We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic place for a restful break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I came here with my family and had the most wonderful time. The resort is set in the most picturesque location and after 4 days we all felt fully rejuvenated.
There were a couple of issues with the first room we stayed in but after speaking to the manager, the staff promptly moved us to a new room and the rest of our stay was perfect. All the staff at the resort (from housekeeping to the manager) were all very friendly and eager to please.
I would throroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2009

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments. In our attempt to improve this resort, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. We were happy to know that your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa was a captivating experience. Judging from your comments it gave us great pleasure to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. Furthermore, we were pleased to read that the room issue was resolved upon your request and were glad that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Arion hotel.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

I spent 2 nights at Arion Resort and Spa with several of my friends, and we had a great stay. I highly recommend staying here if you are going to Athens, you will not be disappointed with the rooms or the service. The rooms are clean & spacious, though the beds are on the small side. We had a nice room overlooking the water. We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. The buffet has a great selection of foods, and is ~ 20 Euros per person. We went to the gym once, and it was pretty nice.

One tip, the cabs charge you 5 EUROs just to be called to the hotel. Try to hire a cab driver who will come pick you up if you are staying more than 1 or 2 days. We found a nice cab driver, who came to pick us up and took us to downtown. The trip to downtown was 10 Euros. And, the cost to the aiport was 20 Euros. Also, ask the hotel before you get into the cabs, how much roughly it should cost. The cab drivers are notorious for ripping off Americans. And, I found out that Europeans don't really tip the cab drivers. If anything, you only should round up the fare to the nearly Euro.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celeryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2009

Dear Guest;
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback of our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed all elements of your stay and found our staff to be so friendly. We are always delighted to receive such wonderful reviews. We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We just got back from our honeymoon. 3 days in Athens (Arion Resort), 3 days in Crete (Blue Palace), 2 days in Santorini (Alroessa) and 3 days in Paris.

The Arion Resort and Spa is a very nice hotel. It's not great, but very nice. If you are a couple, I would highly recommend staying at the Arion side rather than the Astir side, which is more kid-friendly. I am a Gold Starwood member and we were on our honeymoon and we were updgraded to a bungalo with a very nice view.

The Pros: Very nice layout. Very nice places to swim and enjoy the water. Foliage everwhere. Very convenient shuttle service to Athens and Glyfada. The service seems better to me than everybody else's complaints. When we arrived, one of the hotel employees pulled out maps of Athens and the area and showed us everything we needed to know. Anohter employee heard we were going to Crete and took 10-15 minutes to explain his favorite places and other things to do there.

The Cons: Expensive, expensive, expensive!!!
- Very expensive food and drinks here...this has been mentioned multiple times in other reviews. Had a club sandwich and glass of wine and it costs $50. Suffice to say, we tried out best not to eat here for price reasons. It is a short walk (maybe 1 mile) to nearby restaurants that are just fine. If they would lower the prices, more people would eat here and they'd probably have the same profit margin (i.e. lower prices, but more volume)
- A little dirty around the grounds. As you walk around, there were bags floating in the water and other dirty things. My suggestion would be to repurpose the restaurant employees (who are standing around doing nothing since nobody eats here) and make them clean up the grounds routinely.
- Very expensive water sports. I think it was 40EU just to rent a kayak for 1 hour. Isn't it only about 300EU for a brand new kayak? Thus nobody participated in this either. I guess if I had money to burn, some of these cost issues go away.

An overall recommendation for Greece trips after seeing these other places is to not spend very much time on the mainland/Athens. Get to Crete or Santorini immediately....they are so much prettier and cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tstayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2009

We reviewed your comments very carefully regarding your stay with us at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We were very concerned to read about the inconveniences you experienced.
On the other hand, judging from your comments it gave us great pleasure to read that our staff members met and exceeded in certain areas your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

It think it would be very challenging to say that this is a bad place. Wonderful setting, nice pool area, two beaches, room-sea is a 50meters journey. My room was a bit small but well appointed. Great breakfast and overall kind staff.
Where are the problems then? to me - given the standard - it could be cleaner: our sheets had strange red stains ..they were promptly changed at my request.
Beside the beach elevator ,during all four days of my stay, were left a banana skin and a few empty glasses. In the beach area a pair of dirty green flip flop have been wandering around for all the four days as well...One day our room hadn't been cleaned at 3.00pm yet (when I was back at 6.00pm It was), while the last morning - back from breakfast - they took away all the towels (????) - of course, at my request, they gave me promptly new ones. I mean, not big issues, but since the standard room price is 380-440 euro and that a small toast costs 8.50 euro....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments. In our attempt to improve this resort, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests; and I can reassure you that your comments will be well taken into consideration. We were pleased to read that the Housekeeping issues were resolved upon your request and hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel.
Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My family and I have just returned from the Arion hotel where we spent a week at the beginning of August. I am glad that we were not put off by some of the reviews on this site because if we had we would have missed a chance to visit one of the most comfortable and beautifully located hotels in Greece. It is a very serene and orderly place with excellent staff who will do their utmost best to help their guests. For example, we had booked three grand deluxe seaview rooms but upon arrival we discovered that one of our rooms did not have direct seaview. As our booking was a last minute hotel.com arrangement, we were not allowed to request a change of room but the reception staff managed to find a direct seaview room the very next day and the change was made quickly and efficiently. It is evident from the moment you enter this hotel that all the staff are dedicated to making their guests' stay as comfortable and as trouble-free as possible.
Food is expensive but then this is a luxury 5 star hotel so one is expected to pay high prices for certain items. Our only disappointing moment was the meal at the Taverna restaurant. This is located by the beach and it is very convenient for lunch after a morning swim. Unfortunately, the chips they served were frozen and when we complained they brought us an even bigger plate of frozen chips! Needless to say we left without paying for our meal and they did not object. The staff were obviously very kind but do avoid ordering chips if you can!
All other amenities are excellent and one could happily spend the whole day finding things to do within the complex. In our opinion the Arion hotel is far superior to its sister hotel the Westin Athens, which is located within the same complex so if you have a choice book the Arion. Much more sophisticated and exclusive atmosphere and stunning views. A visit to Athens is a must and the hotel offers a free bus service but as other reviewers have already mentioned, check the times.
Finally, it was comforting to see that the hotel had an equal number of foreign and Greek guests. It is always a good sign when the locals prefer a hotel.
We shall be returning next year and we would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HugoSmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to hear that you had an unforgettable stay with us at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa. Judging from your comments it gave us great pleasure to read that our staff members met and exceeded in certain areas your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Bright atmosphere, modern cleanliness, luxurious rooms with all the modern fittings and bathrooms - such a relief in a noisy hot country.... Great beach for small children, superb food at all times of the day and smiling receptionists who are willing, pleasant and make one feel genuinely welcome. AND - Athens down the road !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Dear Guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know that your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa was a memorable experience. Judging from your comments it gave us great pleasure to read that our staff members met and exceeded in certain areas your expectations. We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The hotel is stuningly set on a headland overlooking the clear blue seas.

We had a bungalow which was beautifully furnished and ultra modern with a large decking area overloking the sea complete with sunloungers and table and chairs. There was a good turn-down service each evening.

Our bungalow was quite near to the main hotel although buggies were available to transport you.

The sunbathing areas included the infinity swimming pool, the private beach and the decking below the hotel by the beach bar with plenty of sun shades if required. You will certainly need them in July!

Breakfast was a sumptuous buffet with a very extensive choice. We ate on the verandah overlooking the sea although there was ample room to eat inside. Service at breakfast was very good and the quality of the food was excellent.

Service at reception was attentive and faultless. One of the receptionists, Maria Armpelia, was exceptional and she could not have been more helpful. She set a standard that was both professional and endearing.

However the service elsewhere was, at times, lacking and for a hotel of this class, disappointing.

Our only other negative comment would have to be the price of the food and the drink, although we had read other comments before we arrived so we were prepared for it.

However if you want a relaxing holiday in stunning surroundings with superb accomodation you will not be disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to hear that you had an enchanting stay with us at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa. Judging from your comments it gave us great pleasure to read that our staff members met and exceeded in certain areas your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
735 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 40 Apollonos | Astir Palace Resort, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: £498 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to be!The legendary atmosphere of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa is enhanced by contemporary surroundings and spectacular views of the Saronic Gulf. Guest rooms and suites delight the senses with creative touches. The most distinctive feature, the resort's fully renovated bungalows, offer the ultimate in privacy and privileged services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Arion, a Luxury Collection Hotel Vouliagmeni
The Luxury Collection Athens
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing