that if I eat any gluten I am very ill. I was very pleasantly surprised to see that the menu specified which dishes were safe for me to eat and there was gluten free cereal available at breakfast without my having to request it. This is unusual even in England. Our room was very quiet and comfortable and the balcony had furniture which was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side formt eh pool are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 845broadwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a great surprise to stay close to Athens, by the beach and only 20min away from the Acropolis. The area of Vouliagmeni is unknown to most tourists visiting Athens eventhough it is the best option! Walking distance from amazing restaurants, the beautiful Astir beach by your side and a lot of young people around! The margi is a charming hotel with a great breakfast- the only glitch is they have lots of trendy greek weddings happening there on weekends and people take over the pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clagmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
214 reviews
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Apollon Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
109 reviews
Amarilia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
443 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margi

Address: 11 Litous, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: £164 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Margi 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and SLH member in the most exclusive area of the Athenian Riviera, Vouliagmeni, The Margi hotel is a heaven away from home. In an ideal location just a few steps from the Riviera’s most elegant sandy beaches and close enough to Athens Historical sites. With its superb cuisine and organic food from its farm, friendly and attentive staff and exquisite design, this hotel offers a truly memorable experience and comfortable ambiance for all travelers all year round. Over the years, owner Maria Stavridis’ and her son and Architect Giagkos Agiostratitis personal touch and care is evident in the warm and chic atmosphere she has created in the hotel by combining artwork from all corners of the world with soft traces such as candlelit tables and plush furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margi Hotel Vouliagmeni
Margi Hotel Athens
The Margi Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing